We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Iowa House Hotel - Ames
Nearby Hotels
Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$99
$63
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$109
Country Inn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$127
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Holiday Inn Express Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
$94
HIExpress.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$77
Hotwire.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$155
$140
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
$121
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$70
$59
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$119
$111
Priceline
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (183)
Filter reviews
183 results
Traveler rating
135
34
9
2
3
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
135
34
9
2
3
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbed and breakfastfrat houseeggs benedictisu campushighly recommend staying hereloft suitespiral staircasetwo twin bedsprivate bathroomquiet streetson attendsstandard hotelgreat place to stayiowa stateblueberrieswonderful accommodationsfamily visit
Filter
Updating list...
149 - 154 of 183 reviews
Reviewed September 20, 2012

This is the best B&B I have ever stayed in. The welcoming was fantastic and I felt like being at home. The rooms are well decorated, large and luminous. There is always coffee, drinks and snacks avaiable all day long. Breakfast is also good and accompanied by a smile. I definetively would recommended this to everybody!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank pm430
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed on a football weekend. It was my first trip back to Ames since I graduated in '81, when the Iowa House was still in use as a fraternity. I was very impressed with the house, inside and out. I had concerns about staying in a "converted fraternity house". It was clean, well decorated and the staff was friendly and very helpful. We had a couple small special requests and they were very accommodating. The location is great. It is about a 4-block walk to campus and about a half mile to the stadium. We arrived about 10:00 on a Saturday morning. They let us check in to one our rooms that was unoccupied and we left the car there so we did not have to worry about parking at the stadium. The breakfast was excellent, Eggs Benedict as well as a number of continental choices. I plan on visiting ISU again in the future and will make it a point to stay at the Iowa House.

Room Tip: Look at the website and pick an interesting room.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Fred H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2012

We were terrifically impressed with Iowa House from the moment we made our reservation. I needed to make a change which was done easily with a phone call. Our arrival was greeted warmly by our hosts who directed our daughter to warm cookies fresh from the oven. Our room, 301, was comfortable and easily accommodated the 3 of us. It was homey, comfortable and unobtrusive. Breakfast Sunday morning was terrific as well. We will definitely stay here very chance we can when we come to Ames.

Room Tip: the rooms on the main floor are right off the dining room and kitchen. While large that might cause some privacy issues. Our room was a loft and was excellent.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Redmeg93
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

After enjoying B&B's throughout the US, one comes to expect a certain style and type of service especially if it is highly rated on Tripadvisor.
Book our stay here in the 1st floor room. We were told that is has an outside patio on the first floor. Upon arrival, we were taken downstairs to the basement and entered our room. There was outside access. You open the door onto a small 4x6 patio that is at the bottom of a set of outside stairs. So instead of being on the first floor looking out you are at the bottom of a "cellar" stairs looking at a wall. This is not what we expected by any means. After some discussion, we were moved to a second floor room, and given our money back for the second night that we had planned to stay. We would have stayed but the B&B was full.
As for the place itself, it was mostly clean. felt more like a hotel. the outside of the house is unique and beautiful. The inside has been redone, but instead of keeping the historic theme of the house, it was redone to look like the pottery barn "mission style".
The people were friendly and breakfast was average.
On the good side, if you ever decide to stay go the the third floor. Had I been in this room, the review might have received one more star.

Room Tip: Third floor is the only thing that is worth it.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank jnlarmendariz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 17, 2012

This is a great choice for visiting parents. It is well-located and an easy walk to campus and all the off-campus student lodging (fraternity/sorority). It is easy to find and very cosy. I will stay here again!

Room Tip: If you don't like stairs, you should ask for a lower room.
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Beth R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews