We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fine”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
NC
Level 6 Contributor
228 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“Fine”
Reviewed July 12, 2013

Hotel room was good - bed was comfortable and pretty clean. Bathroom stunk. not sure if it was mold or just generally gross. Tiles needed re caulking. The AC worked, but was loud. Location was good - easy to get downtown, to university. bar and food had limited availability. My guess is that their bar could make a killing if it opened at 4 and was open until midnight. I'd stay again, just not perfect.

Room Tip: ask for something away from the elevator.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank simnznc06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Simnznc06:
Thank you for providing us with feedback on your stay. As the new General Manager of this wonderful property, your comments are important as they will allow the team and me to focus on improving our facilities and our services. Several items of concerns that you spoke of are currently being addressed.

Your business is appreciated. Our goal is that the next time you stay with us, you will regard your stay as "Great".

Highest regards,

Patty Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

440 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    219
    103
    56
    40
    22
See reviews for
194
43
13
159
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Minneapolis, United States
1 review
Reviewed July 12, 2013

We stayed during our visit to Ames for a basketball tournament. Once can imagine a hotel full of basketball teams being quite noisy but it was very quiet. The staff was amazing, hotel was clean and very quiet. Will stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Lori S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, July 14, 2013
Dear Lori S
Our team members love to hear that our guests enjoyed staying with us. Thank you for your positive feedback!

We hope to have the pleasure to accommodate you again on future visits to Ames.

Highest regards,

Patty Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 6, 2013

We arrived about midnight. Our room was made up, but there was less than 1/4 a roll of toilet paper. I went to the front desk to get more. Was told I was one of multiple guests to ask, but the hotel was out. I had to drive to town myself to get more. No offer of compensation. Totally unaceptable & ridiculous!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank John E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, July 10, 2013
Dear John E.
Thank you for taking time to comment about your stay at our hotel. I agree with you that it is unacceptable that we did not supply your room with toilet paper. We did have have it stocked and in storage but our team member was unable to get it for you. We addressed this issue through additional training of the room attendant assigned to your room.

I apologize for the inconvenience that we put you through but I am glad that we were able to resolve it with you.

We appreciate you choosing us as your lodging choice in Ames and hope that we will have another opportunity to accommodate you on future visits.

Highest regards,

Patty Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clear Lake, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 26, 2013

The actual hotel was nice, small housekeeping issues found in the room. Very poor night staff. Overall stay was not horrible, expected more from Hilton. The building/lobby/room was well decorated. Breakfast is not free $7.95 is a little high if you only want a muffin and coffee. Good location from Perfect Games.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
1 Thank Deborah W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Patricia C, General Manager at Hilton Garden Inn Ames, responded to this review, July 6, 2013
Dear Deborah W,
Thank you for taking time to comment on your recent stay. Your feedback is extremely important to us as we will use it o improve our guests' experience. As the new general manager of the Hilton Garden Inn Ames, it allows me to focus on what we can do to provide the high quality standards that guests expect when they stay with a us.

Highest regards,
Patty Chang
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Germany
1 review
Reviewed June 25, 2013

- Rooms are big, clean and well equiped - Employees are very friendly and professional - Breakfast is really good - Internet is fast - An out-door restaurent/pub next to the Hotel. Good place to relax after work if the weather permits

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sumeru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kansas City, MO
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a spa room which includes a large hot tub / spa in the main room. Very relaxing after a long day in the car. The hotel was packed with youth athletic groups, very busy, but no problems. I generally have good experiences whith Hilton Garden Inn and this was no exception. It was either brand new or recently remodeled when we were there in June, 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey, United States
Level 3 Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn for four days. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel was in great proximity to the church and reception venue. Our room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was accommodating. Most of the staff was competent, friendly and helpful. There was on staff member, Steve B., who was rude and prejudiced. He took it upon himself to racially profile my husband and nephew. They were coming into the lobby talking and he told them that they were too loud; when there were other people in the lobby laughing and talking loud, drinking beer and eating pizza AND left a complete mess behind. Steve was the only sore spot in the entire visit. I would stay at this hotel again. We plan to file a complaint against this staff member so that he will never disrespect another guest. Overall, Hilton Garden Inn is a beautiful hotel and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I always choose a room on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.4 mi away
Best Western Plus University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing