We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
$25 Amazon.com Gift Card Get yours when you book a hotel on TripAdvisor and review your stay!

“Convenient” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adventureland Inn

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Adventureland Inn
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altoona
Keokuk
Level Contributor
17 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Convenient”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We stayed on a Sunday. It was just OK. Over priced in my opinion $179.00. We were given a handicap room because that is all that was left. The room was pretty big but very outdated. There was no window and only 2 lamps and the bathroom light so it was dark. We felt like we were in a box. The decor was from the 70's along with the popcorn ceiling. The shower was slippery with no mat to prevent fall. Not sure why it would be this way being a handicap room. Bed was just okay. Bedding was outdated and didn't feel clean so we used our own blankets and pillows. TV was a flat screen but the channels only went upto 22 and were not in HD.

Staff was nice, but not overly helpful. Pool area is nice for smaller children. Signs everywhere about not bringing in your own drink or food so they can over charge you for theirs. When we were there the swim up bar was not open and the pop machine on our floor was out of order. We didn't try the restaurant.

There is a shuttle to and from the park. That was convenient. They warn you that you have to wear your ristband at all times and if it were to become lost you have to pay $20 for a new one. They gave us 5 at check-in but we only needed 3.

We won't stay againi just because it was so out dated. We prefer nicer rooms with HD TV and faster internet. If you have small children then it is a great place.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Dolphfan37
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brianne F, Public Relations Manager at Adventureland Inn, responded to this review, June 26, 2013
On behalf of our General Manager, Matthew Krantz:
Teresa,
Thank you for letting us know about your recent stay. We are very sorry to hear that there were aspects of your stay that did not meet your expectations. It is always very helpful to receive all levels of criticism as it is the only way to continually improve our property and the services we offer. It is unfortunate that you had literally the last available room that we had. We are doing everything in our power to assist our Convention & visitor's Bureau with overflowing soccer tournament attendees. The space, design, and layout of our accessible rooms are tailored to accommodation and access rather than luxury. In any other situation, we would have been happy to offer different accommodations as we have 7 different room types. We will have our maintenance team investigate the TV in your room as every TV in our property has full HD capability and should receive all HD broadcasted channels. We apologize for the confusion and inconvenience these events may have caused.
We do our absolute best to provide very high grade accommodations to all of our guests, but we focus on guests traveling with children attending Adventureland Amusement Park. We have always been aimed to be comfortable and refined without making a family feel alienated as often happens in a boutique style facility. We truly apologize that we could not accommodate you in a manner that you were looking for. We will share your impressions with our entire staff as evidence of a room for improvement, and truly hope that you will consider staying with us again while on future travels.

Matthew J. Krantz
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

246 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    54
    57
    61
    36
    38
See reviews for
158
Couples
0
2
9
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ord, NE
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 24, 2013

We spent 2 days at Adventureland Inn and amusement park with our grandchildren and loved every minute of it. The room was immaculate and the pools were so handy. The motel pool attendants were wonderful. The rides at the park were clean and kept up and we all had the thrills of our life! Would recommend this trip to any family with young children. The food at the motel and at the park was reasonably priced and there was a big variety.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Gram_BOrd_NE
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 4, 2013

I stayed here with my sister, brother-in-law, and 2 nephews (ages 4 and 2). There isn't a more perfect hotel in the Des Moines metro area. Great pools for the kids- zero depth entry into one, water slides, and then a deeper pool for adults- complete with a swim-up bar! All rooms are poolside so if you're on the first floor, you can just walk out to the pool! Rooms are huge- lots of room for big families.
Right next to Adventureland Park so it's super convenient and you can take the trolly for free- to and from the park!
Great place, FANTASTIC food in the restaurant and perfect atmosphere for fun-loving families!!

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank jrabbit3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Clinton, Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013

We stayed 2 nights at this hotel, visited the amusement park two days. First day for the water park second day for the other rides. Took our 2 yr old daughter- it was PERFECT! She was able to ride several rides, loved the park and waterpark, its a nice clean park. Spent our evenings in the hotel pool- ate at the hotel restaurant once which was nice. Loved that we could just take the trolley to the park. Overall best vacation our new little family has taken so far- cant wait to go again.

Only thing I'll do differently next time is to pick a room farther from the pool. Our daughter goes to bed at 7 still so being next to the pool which is open until 10 made it hard for her to get to sleep plus she was just excited.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SCL42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, Iowa
Level Contributor
18 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

Have been to Adventureland Inn many times. It is VERY conveniently located right next to Adventureland Park. Originally it had only one indoor pool but has expanded to two indoor pools. One with a swim up bar. One of the pools also has a kiddie section(shallow water and toys). Rooms are comfortable and kept clean. The restaurant is good. Many years ago it was not the highlight of the hotel but it has continually gotten better. There is a trolley that runs to and from the hotel to the park that is VERY convenient. I gave this hotel a 4 out 5. It gets the nod for being so convenient to the park but the restaurant kept it from getting a 5.

Room Tip: If you have kids or even if YOU like to swim ask for a lower level next to the pools. It will be a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 2MoGoose
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 15, 2013

We recently took our boys (4 and 6yrs old) to Adventureland Inn for a little "tropical fun" since the Iowa winter seems to be hanging on extra long this year. The kids, my husband, and I enjoyed our stay very much! I booked online, check-in was smooth and easy, we especially like that they have a wristband policy to keep the pool population to hotel guests only, we ordered pizza from the restaurant (very good), the room was spacious and clean, pool areas were perfect for the ages of our boys, and we really had a great time. Checkout was smooth and easy and the hotel staff was very friendly. Overall we had a fantastic stay and our boys are already asking to go back!

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank VacationIsMyJob
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta, GA
Level Contributor
195 reviews
79 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 102 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 30, 2013

Attended a conference here. Staff was outstanding. There was a tiny bit of mold in the top of the shower, but the room was very clean and comfortable. If you have kids, they will love the pools. It's not a fancy indoor water park, but does offer two large indoor pools and a fun place to swim. For business travelers, the wireless was weak and it would have been nice to have a fitness room instead of having to run outside in the 20 degree March weather. The menu in the restaurant was not very interesting, but the food was prepared well. There is a casino next door and in the summer, the amusement park is very convenient. There didn't seem to be much else nearby, but downtown Des Moines was a short drive.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MikeMoAtl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.5 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
0.4 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#5 of 8 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 stars 94 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 8 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 stars 193 reviews
10.6 mi away
Ramada Tropics Resort / Conference Center Des Moines
4.1 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 stars 64 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Adventureland Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adventureland Inn

Property: Adventureland Inn
Address: 3200 Adventureland Dr, Hwy 1-80 (Exit 142A), Altoona, IA 50009-1697
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 8 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Adventureland Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 185
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to Adventureland Inn! At Adventureland Inn you will find 185 guest rooms with over 15,000 square feet of flexible meeting space! Adventureland Inn is a full service hotel with two restaurants on site, as well as room service. Our indoor pool areas and courtyards are among the finest in the area, with three pools featuring the only swim-up bar in the Midwest! We are located right next to Iowa's largest attraction, Adventureland and also next to Iowa’s largest casino, Prairie Meadows! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity and Hotwire so you can book your Adventureland Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Adventureland Des Moines
Adventureland Hotel Altoona
Adventureland Inn Des Moines
Adventure Land Inn
Adventureland Inn Altoona, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing