We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful stay for last minute travelers!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Holiday Inn Express Ames
Ranked #1 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Minneapolis, Minnesota, United States
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Wonderful stay for last minute travelers!”
Reviewed April 28, 2014

We had to drive down quickly for a funeral and there was an FFA Convention in town. The folks at Holiday Inn were very friendly and accommodating, especially John at the front desk. The rooms were very clean and in great condition. Will definitely stay here again next time we're in the area. Thanks for a great experience.

  • Stayed April 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Alicia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, May 12, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor.

We do value your opinion and use it as way to deliver exceptional service and quality.

The Holiday Inn Express appreciates the 5 star rating!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

675 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    414
    205
    41
    9
    6
See reviews for
198
56
16
352
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (135)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
126 reviews
88 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed April 6, 2014

This paticular place is ok it is clean just needs updating from top to bottom had a king room on 1st floor mattress was awful, room dated,And workout room needs new equipt. Staff is very friendly and goes out of their way to make you feel welcome Would stay here again if was just passing through not for long term. Lots of places to eat just down the road. Easy on and off interstate.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LEAVENONAJETPLANE65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on Tripadvisor. We do appreciate your feedback and use it as a way to improve how we deliver exceptional service and quality.

Updating the property is in the works! Please come back to see all the changes, should your travels brnig you back to the Ames area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
Reviewed March 26, 2014

I stay at this location for several reasons. One, the location, two the cleanliness, three the people. The front desk has great personnel. They attend to the customers needs. Coffee is always fresh. I would recommend this location to others!

Room Tip: I always try to get the top floor at any location I stay. You don't hear the foot steps above y...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Ken O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, March 28, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. Most of all, thank you for the 5 star rating! The Holiday Inn Express Ames, Iowa strives to deliver exceptional service at an affordable price.

We are elated to hear you enjoyed your stay!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeville, Minnesota
Level 5 Contributor
72 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed March 18, 2014

This is my second trip to this hotel this winter. The rooms are looking a little worn down. Both times I have stayed here I have discovered the desk chairs are broken and in need of replacement. The heater controls leave you freezing or in a sauna. Breakfast is good and ready on time in the morning. It could be better but it could be worse.

Room Tip: Request a room on the back side of the building away from the roadway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jos G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for writing a review on TripAdvisor. The Holiday Inn Express Ames, Iowa prides itself on maintaining exceptional guest service along with a quality product. We do aplogize you found the quality of your guest room to be subpar.

I have passed your comments on to the General Manager and the Chief Engineer. They assure me, action will be taken immediately to ensure the rooms are fresh and up to date.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chelsea, Michigan
Level 5 Contributor
64 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2014

It was a standard room, everything worked fairly well, was very clean. However, the breakfast was a sad, sorry excuse for food.

The scrambled eggs could best be described as reconstituted egg gravel. They weren't even warm, and so dry, the little pebbles wouldn't stay on any kind of utensil. They had salsa packages available and that is the only thing that made them edible!

The bread was very stale, and the four slice toaster only had two slots slightly working. It took a very long time for any color to appear.

I was very disappointed with the breakfast, but more disappointed at the lack of concern or care from the breakfast staff.

Room Tip: Plan on purchasing breakfast elsewhere!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ktasca
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, March 20, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review on TripAdvisor. The Holiday Inn Express Ames takes each comment very seriously.

I am disappointed to learn you did not enjoy the Express Start Breakfast. I have passed your comments on to the General Manager. I do know the breakfast standards are changing as to allow for a more "healthy" option.

We do hope that you will give us another try should your travels bring you back to the Ames, Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wytheville, Virginia
Level 5 Contributor
65 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2014

Clean, up to date hotel. Good breakfast. Noise level outside during the night woke me up a few times. Trucks from the nearby industries. Maybe add some pine trees for sound block. Also no usable outlet near bed, for cell phone charging or laptop. Overall a good hotel

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Helpful?
Thank Tim L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, March 17, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to write a review for the Holiday Inn Express Ames, Iowa. We do value your opinion and use it as a way to cotinually improve how we deliver exceptional guest service and quality!

I have passed your comments on to the Chief Engineer to see what he can do about the outlet and the trees for noise relief. He assures me, appropriate action will be taken.

We do appreciate your business and look foward to seeing you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkader, Iowa
2 reviews
Reviewed February 14, 2014

I travel to Ames at least once a week, many times for multiple days and my stays at the Holiday Inn Express have been great. The staff is wonderful, greets you by name and with a smile. They take the time to listen to your needs giving 100 % in making your stay comfortable. Best place to stay in Ames!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Mark R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
PatriotHospitality, Guest Relations Manager at Holiday Inn Express Ames, responded to this review, February 17, 2014
Thank you for your continued loyalty! The Holiday Inn Express Ames takes pride on delivering exceptional guest service at all times. We want to stand out from all the rest and that is why, not only do we select, hire and train each associate, we emphasize exceptional service and quality each and every day.

We do look forward to seeing you the next time you visit the Ames, Iowa area.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
4.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
3.8 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
1.7 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
5.5 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
1.8 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Holiday Inn Express Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Ames

Property: Holiday Inn Express Ames
Address: 2600 E 13th St, Ames, IA 50010-8620
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Ames
#2 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Ames 2.5*
Number of rooms: 75
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the newly renovated Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Ames, Iowa. The hotel is conveniently located in Ames, off I-35 at exit 113 on 13th Street. We are minutes away from many local attractions, including Iowa State University, Jack Trice Stadium, Cy Stephens Auditorium, NorthGrand Mall and downtown Ames. Several corporate and government offices are also nearby, such as USDA, NVSL, National Farmers Organization, Sauer-Danfoss, Hach Chemical, Barilla, Ball Co. and 3M. The Holiday Inn Express Hotel was designed with keeping comfort in mind by providing spacious guest rooms and amenities to make travel less stressful. Here, we offer recently renovated guestrooms and public areas with contemporary decor and tons of great amenities, such as an indoor heated pool, a modern well equipped Fitness Center and a new Sundry shop stocked with snacks and toiletries. We also feature the complimentary Express Start breakfast bar. All rooms offer free high-speed Internet & refrigerator/microwave. The hotel features suites offering all the same amenities as our standard rooms plus a separate parlor area. Whether it's for business or pleasure, you can enjoy peace of mind at the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Ames. The Holiday Inn Express Ames is conveniently located within walking distance to Sauer DanFoss, 3M, and the USDA. There are also restaurants and bars within a few minutes walk! Comfort, convenience, and warm hospitality are all located in Ames - it happens at the Holiday Inn Express Ames. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, IHG, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cancelon, Travelocity, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, getaroom.com and Agoda so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Ames Hotel Ames
Holiday Inn Ames
Ames Holiday Inn
Holiday Inn Express Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing