We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great room for a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Days Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Days Inn Ames
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Iowa
2 reviews
“Great room for a great price”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2009

I was pleasently surprised by the high quality of the room which two friends and myself stayed in for one night. The room was very clean and was about perfect for our needs. The hotel staff was great and very helpful and while there was nothing flashy about the Days Inn Ames, I still loved the hotel and will stay in the Days Inn Ames whenever I need to stay overnight in Ames.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank HawkMan08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

331 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    47
    49
    93
    69
    73
See reviews for
136
45
36
86
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (15)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Omaha, Nebraska
Level Contributor
88 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 26, 2009

I suppose it was an OK stay just not what I expected from the Trip Advisor rating/ranking. The place is old and musty. It is what I would call the bare bones of an acceptable place to stay overnight. It is in an older part of town right off a busy street. It is in a good location for quick access to Iowa State University.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank dhornick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nebraska
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 22, 2009

The cost and location of this motel was satisfactory. Things to consider: Walls were very thin, ice machine was directly outside door-lots of noise, smoke alarm hanging from ceiling, feet became black walking barefoot on carpet and arms of chair were sticky.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NebraskaVacationer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
iowa
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 12, 2009

I stayed 4 nights. It was quiet. The staff was very nice and helpful.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank herbieiowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmond
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2009

Great place to stay at with low rates. We just needed a place to stay while we were doing orientation at the college for my son. It was cheaper to stay at this motel than what it would have cost us to stay in the dorms on campus. We liked the availablity of wireless internet since my son was working on a summer class while he was there.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kayo12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 3, 2009

We were given great service, very accomodating and friendly. The room was clean and comfortable. We asked for extra towels and coffee and our requests were treated with
respect as if they were very important. Everything we needed was available to us.
The manager and staff were very warm and friendly.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank WillowtreeWisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Holland, MI
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 2, 2009

I stayed here with two children while my older daughter was involved at an event at Iowa State. The location is fabulous for shopping, restaurants, and the university. It was clean. It is simple--both the rooms and the breakfast were simple, but adequate for our needs. The owner was accomodating, both when I arrived pulling a trailer and, on our last night, when my son became ill.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank RossHollandMI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Ames Conference Center At Isu
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
2.0 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS University Park Inn & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge Ames
Econo Lodge Ames
#14 of 20 in Ames
3.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Ames
3.7 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites Near ISU Campus
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ames

Property: Days Inn Ames
Address: 229 S. Duff Avenue, Ames, IA 50010
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames Days Inn
Days Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing