We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Frequently visited spot”

Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark
Ranked #1 of 12 things to do in Amana
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: This village, founded by 18th-century German immigrants, was the foundation for modern Amana.Our Building served as the communal kitchen for the area and 25 years ago was turned into a bed and breakfast. We have an in ground pool (the only bed and breakfast in Iowa to have one), and we can accommodate 30 people overnight. we have 9 rooms all with their own bathrooms and 4 jacuzzi sweats. We have media come up graded cable and internet for the guest. We do have a full sit down breakfast every morning and on weekends we have desert in the evenings, with coffee.
Iowa
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Frequently visited spot”
Reviewed February 6, 2012

From good German food in restaurants, to smokehouse, local wines, general
atmosphere, this is a spot well worth visiting.

Helpful?
Thank deltaIowa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

250 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    118
    80
    33
    14
    5
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Lawrence, Kansas
Level Contributor
242 reviews
107 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 93 helpful votes
“Back In Time”
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We enjoyed two days of visiting the Amana Colonies. Each Colony had something different to offer and to experience. Do take your time and not rush through this visit. Enjoyed the Amana Colonies Woolen Mill! Watched the looms producing blankets which was really fascinating! Had to, of course, purchase one of the blankets and it continues to be one of my favorites for naps and picnics. We even used it in a family portrait we had taken!

Other shops enjoyed were the German foods, winery, chocolate, stitchery, etc. Do purchase some German foods to take home and enjoy. Also visit the wine shop and take home some of their unique wines. They are very good! Enjoy the vast history of the Amana Colonies. The restaurants in the Colonies are very good and serve traditional and authentic German cuisine. The Sauerbraten is always one of my favorites!

Go online and checkout all the festivals. We were not there at a particuliar festival event, but they looked very fun and inviting!

Visited September 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank TheBoysGrandma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Lafayette, Indiana
Level Contributor
29 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Worth a visit”
Reviewed February 3, 2012

If you are driving through flat prairie lands and corn fields of Iowa, then this is a good place to take a break and visit the quaint shops and other landmarks, that transport you to another era, calm and placid!

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank eclegein
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pella, Iowa
Level Contributor
10 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Learn the history of the Amana Colonies”
Reviewed January 25, 2012

The Museum of Amana History is an excellent source of information about the Community of True Inspiration group which founded the 7 villages.

Helpful?
Thank Janice W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cascade, IA
Level Contributor
15 reviews
12 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Lots of shopping and culture”
Reviewed January 22, 2012

There is somthing for everyone here. Candle, toy, art, wine, clothes, and other stores. Lots of family style dining.

Helpful?
Thank JSRRT
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark also viewed

 

Been to Amana Colonies National Historic Landmark? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing