We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great B&B in Amana”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Amana
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
A Prairie Rose Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 6 Amana B&B and Inns
Reviewed August 6, 2012

My wife and I were looking for a weekend vacation close to home so we decided to get a Bed & Breakfast in Amana. What a great weekend. Prairie Rose is extremely convenient to the bulk of the shops. Easy walking distance to Restaurants, Antique shops, Wineries, etc. Marye was a great host and cook. After I made the reservation (about 2 weeks before we went) I got an email from Marye telling me about an dinner and wine tasting at White Cross Cellars Winery and the Ox Yoke Inn. We decided to go and had a great time and outstanding food. The Breakfasts at Praire Rose were wonderful. The one day we had Amana Bacon (she made so much we couldn't possibly finish it) and it was wonderful. In addition there was fresh strawberries, blackberries and grapes and Pancakes with pear. The second day we had waffles, sausage and fresh Peaches and raspberries. In our room there were some high quality chocolates - Lindt and Godiva which was a nice touch. The food here is definitely high quality and plentiful.

When we got back from Dinner on Friday, she had 2 home made brownies waiting for us (glad we didn't have dessert at the restaurant). They were great and made with real butter. The house is modern in its decor and is spotless. It actually is one of the original communal laundaries so there are some interesting aspects to the architecutre. The rooms were very comfortable and spacious with a small refrigerator and wine glasses. The only minor complaint was that the rooms had a slanted ceiling (due to the roof line) so if you were on the one side of the room and got up quickly (and forgot) you could (and did) hit your head. The common area was very nice and comfortable with 2 couches and plenty of room to relax.

The house has central air (no noisy room air conditioners like in some hotels) and it worked well. The temperature was kept comfortable and we were never hot or cold (like in some hotels). This was no small trick as the temperature out side on Friday was very warm (90+). Pillows and bed was very comfortable.

Marye was a great host and extremely helpful. She new the area and made good recommendations and she truly made you feel like you were at home.

I would highly recommend Prairie Rose to anyone looking for a quality B&B in the Amana area.

Room Tip: Time your visit to coincide with one of the Vintner's Dinners from White Cross Cellars. They are...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Roger C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (39)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

36 - 39 of 39 reviews

Reviewed June 3, 2012

This was our first time to ever stay in a B&B, and we picked a fantastic one. Marye, the always smiling owner, keeps the place spotless. The bedrooms are a nice size, and each one has a separate bathroom. This is really nice when you are traveling with another couple. There is also a nice living room, dining room, and full kitchen area. Marye stocks the guest area with great books, games, cd's, and snacks. She also cooks up a great breakfast -- wonderful meats, waffles, french toast, and extremely good coffee. These are not budget foods and coffees. The beds and pillows are quite comfy, and the location to the Amana shops is excellent. We would definately stay here again, and would highly recommend this B&B to other travelers.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank becdon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 22, 2012

We stayed at the Prairie Rose Bed and Breakfast for the second time since moving from Iowa to Michigan because our first experience there was so fine. This time we noticed the additional upgrades to the place and the new plantings around the house and in the gardens. It will be beautiful when all the things are blooming this summer. We enjoy visiting with Marye and of course eating her tasty breakfasts. This new bed and breakfast is an asset to the Amana community. We will return.

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 17, 2011

Sleeping in the Prairie Rose Bower room with the windows open to hear the night sounds was wonderful! The bed was comfortable too. The bathroom is larger than other B&Bs we have visited and we appreciated the double sinks. Marye served the best waffles I have every had, a bowl of fresh berries and more. Although located in a historic community of older buildings, Prairie Rose is delightfully fresh and updated. It was a pleasure having Marye share her home. This B&B is within a short walk to the antique and other shopping in the Main Amana. Highly recommend. Since she has only two rooms now, better reserve ahead.

Room Tip: Love the bath for the Bower room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
5  Thank imahaug
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amana
2.9 mi away
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
Zuber's Homestead Hotel
#1 of 1 in Homestead
132 reviews
8.4 mi away
Ramada Williamsburg
Ramada Williamsburg
#3 of 8 in Williamsburg
832 reviews
8.0 mi away
Heritage Inn Amana Colonies Hotel & Suites
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Die Heimat Country Inn
Die Heimat Country Inn
#1 of 3 in Homestead
240 reviews
1.6 mi away
No photo provided
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to A Prairie Rose Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about A Prairie Rose Bed and Breakfast

Address: 4411 F St, Amana, IA 52203-8037
Location: United States > Iowa > Amana
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 6 B&Bs / Inns in Amana
Number of rooms: 3
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A Prairie Rose Bed and Breakfast - located in the heart of the Amana Colonies, just 2 blocks from downtown Amana, yet nestled in a private, lovely setting. Originally a communal Wash highlighting the original nooks, crannies, and massive beams. We offer 3 bedrooms: The Rose Bower - decorated in cheerful reds, has a queen bed and an attached garden bathroom with walk-in shower and 2 sinks. Our second bedroom the Blue Delft, has a queen bed, is decorated in blue and white, has a private bathroom about 10 steps down the hall, private robes, a refrigerator, flat screen tv. Our 3rd room, the Wee Violets, refers to the wild violets growing on the property -- is a large room which is soft and peaceful. It also has a queen bed, personal robes, and shares the bath which is a few steps down the hall. We feature a delicious breakfast, with entrees such as French Toast, Blackberry Waffles, juice, coffee, tea, fruit and a selection of Amana meats. Our site is large, and we have lots of parking. ... more   less 
Also Known As:
A Prairie Rose Bed And Breakfast Amana, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing