We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome breakfast”
Review of Colony Inn - CLOSED

Colony Inn
Cuisines: American, German
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Dinner, Lunch, Reservations
West Allis, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome breakfast”
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We good free breakfast vouchers to the Colony from out hotel. We were extremely pleased with the quality of the breakfast and the service. A nice relaxed way to start out each day. Had we been paying for this it would have been a great value.

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
1 Thank fivemonkeys54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

133 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    48
    24
    19
    26
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Quincy, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
“Fun Trip for our family”
Reviewed September 27, 2012

We enjoyed visiting the shops and historical sites. The whole family was accomidated and was fun for all, addults and kids. A must visit.

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Jim D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Grange Park, IL
Level Contributor
27 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Great Food!”
Reviewed September 25, 2012

We were there 9/22/12 about 1:15p.m. Not an overly friendly hostess greeted us after 2 or 3 minutes and we were told there would be a 15 min. wait. We couldn't understand why as we saw many empty tables in the place. After visiting with ourselves and others waiting, the hostess finally said that waitresses were behind because 1 called off and another was gone because she was injured. We were actually seated in 7-10 min., not too bad. The "waiting space" was standing by the bar. Our waiter was friendly young man who immediately took our beverage order and delivered it very quickly. I hadn't been to the Amana's in 30 years and the salad course was just I remembered it, cottage cheese, lettuce salad w/creamy dressing and sauerkraut salad (sweet dressing) rye & white bread came very quickly. We both had the pot roast for main course and had two big slices with pearl onion, yummy mashed potatoes and gravy. The green beans were cooked just right. The pies were included in the price and the rhubarb and cherry were wonderful. The prices of meals had increased considerably in 30 years and we thought a bit too much. However, the experience was memorable and we will return next summer.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank ekh708
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Good Food Family Style”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We were in Amana for a few days and tried the three restaurants in town, overall we found the Colony Inn to be the best. We were there for lunch, got seated quickly and our server was there for our drink orders, and when ready took our lunch orders. The food was very good, we were served family style the cottage cheese, sauerkraut, bread, green salad with colony dressing, And we ordered pickled ham along with it. by the time we finished our sides our entrees were there, fried chicken and chicken schnitzel , both tender and moist, along with mAshed potatoes and gravy and greenbeans. the service was good and attentive. All in all a very good experience we would definitely go back.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Sub1945
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Liberty, Iowa
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Ugh”
Reviewed September 24, 2012

We Used to come here two to three times per year. now we go down the street to the Rhonnenberg. Mediocre food poor service!

  • Visited February 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Ezra63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing