We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overall my experience was ok. It was a good deal for a...”
Review of Days Inn Ames

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Days Inn Ames
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Reviewed June 11, 2014

Overall my experience was ok. It was a good deal for a college student needing to spend a week there and didn't have too much money to spend

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Diana V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (368)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

221 - 227 of 368 reviews

Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank David F
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 9, 2014

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Doug W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 3, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
1  Thank Jennifer R
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Reviewed June 1, 2014

Pros -
1. Location- close to Iowa State, highways, and stores (Walmart, Target)
2. walking distance to many restaurants.
3. Probably cheaper than other hotels/motels in the area.
4. Area seems to be safe.

Cons -
1. musty smell upon entering and in hallways.
2. bathrooms and room need to be cleaner. Do not appear to be cleaned thoroughly on a regular basis.
3. Limited parking
4. Lots of street noise if you get a room facing the street.
5. Room and bathroom is very small. Probably ok for 1-2 people but not 4.
6. Breakfast was ok - cereal, muffins, toast, yogurt, egg omelette (pre made and refrigerated), coffee, juice. breakfast area is small.
7. Owner/manager should be a little more friendly/customer oriented.

  • Stayed: June 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Baddyfan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

I wish I would of spent little extra and stayed at the competition. They did charge my card two days before arrival, that has never happened to me before. I normally read reviews before I decide on a hotel. Wish I would of this time. The halls smell very heavy of cigarette smoke and need vacuumed or better yet carpet replaced. Thank heavens the room did not smell of smoke. Also agree with a previous post the pillows are lumpy. The window locks did not work, but we were on the 2nd floor so not a big deal. There was left over food in the fridge from previous occupant and the corners of the bathroom floor looked like they haven't been cleaned in a very long time. Most hotels have plastic liners for the ice bucket and the cups are also plastic sealed not this location. I had to scrub out the ice bucket and we travel with commuter cups so we used those. The Continental breakfast was fine, the counters were clean and tables OK but the floor was sticky when you walk. Next time I will read all the reviews.

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zameyemm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2014

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Days Inn
Thank Carolyne D
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Ames hotels
1.9 mi away
Econo Lodge
Econo Lodge
#14 of 20 in Ames
81 reviews
1.7 mi away
Microtel Inn & Suites by Wyndham Ames
1.7 mi away
Red Roof Inn Ames
Red Roof Inn Ames
#11 of 20 in Ames
344 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
AmericInn Ames
AmericInn Ames
#9 of 20 in Ames
291 reviews
1.7 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Ames
0.9 mi away
GrandStay Hotel & Suites Ames
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Days Inn Ames? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Days Inn Ames

Address: 229 S Duff Ave, Ames, IA 50010-6641
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Ames
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #19 of 20 Hotels in Ames
Price Range: $70 - $234 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Days Inn Ames 2*
Number of rooms: 1
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your Days Inn Ames reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Ames Days Inn
Days Inn Ames Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing