We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Family Style Meal”
Review of Ox Yoke Inn

Ox Yoke Inn
Ranked #1 of 12 Restaurants in Amana
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $5 - $23
Cuisines: American, German
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine, Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations
Description: You hungry? Famous for American and German food served "Family Style". Hearty and light portions including chicken, hand cut steaks, roast beef, sauerbraten, wiener schnitzel cutlets, Amana made brats, pork chops, catfish, sandwiches, salads, homemade soups and desserts...Including rhubarb custard with meringue topping, chocolate and coconut cream pies. Pies to Go. Children's and Carryout menus. Local, American and imported wines, beers, and cocktails. Serving daily Breakfast, Lunch, Dinner, Banquets and on Sundays a Four Entree Brunch Buffet. The Ox Yoke Inn is "An Amana Colonies Tradition Since 1940." It's main dining rooms were built in 1856, and is a National Historic Landmark. Five generations of the Leichsenring family have owned and operated the restaurant.
Des Moines, Iowa
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Good Family Style Meal”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

Nothing fancy, just good Family Style Food. Cottage Cheese is a real treat. Portions more than adequate.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank JRBCruiser
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    241
    184
    77
    32
    20
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Cedar Rapids, Iowa
Level 5 Contributor
66 reviews
51 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Dinner before Theater”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

I had not been to the Ox Yoke Inn in several years and was looking forward to the Sauerbraten . It was good, not great as I remembered, and skimpy on the gravy. I love spatzle with sauerbraten, so ordered it on the side and it was dry. The red cabbage salad was amazing and I loved it! There were 3 adults in our party, and we ordered the plate dinners upon the servers suggestion and I wished we had ordered family style. The chicken and shrimp dinners my friends ordered seemed really skimpy. The rhubarb meringue pie was excellent. I think it is lovely that the old style German environment has been maintained.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cynthia M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 6 Contributor
139 reviews
75 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
“Very Good Lunch and Dinner”
Reviewed November 2, 2013 via mobile

We had a nice lunch and dinner here. The wait staff were friendly and well versed in describing the menu and various choices available. The portions were just enough ordering the plate dinner. The food was well prepared and was tasty. The hostess was a bit surely at dinner tonight. We made a comment that it was warm. She said, "Well I'm not going to turn the air on." It was very cool outside. We sure weren't asking her to so that. Our waitress apologized for her. So we got on with the meal and had an enjoyable time. Worth eating here.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank EAY1976
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abilene, Texas
Level 6 Contributor
240 reviews
97 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
“Good food”
Reviewed October 30, 2013

Good food and generous portions but not much atmosphere. Ate in a brightly lit room. Good service. Central to shopping area.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank bobe2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SANTA ROSA CA
Level 3 Contributor
23 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Has become too commercialized”
Reviewed October 18, 2013

I believe that this restaurant has become too commercialized over the years. Service was poor and we were seated a half hour after our reservation. My chicken schnitzel was average as well as the side dishes. Very pricey for what I got.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank SONIATRAVELER
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Ox Yoke Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing