We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Business Trip”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Monticello, United States
1 review
“Business Trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

Excellent hotel for family or business. Great service and reasonable pricing. Located on west side of town but only a 5 min drive to anything you need to do in Ames but also near a few eating places, etc. so overall a good place to stay.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Mike H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    99
    53
    35
    21
See reviews for
185
39
12
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Ames, United States
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 23, 2013

If I need to get to Ames (or even Des Moines Area) this is THE Hotel to stay at. I often have to get to Des Moines for work. If I end up leaving later in the day, I often pull into Ames HGI. Iowa has a lot.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Rajesh D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Parkton, Maryland
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

Have stayed here once or twice a year for the last 4 years and it's been very consistent - clean rooms, a few restaturants near by plus on-site food. Quality equipment in both the fitness center and business center.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank ParktonRDS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
12 reviews
9 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2013

This hotel is great in nearly every way. Nice rooms, friendly accommodating staff, nice decor, comfortable beds and a wonderful welcome. However our stay was slightly marred by two features. Breakfast was extremely disorganized with long waits and unable to accommodate requests such as extra bacon or a third egg (several people on the two days we were there had to leave before their food arrived). Secondly, the internet connection was painfully slow. This really is a nice hotel and in most ways is above the Hilton Garden Inn average - I stay at about 60 HGIs per year, but those 2 points stop it from getting the 5 stars.

Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
Helpful?
Thank Bigfoot101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ames, United States
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 20, 2013

This hotel ranks right next to a Super 8, but at least the Super 8 is clean. The bed was broke, the grout missing and covered in mildew/mold when there, carpets stained, mattress stained, sheets did not fit the bed... I stay at HGI exclusively but will be using the Hampton when in Ames in the future after two years of trying this HGI hoping for improvement.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
2 Thank Kevin W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, United States
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 16, 2013

This was my first stay in a Hilton Hotel, and I could not have been more impressed. The staff from the clerks at the desk to the cleaning staff were all very professional and friendly. The bed was incredibly comfortable, and the room was very clean. I could not have asked for a better experience.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank David M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Level Contributor
46 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

Had a decent stay here. They had a pretty nice gym, although no ab equipment. The area of town was nice enough. I went for a jog in a nearby neighborhood. Service, room, breakfast were all just fine. They had really nice landscaping outside of the hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ClutchChemist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Orbitz, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing