We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Prompt!”
Review of Culver's

Culver's
Ranked #8 of 50 Restaurants in Altoona
Cuisines: American
Restaurant details
Bridgewater, IA
Level Contributor
77 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Prompt!”
Reviewed September 4, 2012

We ordered and were seated in minutes. Food was great! They were packed, and still got it done right!

Visited September 2012
Helpful?
Thank Keith_Bridgewater_IA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

36 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    13
    12
    9
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ankeny, Iowa
Level Contributor
527 reviews
347 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 127 helpful votes
“Overpriced”
Reviewed May 29, 2012

Culvers seems to be overpriced for what you get. The food is average but I don't see why they charge so much more than typical burger joints. I do like the butterburger concept but I can do that at home.

Visited August 2011
Helpful?
Thank Zuletzt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waverly, Iowa
Level Contributor
81 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
“It's a Culvers”
Reviewed February 10, 2012

We like Culvers. They have that Culvers food and those Culvers shakes/sundaes/combos/varieties

Visited April 2011
Helpful?
Thank Daryl'sadork
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, Washington
Level Contributor
167 reviews
78 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“The tastiest fast food burger I know”
Reviewed November 19, 2011

We, unfortunately, live in the Northeast -- which has no Culver's! So every time we head westward and we see that familiar blue sign, we have to stop for a butterburger. Hands down, this is the best fast food burger in the country. And it doesn't hurt that they have perfectly-sized custard sundaes loaded with toppings to go with them! As usual, the Altoona Culver's was staffed with smiling, friendly people. If you haven't tried their drive thru, just be aware that quality takes time and instead of paying and receiving your food immediately, you'll be asked to pull forward into a marked space to wait for a staff member to bring out your food. Oh it is well worth the wait!

  • Visited October 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank taragl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
Level Contributor
157 reviews
57 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 92 helpful votes
“We might have been really hungry, but it tasted really good!”
Reviewed July 28, 2011

It felt like this was a bit healthier than most fast food places. The burgers, fries, and custard were really good. The food was cheap (but we were in Iowa) but we enjoyed ourselves. Nice stop after leaving Adventureland on the way home.

  • Visited July 2011
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BlackJM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Culver's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing