We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice facility, but a little costly for what you get.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Ranked #7 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Dixon, United States
2 reviews
“Nice facility, but a little costly for what you get.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

Overall not a bad experience. I was a little surprised to not find wireless internet, so it was a good thing I had the cable with me. Room was clean and neat. Making coffee with a Keurig was a plus. The décor of the motel was nice enough. I was a little surprised that there wasn't a complementary breakfast provided, for the cost of the room. Would I stay here again? Maybe.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Marta M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear Marta M,
Thank you for choosing us during your recent Ames visit. We do offer wireless service and I apologize if we did not explain to you how to access it. We are increasing our bandwidth and hope to have that completed by the end of May. All Hilton Garden Inns offer a full breakfast buffet including fresh fruit, yogurts, pastries, hot and cold cereals and made to order eggs, pancakes and waffles. A lighter breakfast is available too as well as some "food on the go" in our 24 hour Pantry. We will be more than happy to accommodate your tastes. We do hope that we will be your first choice in lodging on future visits. We would be honored to serve you again.

Highest regards,

Patty Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

402 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    202
    97
    49
    34
    20
See reviews for
176
39
12
145
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (28)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St. Louis
Level Contributor
70 reviews
26 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2014

This was my first trip to Ames for a business trip. I was told this was the newest hotel in Ames. The hotel design is very updated and pleasant on the inside. The lobby and area for eating was very clean. The people at the front desk were extremely helpful with restaurant choices, they even have a nice map of the area eating establishiments. I ended up eating at the bar area for dinner. They make a tomato soup from scratch that was delicious, then a very good portabello mushroom sandwich. The personnel in that area were also very nice. The breakfasts were similar to what I have experienced at other Hilton Gardens. I did discuss with the waiter they should offer gluten free pancakes, as they did at another recent Hilton Garden hotel. The room was very quiet and clean. I thought the mattress was a bit firm, and I like them firm! The fitness center was good, you need to bring your own headphones for the TV on the exercise equipment. I would also recommend them getting some of the wipes for the guests to use after using the equipment. In summary, was a very pleasant stay, would stay there again for an another trip to the area.

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MarciaLynn4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, April 16, 2014
Dear MarciaLynn4
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay with us. We are happy that you enjoyed your visit and look forward to being your lodging choice on future trips to Ames. We do rely on Guest Feedback to improve our services. Ear buds are offered to our guests using the fitness center but we have kept them at our Front Desk. We will be putting them in our fitness center from Sunday through Thursday for easy access. On weekends ear buds will still be available at our Front Desk. I apologize that we were out of the sanitary wipes but they are now back in stock.

Highest regards,

Patty Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
81 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 25, 2014

I travel 250 days a year and practically live in Hilton flagged properties and am usually pretty forgiving, but this one takes the cake. I was upgraded to a suite - a very large room with a separate bedroom, but the "very large room" is just a vacant space with no additional furnishings or amenities than you'd find in a regular room. By the time I was done unpacking I noticed a lot of goop on the coffee table and an end table,which I washed off, then I noted red stains in the carpet, picked up a toothpick from the bedroom carpet, then stepped on something that turned out to be a fake fingernail someone discard, then I found two more of them in various locations in the middle of the living area, found some food on the floor and a shampoo bottle cap on the bedroom floor. The luggage stand is so bent out of shape it was unusable. The wired Internet access (ethernet port) doesn't work, the Internet access speed are slower than 56k dialup modems from 15 years ago,
and I felt as though I had checked into a Motel 6 (no offense to them). This was shocking for me, a very frequent traveler. The staff was appalled and apologetic and I typically say that the real heroes of the hospitality industry (which I work in) are housekeeping staff members, but in this case, they need to start over. This may be just a very odd one-time event (I sure hope so), but beware!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RogerBrooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
Thank you for taking time to comment on your stay with us. I apologize for the condition that you found your room in and the inconvenience it caused you. This was an error on our part as the previous guest left one day early and she departed after our normal checkout. Her room was cleaned before we knew that she was leaving. The guest did go back then and use the room after it was cleaned. There was a failure to communicate her early departure between our front desk and housekeeping team members and the room was listed as ready to rent before a re-inspection. Unfortunately, while we thought we were up-grading your accommodations, we did not give you the value added amenity or the stay that you expect from a Hilton Garden Inn. Your feedback is important to us as we discussed this experience with our team members and how we will avoid any future occurrence. As you are in the hospitality business, I am grateful for your understanding that this is an “odd one-time event”. We would appreciate, on any of your future visits to Ames, to be your choice hotel. I can assure you that you will experience the true hospitality and accommodations that we proudly give our guests.

Patty Chang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 23, 2014

The room and amenities were great. The hotel staff were wonderful - flexible, patient, and very nice! I booked the room under my name, and my sister arrived before me and was able to check in with no problems (I'd made a note of this possibility when I booked online). Later, we asked about adding the breakfast to our one-night stay. The staff person explained the options and process thoroughly (e.g., if we paid that night for the next day, it was $5 instead of $10, but also non-refundable). Everything was so easy and helped make for a relaxing stay!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank mishymonkey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, March 27, 2014
We appreciate all feedback and we are especially proud when we are able to make our guests' visit to Ames a bit more relaxing and comfortable. Thank you for your kind words regarding our team members. Your comments have been share with our staff. We look forward to serving you on future visits to Ames.

Patty Chang, General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Looking for a hotel to stay for the next few years and we found it! Stayed here two nights for a college visit and everything was perfect.
Beautiful room
Clean room
Immaculate workout facility
Outstanding staff
Superb breakfast
Beautiful hotel with a really good pizza place next door!
I'd give it ten stars if I could!

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Newhamphire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Dear Newhamphire,
We are so glad that you enjoyed your stay with us! It is the goal of our dedicated staff to make every guest feel welcome and comfortable at our hotel. When we hear about happy experiences such as yours, we are extremely proud to have had a small contribution in making your visit memorable.

We look forward to being your host on future visits to Ames!!

Highest regards,

Pqtty Chang, CHA
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawfordsville, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 11, 2014

My room was very clean, stocked with quality products and very quiet considering being on HWY 30. The staff was polite, very helpful and attentive to everyones needs. I was close to the ISU campus, but not too close that I was bothered with distractions. I would recommend staying at this Hilton to all.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lisa J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianola, United States
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 9, 2014

Very nice looking hotel. Room quality is good and clean. My major complaints are the bed not being comfortable, noise transfer between rooms, and noise of the wall furnace in the room. Access to the hotel is good right off Highway 30 in West Ames.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank James P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
3.7 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing