We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Enjoyed My Stay!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Ranked #4 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 29, 2013

All of the employees there were great! (Joanna, the bartender-especially AWESOME!) I was able to get into my room a couple of hours early, which was a decent size and almost clean. There were a couple of crumbs on the floor in one corner and the shower curtain needed to be bleached. The air conditioning wasn't working but they had a maintenance person come fix it the next day. There is a nice running trail in front of the hotel that goes right to the University, which is only about a mile away. The fitness center was okay-2 treadmills, a bike and something else (which I never use anywhere cause they look scary) and some free weights. Kind of a small room packed with this equipment so it's hard to do anything else in there. The pool was beyond freezing cold and so was the kids area. The hot tub was great but it would be nice to have the pool area open later than 10pm. The only thing I ate here was the french fries (and they were yummy!) but the other food I saw people eating looked great!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank KatherineNoel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (465)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

434 - 440 of 465 reviews

Reviewed December 27, 2012

Room was nicer than most I've stayed in. It had an extra seating area with a couch which helped it feel more homey. Staff was very friendly and I had a great dinner in the restaurant. Only negative is there was not a continental breakfast, but they had a really good breakfast menu. I would definitely recommend people to here in the future!

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank CatLover712
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2012

The hotel was fine for the little amount of time we spent there, but I wouldn't suggest it for any length of time. The bathroom set up was poor. The sink is just inside the door to the room. We had our two daughters with us and it seemed like we were bumping into each other every time we tried to get in and out of the room. The actual bathroom was very tight, the wallpaper was peeling and a bit grungy, the tub seemed to be a retro fit type, so every time you moved in it it squeaked.

The view from our second floor room was laughable. Considering we aren't in a big city and there should be plenty of opportunities for them to offer their guests a view of anything, we were surprised to find that our room looked out to a wall. There might as well had been no window at all.

The pool area was clean and there is a nice children's pool. However the hot tub was closed and appeared it has been for awhile, looks like they are doing repairs on it, so it was torn up and a bit messy looking. They are very strict about not allowing food into the pool area. We had hoped to bring our lunch in since there are nice tables around the pool, however they followed us in and stood next to us till we went and ate in the lobby. Seemed a bit odd, since we were allowed to eat in other public areas of the hotel, where there weren't tables.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank LynnSunshine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IHGCare, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu, responded to this reviewResponded September 30, 2012

Dear LynnSunshine,

I certainly appreciate you taking the time to share your feedback. Guest comfort and satisfaction are of the utmost concern to us and our hotel is committed to making every possible effort to provide comfortable, clean and friendly accommodations. Please accept my sincere apology for the shortcomings you experienced during your stay. It is also regrettable you were not impressed with the conditions of our bathrooms. I have taken note of your valuable comments and these will be used to reconsider improvements needed.

Thank you for sharing your thoughts and we hope to have an opportunity to serve you again.

Sincerely,

Joel B
Case Manager
IHGCare

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I'm on my last day of a 2 week stay. Hotel was very clean and the staff friendly. The Cardinal Cafe, located on the first floor, offered a nice range of breakfast and dinner items. Each morning, I was greeted by each staff member encountered and wished a good day. Simple things that help set me up for a good day were not overlooked. Room was nicely appointed, as well. Hotel has a nice gym with 2 treadmills, a cross trainer and a stationary bike. Also has a pool and hot tub, although I did not use either.

I would recommend this hotel to friends and family and I look forward to returning.

Room Tip: Always go for the top floor. I was on 2nd floor and last 3 days of my trip, the people above me had...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank robtam90
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Check in was ok but once got to the room the smell of stale smoke was overpowering. The room was very dated ( not up to HIE standards ) Bathroom was more like staying at a super 8 than a Holiday Inn. Then with the 8:30 wake up from housekeeping that was the straw that broke the camels back. Would advise looking elsewhere until they fix the issues with this property

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Gunnar O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 30, 2012

We needed a location close to family. This location is just right, and we found the staff and room to be most satisfactory. My wife has a high degree of allergy problems, and the room was unusually clean. There is 125 pounds difference in our weight, and the bed was most comfortable for both of us. The front dest staff was exceptional!!!!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MAX D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Excellent property. Staff extremely helpful. I stubbed my toe accidentally in the hotel room and caused it to bleed profusely. I called the front desk who immediately got the manager, Carol Springer on the phone. She immediatdely came to my room with a first aid kit and helped me bandage my toe and directged me to the local emergency room. When I got back to my room, all the blood had been cleaned up as if it had never happened. Also, she shipped personal effects home that I could not get in my suitcase, going above and beyond the call of duty.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Steve H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
0.2 mi away
Gateway Hotel & Conference Center
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu

Address: 2609 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010-8624 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range: $93 - $188 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames Conference Center hotel is close to Iowa State University! Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center ISU is located just off Hwy 30 and 5 miles from I-35. We are two miles from the Iowa State University campus and convenient to the area's biggest attractions. Our hotel is close to many major businesses. The ISU Research Park, IA DOT Headquarters and USDA/NVSL are just a short drive away. The Hilton Coliseum, Stephens Auditorium, Fisher Theater, and Scheman Building are only one mile from our Ames accommodations. Syngenta, 3M and Sauer-Danfoss are also nearby. We offer three meeting rooms with seating for up to 450 guests. We are close to ISU s campus, which makes it easy to visit a student, attend a sporting event or just enjoy the beautiful campus. Our Ames hotel is within a mile of Jack Trice Stadium, Reiman Gardens and Coldwater Golf Links. Leisure travelers will find many attractions near our hotel. Downtown Ames offers dining, shopping and entertainment - it's a great place to spend a day. The Iowa Arboretum and Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad are less than a half-hour away. Guests of our hotel in Ames are sure to enjoy our deluxe amenities. You can dine at our full-service restaurant, the Cardinal Cafe, hold an event in one of our flexible meeting rooms, or simply relax in the indoor pool. Visit the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center - ISU and see what this Ames area hotel has to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing