We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Nice, Butt...”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Ranked #3 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed December 31, 2011

Friendly staff, clean, comfortable rooms, BUTT they allow smoking and have ruined what could be a nice facility.

Won't stay here again.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank tradi_travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (470)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

446 - 452 of 470 reviews

Reviewed December 20, 2011

We stayed here for the 2nd year for my family's Christmas party. We rented the party room to hang out in the for the weekend, and it was great. Our hotel room was spacious and clean. They were very accomodating to me with an early check in and a late check out. With an infant, this was very nice. There isn't a complimentary breakfast, but in the restaurant the kids eat free with a paid adult meal, so you can still eat very cheaply. And, the food was good. The location of the hotel is good too. It's off of the main road, but close to everything. I would definately recommend this hotel to others.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank stg4564
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 30, 2011

This hotel was easy to find, just off Hwy 30 on the south side of Ames. The folks at the check-in were very polite. My room was clean and spacious; king-size bed (comfortable w/ choice of firm or soft pillows), flat-screen TV, dresser drawers, work desk w/ comfortable chair, half-sofa & coffee table. Internet access was free, but my connection was slow (maybe because my room was at one end of the building). The heating unit worked fine, though the "constant fan" setting was not working. The primary reason I did not give 5 stars to this hotel was that there was no complimentary breakfast buffet; rather was only a pay-your-own sit-down breakfast area.

Room Tip: My room was on the third floor and was maybe why it was quiet.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank RLNielsen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 29, 2011

The hotel is pretty nice. Staff is great. The pool and hot tub really could use some updating. The exercise room is pretty small and the bike did not work. The bed is comfortable.The pillows on the bed are pretty small.
There is white tile in the bathroom. The corners of this bathroom are filthy. The tub and sink are fine. There is a fridge and microwave. The television is a good size and up to date with HD. I would have given it a higher rating if the bathroom had been clean..

Room Tip: We are on third floor and it is just fine. The elevator is right off the lobby. The pool and fitness...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank jlttks111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2011

I stayed in this hotel for family weekend on September 30-October 2. The location was perfect for quick drives to campus.

From the outside, I thought that I booked at a Holiday Inn Express. Inside the lobby was a check in desk and a sitting area. Right off the lobby was a small restaurant. Check in service was very good. I was given room 109. This was a handicapped room which had special features in the bathroom. The room came with a mini-refridge and a microwave. I like this. The room was large and updated. The bed was comfortable. I did have problems with the shower. Like I mentioned before....My room was set up for handicappe person. I had to use a hand held shower wand. While in the shower, I giggled to myself that I might need assistance from the front desk on how to use this wand. It wouldnt stay in its cradle. No problems, I still got it done.

I would check into coming back when I visit Ames again. I did check for availability for my husband in Novemeber and was quoted a price of $199.00. Too expensive. No way would I pay $199.00 for a hotel in Ames Iowa. I went back home and checked on prices via the internet and found a lower price, but not at this hotel. Bummer for my husband.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank EdenPraireMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 20, 2011

Good customer service. Clean room and bath. Soft and firm pillows to cover all needs. Available fridge & Microwave. Nice HD flat screen TV. For convenience there is a restaurant on site for breakfast, lunch and dinner with a basic menu for reasonable prices. Easy access to Iowa State University and downtown Ames. Free internet and free parking. Pets are accepted for a small fee. You will never go wrong choosing a Holiday Inn.

Room Tip: King size bed room is good enough for a couple. I had the 2nd level with a window facing the street...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Maziel A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

From check-in through check-out, the staff at the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center were wonderful. They were helpful with local information and very personable. My room was large and clean. The flat screen tv had expanded cable, and there were a couch, refrigerator, and microwave in my room. Either I had exceptional neighbors or their walls are nicely soundproofed. My room was near the elevator, so I did hear some minimal noise from that area, but that was it.

I ate breakfast here one morning, and the portions were generous as well as delicious. There wasn't much right nearby, but it was a short drive to shopping and restaurants.

Only one issue, which the hotel would not be able to rectify without some major work. The tub made horrendous amounts of noise as if it weren't properly supported. I spoke with others staying in the hotel, and they reported the same experience. However, I never heard anything from my neighbors, so again, either the soundproofing was great or they never were in the tub/shower while I was in my room.

I would stay here again without a doubt.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
6  Thank OutOfTheAttic
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.3 mi away
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ames, IA
0.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
2.3 mi away
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu

Address: 2609 University Blvd, Ames, IA 50010-8624 (Formerly Comfort Suites)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#2 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range: $99 - $185 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu 3*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Ames Conference Center hotel is close to Iowa State University! Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center ISU is located just off Hwy 30 and 5 miles from I-35. We are two miles from the Iowa State University campus and convenient to the area's biggest attractions. Our hotel is close to many major businesses. The ISU Research Park, IA DOT Headquarters and USDA/NVSL are just a short drive away. The Hilton Coliseum, Stephens Auditorium, Fisher Theater, and Scheman Building are only one mile from our Ames accommodations. Syngenta, 3M and Sauer-Danfoss are also nearby. We offer three meeting rooms with seating for up to 450 guests. We are close to ISU s campus, which makes it easy to visit a student, attend a sporting event or just enjoy the beautiful campus. Our Ames hotel is within a mile of Jack Trice Stadium, Reiman Gardens and Coldwater Golf Links. Leisure travelers will find many attractions near our hotel. Downtown Ames offers dining, shopping and entertainment - it's a great place to spend a day. The Iowa Arboretum and Boone & Scenic Valley Railroad are less than a half-hour away. Guests of our hotel in Ames are sure to enjoy our deluxe amenities. You can dine at our full-service restaurant, the Cardinal Cafe, hold an event in one of our flexible meeting rooms, or simply relax in the indoor pool. Visit the Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center - ISU and see what this Ames area hotel has to offer you. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, IHG, Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and getaroom.com so you can book your Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing