We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay, comfortable beds, clean rooms, Great staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Waterloo, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great place to stay, comfortable beds, clean rooms, Great staff”
Reviewed July 18, 2013

This is a great place to stay for the money. The staff is very friendly and accommodating. The rooms are clean & their beds are very comfortable. Breakfast area is clean & there is a good selection of food

Room Tip: I have stayed at this hotel a couple of times and on all floors, I have had no complaints about any...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank mro201
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!
Debra
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    215
    103
    42
    30
    12
See reviews for
231
40
15
78
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bentonville, Arkansas
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 8, 2013

We stayed 1 night at this hotel as we were driving I35. The check in was easy and we didn't have a room reservation. We did have a pet with us and that was not a problem. The rate advertised on the website lists a pet friendly room but doesn't list the pet cleaning fee of 30.00.

The rooms were outdated and had not what I would expect for the nightly price. We didn't try the breakfast but did eat a free cookie at check in.

Overall I would probably try one of the many other hotels in the same area in the future. Especially since the price is the same.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Andrew T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, July 23, 2013
Thank you for reaching out and writing your review. We are sorry you were not satisfied with the accommodations of your room. We will discuss the conditions of your room with hotel management to ensure all guest rooms are up to (BRAND) standards. To discuss your stay further, please contact Country Inn & Suites, Ames, Iowa


Debra
Country Inn & Suites
Ames, Iowa
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stillwater, Oklahoma
1 review
Reviewed July 4, 2013

Only stayed 1 night but it was a very nice stay. We had never stayed at this hotel before but we are glad we did. The staff is wonderful- the check in was very easy to my surprise. We got a free upgrade to a 2 room whirlpool suite (Thank you) it was a very nice room. We did not take part in the breakfast or happy hour so no review for this. Housekeeping does a wonderful job. Thank you for a very nice quiet night.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank KRD618
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ame, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Earlington, Kentucky
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed June 15, 2013

I stay here at least 3 times a month and decided it was time to share my experience. This is a great hotel, clean and reasonably priced for the Ames area. It is just off I-35 and Hwy 30, which are the main roads for the area. It is usually full so book early. Breakfast is comparable to other establishments, and there is a happy hour each night in the breakfast area. The staff are incredible, and will do whatever they can to make sure your stay is pleasant. There is (in my opinion) the best Mexican restaurant in Ames within walking distance, and easy access to both the University and shopping district.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank preach_jeff
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Davenport, Iowa
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 10, 2013

pro's

-clean room
-access to I35
-large pool
-a lot of breakfast options
-friendly staff

con's

-outdated rooms
-dirty lobby/stairs
-breakfast food quality
-price

I thought the room price was a bit much for the quality of the room and breakfast. The staff was very nice and even allowed us early cheak-in during a busy weekend.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mydogviolet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback. We apologize for the dissatisfaction of your stay. We take the time to listen to your constructive comments so we can continually improve our services. We hope for another opportunity to exceed your expectations.

Please reach out to any of our employees directly should you have any concerns during or after your next stay.

Debra,
Country Inn & Suites
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, Kansas
Level 5 Contributor
91 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

I've stayed at this hotel previously so I made a reservation. The location is perfect, as I worked all day in Mpls then headed down to KC stopping at my half-way point, Ames. The hotel has easy access to I-35 and it's in a good area for walking (in my opinion). My (current) first floor room is very large, with a king bed, very clean but with a not-so-fresh smell from the air conditioner, though the ac worked well. Also there is a smell like a lot of Carpet Fresh had been used. Otherwise the hotel is great. The breakfast is delicious. The shower is heavenly so, to me, that made it all worth while. I'll be back.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mntravelgrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holt, Missouri
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Rooms were very clean. The breakfast was excellent. The best part again was the pool when you bring your kid's along. I was also able to run in the morning and it's just enough outside of town where traffic does not impede your jogging.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XCRacer98
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, May 30, 2013
Dear Valued Guest,
It is great to hear you had a great stay with us. Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. We hope to see you soon as your travel brings you back to Ames, Iowa.

Warm Regards,
Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
0.3 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
287 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Address: 2605 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing