We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Review of Dusk To Dawn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dusk To Dawn
Ranked #4 of 6 Amana B&B and Inns
Wisconsin
1 review
“Never Again”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2009

We paid for (2) nights, but only spent one. The room was dusty and the bed
felt like it was going to break. I think we stayed in a converted garage.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nana44Wisconsin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

13 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    1
    0
    2
    3
See reviews for
1
6
1
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (2)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 10, 2008

We considered ourselves lucky to snag a room in the Amana Colonies just before a holiday weekend. After a restless night at Dusk to Dawn, we revised our thinking.

The positives:
Breakfast: Breakfast was excellent. Served family style, it consisted of a tasty egg casserole, home baked cinnamon rolls and an artfully arranged fruit platter. Also coffee and a variety of teas. We had a very enjoyable meal visiting with the other guests.

Shopping: Middle Amana (where D2D is situated) is just a couple of short miles from Amana, where most of the shops and restaurants are located.

The negatives:
Room: (This applies to the room we stayed in only...we didn’t see the others, hopefully they were better.) There was only seating for one (an outdoor patio chair); the other guest had to sit on the end of the bed. At the head of the bed was an enclosure that housed the building’s water heater. We were treated to the sound of it cycling on and off (right next to our heads) whenever anyone else in the building used hot water.

Bath “area”: Not to be confused with a bathROOM, this was an open toilet, sink and shower stall on one end of the room, separated from the bed and dresser by a short screen in front of the toilet. The screen did nothing to contain the usual bathroom noises and smells. The plastic shower stall was cracked and its floor was a dingy gray. To use the bathroom in the night, one had to either go in the dark or take a flashlight...the only light was the room’s ceiling light and to turn it on would disturb the other sleeper.

Noise: There was obviously no soundproofing between rooms...no trouble at all hearing our neighbors get water, flush, shower, etc. The hot tub (outside, near our window) was operating and I thought the motor would be soothing “white noise”. Unfortunately, it attracted a constant flow of folks who wanted to lift the cover, see what was inside, then slam the cover back down–the hot tub would have been better located away from sleeping quarters. A wooden stairway right outside our window provided plenty of noise from foot traffic clomping up & down.

We love B&Bs and don’t expect everything to be perfect. We do expect to spend the night in a quiet room, not have a water heater in that room and if a private bath is offered, we would certainly prefer it to have its own space, not be part of the bedroom.

  • Liked — Great Breakfast
  • Disliked — noisy, building's water heater was in the room, bathroom in bedroom
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank JinIA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Omaha
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2006

This B & B is in Middle Amana, Iowa. The owner told me she'd had it for four years. It is a 100+ year old home with a lot of potential.

In all my stays at B&Bs, I've never had an owner tell me at check in "if you use any dishes, please wash them before you go to bed. My husband doesn't like doing dishes at 6:30 in the morning."

That should have been a sign.

While they layout is quite good with private baths in each room in the main house, the bed was an old spring mattress that not only squeaked each time one rolled over, but left me quite sore in the a.m. The showers became scalding hot when someone in the residence flushed or otherwise ran water.

We were told coffee would be ready at 6:30 a.m. I checked in the main room and yes the coffee was brewing, but there were only two tablespoons of coffee grounds in the pot. "Weak" doesn't begin to cover it! That said, the breakfast was quite good with fresh fruit, an egg casserole, and juice.

There is not a comfortable chair inside--the patio chairs on the decks are comfortable, but in inclement weather this isn't enough. Advertised as being furnished with "period" furniture--it truly is. In each of the two main rooms, there is an antique sofa that is in serious need of new springs and upholstery. When I sat on the sofa upstairs, I could actually feel the frame beneath me.


This B & B has a lot of potential, but is in need of some sprucing up--both physically and in terms of guest service.

Stayed October 2006
Helpful?
3 Thank omafig
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wisconsin
Level Contributor
25 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 2, 2006

This is a wonderful little B&B in Middle Amana, Iowa. The property is beautiful and peaceful and the hot tub onsite is a plus. Breakfast was always homemade and very good. The location in Middle Amana is wonderful. There are several things to see in Middle Amana, and it is a short walk/bike ride/drive to Amana. We stayed here for three nights and never ran out of things to do. This is not the most luxurious place, but it is clean, comfortable, peaceful, and very affordable. We would recommend this B&B to friends and family looking for a getaway to recharge the soul.

  • Liked — Peacefulness, Breakfast, Hot Tub, Private Bathroom
  • Disliked — Walls a little thin, Rooms a little small
  • Stayed July 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank wisnjc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amana
2.9 mi away
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Homestead
4.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
7.7 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg
Ramada Williamsburg
#3 of 8 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 689 reviews
7.3 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
9.5 mi away
Cozy House & Suites
Cozy House & Suites
#5 of 8 in Williamsburg
3.0 of 5 bubbles 33 reviews
16.5 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Coralville
16.8 mi away
Mainstay Suites
Mainstay Suites
#9 of 18 in Coralville
4.5 of 5 bubbles 63 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dusk To Dawn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dusk To Dawn

Property: Dusk To Dawn
Address: 2616 K St, Amana, IA 52307-7732
Location: United States > Iowa > Amana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amana
Number of rooms: 7
Also Known As:
Dusk To Dawn Amana, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing