We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A dump compared to most Country Inn's.”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Iowa
Level Contributor
51 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 51 helpful votes
“A dump compared to most Country Inn's.”
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We booked a jacuzzi suite here after a long, hard, day, because I love the breakfast at the Country Inn chains, and the jacuzzi so that we could relax our tired muscles. First I went to put my soda in the fridge, and it was turned off. The overflow freezer tray was full of water and a soaked towel was in the bottom of the fridge. A look at the jacuzzi finds a small bug crawling around the drain. Turning the air conditioner on lasted a whole 5 minutes before it would shut off permanently for the night. A routine bedbug check finds "pubes" in the bed and we hadn't been in the bed yet obviously. No bedbugs however. Then the most disappointing thing of all. Breakfast. OMG, Country Inn advertises a hot breakfast, and this was scraping the bottom of the barrel WORST hot breakfast EVER in any hotel, and I am including very cheap motels here. AWFUL!!! This Country inn in Ames, Iowa strives to be the cheapest hotel possible. The hot breakfast??? An egg omelet which was almost all egg, and a few scraps of green peppers, wrapped in a tortilla shell. LMAO, I honestly was angry with this. I was tricked, duped, and taken by what I had always thought was a good, decent hotel chain. I don't know about you readers, but let me tell you, no one has ever offered me a tortilla omelet for breakfast. Probably because that is an idiotic choice for a breakfast item. There was no bacon, no sausage, no meat of any kind. Fruit? No. There was this omelet thing, waffles, or cereal. Oh, there were some bagels, english muffins, and toast also. We also were not offered any "complimentary" cookies. Thanks cheapskates. Also I emailed Country Inn Corp this review and told them I would give them a chance to respond before posting to tripadvisor. Their acknowledgement email said they woud respond within 48 hours, and guess what? No response. This might be my last stay at a Country Inn.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank hollywoodhorror
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to complete our guest satisfaction survey.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you shared about your experience at this hotel. I have addressed this issue with our team, and I assure you we are working diligently to ensure a similar situation does not occur again in the future.

We appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit we can exceed your expectations.


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

386 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    205
    101
    40
    27
    13
See reviews for
219
39
15
75
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Maquoketa, Iowa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed May 7, 2012

Recently stayed here for the first time. I have stayed in many Ames hotels in the last 4 years. We stayed in the room 208 Suite. It was $234; however, it was larger than most of the one-bedroom apartments in Ames. One of the most comfortable king-size beds I have ever slept in, in a hotel. The staff was fantastic and very accommodating. We were only in our room for about 10 minutes and they called to see if we needed anything. Great continental breakfast. I would recommend this hotel to anyone. We stayed in the "hotel from hell" the previous night, in Nevada. If I had to pay $234 over the Budget Inn price of $85 from Nevada, I would do it in a heartbeat. Nice pool. Great cookies, helpful staff. I would have no problem staying in ANY rooms at this hotel. Appreciated the cleanliness. I was great to take breakfast to our suite, sit at the table, in private, and eat as a family when coming from out of town to visit our daughter.

Room Tip: Grab a corner suite!!! Well worth the money !!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank midwestgirl45
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, August 7, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to let us know how we are doing! We are thrilled to see that you enjoyed your time at the hotel.

On behalf of our entire staff at Country Inns & Suites we thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich
Level Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 17, 2012

We traveled to Ames to visit Iowa State University, which is 10 minutes away. With a younger sibling, it's helpful to have a two-room suite so he can get to bed earlier. Our suite had a king in one room, then a queen and pull-out sofa in another - perfect for 5 people. The free cookies at the front desk were tasty and welcome as we came and went. We went swimming, but the water did seem a little cloudy. Decor is a bit dated.

Room Tip: Two-room suite is convenient for a family of 5.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CDLZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Debra P, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, December 31, 2014
Dear Marianne,

Thank you for your feedback and for taking the time to write about your experience. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your stay with us here at Country Inns & Suites.I will be sure to share your comments with my staff. We look forward to your next stay.

Please friend us on Facebook to stay informed of our upcoming specials!

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galva, Illinois
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
Reviewed March 6, 2012

First of all let me say that I have stayed in numerous county inns and suites all across the US. I have actually stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past. I chose this hotel based on its perceived “value”. According to the country inn and suites website indicates that there are evening cocktails that are complimentary for the first hour from 5:30-6:30 and then at a discount for the 2nd hour. This to me adds “value” to the price of the room. Upon arrival to the hotel, we inquired about the cocktail reception, upon which we were informed that as of a few months ago the drinks are no longer “complimentary”. The cost for a beer was $1 or $5 for a pitcher. It really was not a big issue, however, the issue is the principle of the situation, and the fact that website says the drinks are complimentary. Later that night, I was browsing through the hotel fact book and found the page that talked about the hotel services and it too read that beer was complimentary for the first hour. Now go figure, I understand that maybe you couldn’t get the website adjusted in a few months because of it being corporate, but now the hotel fact sheet is a different story. Someone could go to all the rooms and use a permanent marker to black it out. The room itself was fine, just a typical hotel room, nothing special. The internet in the lobby was very slow. Upon checking out the next morning, my husband even addressed his concerns of the evening cocktails. The front desk clerk would not do anything because of the way we had booked the room. We used 5000 honors points to receive the room at a discount and because we booked the room at a “discount” she couldn’t do anything for us. Really, doesn’t the fact that we used some honors points tell you that we’ve been loyal to County Inn and Suites for a while? For me, all things being equal, I will not put this hotel at the top of my Ames hotel list. The AmericInn right next door is just as nice and I received a $75 voucher after 10 stays

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Roxy085
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Barbara, California
1 review
Reviewed February 24, 2012

First time at this hotel and I was very happy with my stay. Very competive rates if not lower. Nice rooms and wonderful breakfast. Staff was very helpful and willing to go out of their way to help. You don't see that very often anymore.
Will stay again!

Room Tip: Upgraded King Suite was very roomy for a 4 day stay!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ccper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cedar Rapids, IA
Level Contributor
28 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 19, 2012

Stayed on a Friday night with my husband & son to attend the State Lego League tournament. Staff was great. They had happy hour, free wine & beer that we were able to take advantage of. Kept the 'bar' open longer than usual for our needs so the kids could all eat together. Rooms were nothing special but suited are needs. Bathroom seemed a little outdated, wallpaper and counters. There is no fan in the bathroom either so the mirror gets fogged up when anyone takes a shower. Had complimentary breakfast the next morning with alot of other kids who where there for the Lego tourney. Staff opened up the conference room that is adjacant to the breakfast room to accomadate all the people. Location is great, right off Hwy 30 very close to the football stadium. When I called to make a reservation I was able to request the floor I wanted our room on.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank IowaFamilyof5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, CO
Level Contributor
33 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2012

This Country Inn is a really easy on/off from US 30 in Ames. My room was clean, and the beds had wonderful thick duvets on them - perfect for winter sleeping. The fridge was a little small, and the microwave sounded like it needed a new fan belt ;-), but my room location was superb. It overlooked a small pond instead of a parking lot with intrusive lighting (for those of us who like to have our drapes open and be awakened by the morning light instead of a noisy alarm clock). The front desk staff was friendly and helpful, even when I requested a room change because I did not give them enough information up front about what I was looking for. I will definitely stay here again next time I need to be in Ames.

Room Tip: Ask for a room on the top floor, north side, facing away from the freeway.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank crwdenver
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
3.2 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
0.1 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
282 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Address: 2605 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Priceline and getaroom.com so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing