We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very Rude Service”
Review of Colony Inn - CLOSED

Colony Inn
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Reservations
Coralville, Iowa
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Very Rude Service”
Reviewed December 8, 2013

Our family has been to the Colony Inn numerous times for breakfast and dinner. We live a short distance from the Amana Colonies (less than 20 miles). In general, we like the food and the service has always been fine. We arrived to at the Colony Inn on a very busy Saturday night. We were told we would need to wait 15-20 minutes and were give a number. We were fine with waiting. The problem occurred when we had waited approximately 1 hour, and people were being seated who had a higher numbers (arrived after us). When we approached the man who was seating visitors he was rude and very short tempered. We were a party of four with two young children. We had waited patiently for an hour, and had tickets for the play that night. We will never go back to the Colony Inn again, and we will tell all of our friends and family our experience! Extremely disappointed in the service!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Mike G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    19
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Helena, MT
Level Contributor
966 reviews
614 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 454 helpful votes
“Fun place”
Reviewed November 2, 2013

The Amana colonies are great fun, an interesting stop in Iowa, The food at these places is homemade and you get a lot. Not gourmet but good.

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank vintagetrailer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux Falls, SD
Level Contributor
62 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“Not authentic German food.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

When you go to the Amana's and you stop to have dinner you might expect to get some authentic German cuisine. Not here. My Wiener schnitzel came out of a deep fat fryer! It was awful. The family-style sides were acceptable and setting was truly Amana Colonies but the kitchen should be ashamed of themselves. Would not recommend if you are hoping for something authentic.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank foodpeddler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
63 reviews
52 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Not good as expecting”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

We stopped for breakfast. We found out it was only family style which didn't bother me I like family style. The food wasn't great bacon chewy eggs over easy (which I don't like). I liked the coffee, fruit, and the thinnest pancakes ever! The service was good the coffee kept being poured and waitress was around frequently to offer refills on food. I have been here for dinner and it was good so I was a little disappointed!

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank lisamarie9456
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tell City, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
81 reviews
31 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
“First trip to the Amana Colonies”
Reviewed October 2, 2013

It was a beautiful day to walk around and take in the sights of this historical place. It makes a person get hungry so we stopped in this place to eat. I ordered a Reuben sandwich. It was very good.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
Thank GinaPowell-Young
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing