We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Country Inn & Suites by Radisson, Ames, IA
If you like this hotel, you might also be interested in
$110
SleepInn
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$125
GrandStay
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Red Roof Inn Ames(Ames)(Great Value!)
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$110
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$102
Hotwire.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotels.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
TripAdvisor
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (446)
Filter reviews
446 results
Traveler rating
244
112
44
31
15
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
244
112
44
31
15
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscookiesfire pitcocktail hourdrink ticketsgreat place to staybit datedfront porchclean roomshot tubbreakfast roomlobby and breakfast areastay there againiowa statenice poolstaff was very friendlyexcellent stayquiet hotel
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
438 - 443 of 446 reviews
Reviewed September 10, 2007

We were on a long slog across country and decided to stay in one place for two nights - this was the perfect place. We had plenty of room, the on-site laundry room was immaculate. The room was very clean, as were the hallways, etc. The kitchen area has some basics - dishes and silverware - and a full sized refrigerator as well as a microwave. The included breakfast also offered more selection than usual, including scrambled eggs. Overall, as great experience.

  • Stayed: August 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Thank Jane H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 10, 2007

Great place to stay. Rooms were very clean, the breakfast is wonderful. The Front Desk was very friendly. Everyone that I came in contact with was wondeful and very helpful.
Wonderful place.

    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SnowedInAmes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2006

The bathroom had not been cleaned in our room, so our experience didn't start out well. This hotel is extremely loud: lots of doors slammed, plumbing was really loud, and the halls echo.

The worse part was the free breakfast. I would not recommend relying on this hotel for your breakfast. There was no seating for over half the guests attempting to eat breakfast. The eggs and gravy were very cold and the buffet was a mess. Little kids in bare feet were walking through scrambled eggs all over the floor. We stood by the kitchen door to eat and got to view the mounds of trash and spilled food.

  • Stayed: October 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
1  Thank jbrophy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2006

We stayed here for a week and selected a suite. Since we got
the business rate of $80 per night, it was a true bargain.
The room was spacious and clean and the people could not
have been nicer. They offer a happy hour every night except
Sunday. The breakfast was included and we took advantage
of the fridge in the room. We bought our own "healthy" food
and simply took their coffee and tea and fruit for breakfast.
Ames is a college town, so there are plenty of restaurants and
bars. Ames is the only smoke free town in Iowa, which we
greatly appreciated. Smoking is prohibited in all places until
8:30 pm and most places ban it; period. We found a great
restuarant in a sea of fast food crap - " The Cafe" in Somerset
Village is a must go. It is a ten minute car ride from the hotel.
Take Duff Ave to 24th st ( left ) to Strang ( right) and you are
there. All in all, a great stay.

  • Stayed: September 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank roseboy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 8, 2006

My daughter and I stayed at this property for two nights. We have mostly good things to say about the place but also experienced a couple of problems.

This Country Inn appears to be the most popular place to stay in this area, right off I-35 at exit 111. As we drove up, my daughter described it as "respectable" looking. The lobby was large and nicely furnished, and our room was nicely appointed, with woven vine wreaths above the beds instead of the usual mall-bought prints. Our room and the public areas were very clean. The breakfast selection was much wider than I expected from a property in this price range, with a small hot buffet in addition to the usual do-it-yourself items. The staff was friendly and helpful.

We did have two problems. First, I had changed my original reservation through the Carlson website to delay our arrival by one day. This information had not made it to the hotel but, fortunately, they had room for us. Second, we had a very weak and basically unusable wireless internet connection in our room. We were able to access the internet by carrying our laptop down the hall to pick up a better signal. The hotel also had one public computer which we also used.

Overall, it was a clean and "respectable" place and we would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed: April 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank WhiteWolfCA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews