We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Feedback”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Ranked #8 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Certificate of Excellence
Germany
1 review
“Feedback”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

- Rooms are big, clean and well equiped - Employees are very friendly and professional - Breakfast is really good - Internet is fast - An out-door restaurent/pub next to the Hotel. Good place to relax after work if the weather permits

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sumeru S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    208
    99
    53
    35
    21
See reviews for
185
39
12
150
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Kansas City, MO
Level Contributor
59 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We had a spa room which includes a large hot tub / spa in the main room. Very relaxing after a long day in the car. The hotel was packed with youth athletic groups, very busy, but no problems. I generally have good experiences whith Hilton Garden Inn and this was no exception. It was either brand new or recently remodeled when we were there in June, 2013

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Todd J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Orange, New Jersey, United States
Level Contributor
10 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 18, 2013

We stayed in the Hilton Garden Inn for four days. We had a wonderful stay. The hotel was in great proximity to the church and reception venue. Our room was very clean and the housekeeping staff was accommodating. Most of the staff was competent, friendly and helpful. There was on staff member, Steve B., who was rude and prejudiced. He took it upon himself to racially profile my husband and nephew. They were coming into the lobby talking and he told them that they were too loud; when there were other people in the lobby laughing and talking loud, drinking beer and eating pizza AND left a complete mess behind. Steve was the only sore spot in the entire visit. I would stay at this hotel again. We plan to file a complaint against this staff member so that he will never disrespect another guest. Overall, Hilton Garden Inn is a beautiful hotel and I would recommend it to others.

Room Tip: I always choose a room on the highest floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Theresa W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago,IL
Level Contributor
35 reviews
18 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 23 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 14, 2013

Typical HGI. Common areas were clean and pool was nice. Cleanliness of the rooms needs to be improved. First room we were given had disgusting carpet. Front desk promptly moved us. 2nd room was much better, but the door to the room looked like someone splashed coffee on the door and it was not cleaned up. In the morning, the tub wouldn't drain so you had to stand in the water while showering. I was not happy! We didn't have time for them to come fix it, as we needed to get showered and on to our appointment. I let the front desk know that we had had all of these issues. The lady was very nice and followed through on the signs throughout the hotel that it would be a good stay or it was free. I was surprised that they fully comped the room. I expected to get the run around on it. Nice to see a hotel follow through on promises, but I would have preferred to not have the issues in the first place.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank bassy92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
baton rouge, United States
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 11, 2013

The hotel was vary. I would stay again. Just need to tighten up on house keeping. the breakfast was excellent, just a little over priced. you have a wonderful Staff. Please keep up the good work. Parking was a little inconvenience but it worked out for me and my crew.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Derrick B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
28 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013 via mobile

I stayed at the Hilton garden inn for a night it was a good night. The service was nice and helpful. The rooms were nice and clean maybe a tiny bit dusty. The new Chandler in the lobby was a really nice touch. I didn't have time to have breakfast so I don't know how service at breakfast was. One thing I didn't really enjoy about the hotel it was fair away from restaurants. I enjoy my one night stay I will return to this hotel again.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank oscar219
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Olathe, United States
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 7, 2013

Very good, clean hotel. Good location relative to campus. Above average workout facility (weights, bench, weight machine, eliptical and treadmill machines). Food was good at the restaurant. WiFi was a tad slow, but not horrible.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Hilton Garden Inn

Helpful?
Thank Sean D. L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
5.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Ames
5.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
2.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
5.4 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Ames, IA
2.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hilton Garden Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hilton Garden Inn Ames

Property: Hilton Garden Inn Ames
Address: 1325 Dickinson Ave, Ames, IA 50014-5568
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Ames
#8 Business Hotel in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Hilton Garden Inn Ames 3*
Number of rooms: 112
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Hilton Garden Inn Ames hotel is located in the heart of Iowa on Highway 30 west at the South Dakota exit and just five miles from Interstate 35. This Ames, Iowa hotel is three miles from Iowa State University, home of the ISU Cyclones, with Hilton Coliseum and Jack Trice Stadium less than ten minutes away. Notable among Ames, Iowa hotels, our flexible meeting rooms include an Executive Boardroom for up to 10 people and a Grand Ballroom seating up to 175 people. From the Garden Grille with the cooked-to-order breakfast to our 112 beautifully decorated guest rooms with complimentary WiFi, Hilton Garden Inn Ames is the perfect complement to any corporate or social event. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Priceline, Cancelon, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hilton Garden Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Hotel Ames
Hilton Garden Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing