We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Clean Beautiful Comfortable”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
37 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Clean Beautiful Comfortable”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 2, 2011

This hotel seems like it is brand new. It is fresh, clean and pleasant. They even provide "Happy Hour" drinks at 5:30 PM. Great place! Great stay! We decided to stay an extra night.

  • Stayed May 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank rockledgewi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, May 5, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to share your thoughts regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    195
    97
    39
    24
    11
See reviews for
205
38
14
72
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Alpharetta, Georgia
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2010

We stayed 3 nights in this hotel. Nice, clean hotel with a great breakfast. Nice pool area. As stated in other reviews this hotel needs a little updating but still is a comfortable stay.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gsweir
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, August 31, 2010
Thank you for your comments. Although it is never pleasant to hear when a guest is not fully satisfied with his or her experience, we do need to be aware of these situations.Our goal is to provide our guests with a comfortable stay and to meet and exceed the service expectations of our guests.We are doing updating in the near future. Again, thank you for taking the time to comment.I hope you will give us another opportunity to serve you again in the near future.

Please contact me if you have any additional questions or concerns.

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Big Lake, Minnesota
Level Contributor
139 reviews
57 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 19, 2010

The hotel is in need up update and renovate... We were on the 3rd floor it was 92 out and our air never stopped or got cold enough unitl 4 in the morning...then we froze. would probably not stay there again, Hoiiday Inn Express on the N side of town is in about the same shape. Down the street there is a new Marriot property I will try that next.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank skidoo44
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, General Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to complete a review regarding your recent stay with us.
On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we apologize for the concerns you have about your experience at this hotel. Renovation are presently being organized. In late July early August we are beginning our NEW Breakfast Program which will have a new look with new hot/cold items that will please everyone.

I do appreciate the feedback and will use it to fine tune our operations in the hope that upon your next visit, we can meet or exceed your expectations.

Please be sure to use the offer that is attached in a personal email.


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 5, 2010

We stayed at this hotel at the beginning of June. It was very clean. The front desk staff was nice and helpful. Our room was on the third floor. Overall, it was very nice. The bathroom was big. The room had a mini fridge and microwave. The iron was great, but the ironing board had seen better days and could barely stay upright. The hotel seemed to be busy that weekend, but our room was quiet and we didn't hear anybody next to us or in the hallway. There was a pop and candy machine on the floor, along with an ice machine (out of order). My only complaint was that it was 85 degrees the weekend we stayed and our room air conditioner couldn't seem to keep the room cool. I would recommend maybe asking for a room on the lower level if you stay during the summer, unless you don't mind a warmer room. We ended up going to Wal Mart and buying a small fan, which made it feel much better. Also, the elevator is not air conditioned. It moves slow, so it was pretty uncomfortable going up to our room, especially when there was more than 2 people riding in it. We didn't use the exercise room, but it had a wide variety of equipment. The pool and hot tub were nice and large. They had fresh cookies and coffee set out during check in, which were yummy!!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank skrible81
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cx_ames, Manager at Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA, responded to this review, July 21, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to write a review regarding your recent stay with us.

On behalf of our entire staff here at the Country Inns & Suites we would like to thank you for your business and we hope to see you again when your travels bring you back to the area!


Sincerely,

Debra Pratt
General Manager
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames Iowa
515-233-3935
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 3, 2010

We stayed at this hotel with a larger group from thursday night until sunday morning.

For the vast majority of things, the hotel was very average.. (breakfast was standard, beds weren't great, but not bad, TV channels weren't great and the tv was older and small). also, the free wireless internet was terribly unreliable.

There were a couple of frustrating things though:
- The toilets clogged very easily and had a very hard time flushing. This problem was universal across the other rooms of our group.
- There were children constantly running around the hallways/the pool. (although this was a weekend so one wouldn't imagine it wouldn't be a problem during the week.
- Finally, the thing that left a very sour taste in my mouth: our rooms were not cleaned the whole time we were there. The first morning we left around 12, and had a do not disturb sign on the door until then (when leaving, took it off). When we arrived back at 4, the room had not been cleaned and a note was left saying that we had our do not disturb sign up. The second morning, we left around 11 and arrived back at 3. Not cleaned again. (we didn't have the do not disturb sign on at any point, and no maid came by at any point after we arrived back at the hotel) So being somewhat immature, that night we decorated our room with some potted plants from around the hotel. We also had a couple (7-8) people over to our room, where we proceeded to have some drinks. in the morning we left the room with the plants still in and quite a bit of garbage. (since our room hadn't been cleaned for three days--we couldn't even clean up if we wanted to--the garbage cans were full.)
In the end, a week later we were hit with a $200 charge for what would have been a 5-10 minute clean up, which could have been averted if the hotel did their job the other days. nothing was spilled or broken.

Terrible customer service.

  • Stayed February 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank smarttraveller0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Level Contributor
30 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 4, 2008

Just a clean professional hotel- There were many business people that stay there during the weekdays- which is always a good indicator.

Stayed December 2008, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank WellTraveled20yo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 24, 2008

I stayed here with my sister on a road trip from Las Vegas to WI. This was a nice hotel. Our front desk clerk wasn't the friendliest person, but I've had worse. Our room was nice and roomy and the beds were comfy. The pool was warm and the hot tub was amazing.

This hotel is located near a lot of restaurants and shops and if you don't want to go far, there is a Kum n Go with a Subway and Dairy Queen attached that is within walking distance. All in all, this was a great hotel. With our AAA discount, we got a rate of $89 mid-week. I would definitely stay here again for the price.

  • Stayed June 2008
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank alvernochick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.7 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
0.3 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
3.2 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
5.3 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA

Property: Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Address: 2605 SE 16th St, Ames, IA 50010-6495
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Ames
#5 Family Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA 2.5*
Number of rooms: 78
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Carlson, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotwire, Priceline, Travelocity, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Country Inn Ames
Ames Country Inn
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing