We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“GREAT Place to Stay!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Prairie Meadows Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
Odenville, Alabama
Level Contributor
39 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
“GREAT Place to Stay!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2014

Travelling to Des Moines area often for business - recently discovered this gem! Very clean and nice - not very old. Good food and restaurant onsite so easy stay if you don't have a rental car. Gambling and horse racing for the off times. I will stay here from now on! P.S. If you are a smoker - they do have smoking rooms and it is impossible to find that anywhere near Des Moines.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank CYNDIG901
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

211 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    125
    70
    8
    5
    3
See reviews for
32
69
14
59
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (64)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Des Moines, Iowa
Level Contributor
38 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2014

I stayed at this property for one night with my wife as a part of a mini-vacation earlier this summer. We were visiting Adventureland during the day and planning to gamble and watch the horse races at night. We could not have been happier with our stay!

We arrived early and our room was not yet ready (which we anticipated since we were there at 11), so we asked to take the shuttle to Adventureland. We were told that it only runs every two hours on even hours (10, 12, 2, etc). This was mildly disappointing because we had thought that the shuttle service was an on-demand service as was advertised on the site. No big deal however, we just walked to Adventureland since it was only about a 10 minute walk.

We got back later after spending the day at Adventureland around 6 pm and by then of course our room was ready. We chose to stay in a junior suite--the rate was very reasonable at $135 as the standard room was $119 and this was on a Saturday. The suite had a sitting area with a sofa and chair, coffee table, and TV. The bedroom was in a separate room and also had a nice size TV--the two rooms were separated by the very nicely appointed bathroom and kitchenette. As is evident by the pictures on the hotel/casino's site, the rooms are very modern and nicely decorated.

We ordered room service, which was also very reasonably priced--we got a flatbread pizza and spinach artichoke dip and the bill was less than $25 before tip. The food was great and was delivered in a very short time, maybe 15 minutes. After we ate we decided to head to the casino.

The rooms are surprisingly far from the casino--it doesn't appear so from the outside but there really are a lot of rooms in this hotel. We were asked to see our IDs before entering the casino, which was no surprise, but we were also asked to finish our drinks before entering the casino which was a little unexpected. No matter, we finished them and proceeded to lose all our money.

All in all, this is a great property that I plan to visit again. Definitely recommend

Room Tip: Room upgrades are reasonably priced and worth the extra money
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrbrightside3108
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CEDAR FALLS
Level Contributor
55 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2014

We took our two kids and their families to nearby Adventureland, for a couple of nights and stayed here because of previous stays. This kid friendly place offers shuttle service right to the front gate of Adventureland park.

Room Tip: The junior suites are very nice for only a few dollars more.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Robin Or Greg C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota, Usa
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 5, 2014

We recently visited Altoona and stayed here for three nights. The hotel is great. It's not just a hotel, it's attached to a casino and a horse track. We brought our kids as Adventureland theme park is a hotel shuttle away! Lot's of fun activities for the entire family. We could see the horse track from our room so the kids loved that. Food was great. The buffet at the casino was more that reasonably priced. Rooms were clean and had a fridge. Large size to plenty of room to move around.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the track.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank bakebr18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Louis, Missouri
1 review
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 1, 2014

Stay for the AAU Jr Olympics. The room was nice and clean. staff was very nice.It was a plus being foot steps away from the casino! Enjoyed my stay here. Was kid friendly. Would definitely stay here again!

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank swilkes79
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stilwell, Kansas
Level Contributor
60 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 24, 2014

This hotel was super nice! Everything was well done and looked brand new!
I would definitely stay here again if I come back to Des Moines. I don't think you could find a nicer place to stay anywhere in town.

  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KatB60
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Glidden, Iowa
Level Contributor
26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2014

Stayed for the second time at Prairie Meadows and this was for the third of July. The room was great and floor was quiet. Bed very comfortable. Went to the horseraces and stayed for the spectacular fireworks. Wow best I've seen. Ate at the buffett and very pleased. Overall a fantastic experience.

Room Tip: If you want quick access to elevator for gambling floor get a hi number 358 was our room and only st...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Douglas52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.8 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
0.3 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#6 of 9 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 100 reviews
1.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#5 of 9 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 259 reviews
8.0 mi away
Embassy Suites by Hilton Hotel Des Moines Downtown
8.5 mi away
Hyatt Place Des Moines Downtown
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Prairie Meadows Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Prairie Meadows Hotel

Property: Prairie Meadows Hotel
Address: 1 Prairie Meadows Dr, Altoona, IA 50009-2100
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Prairie Meadows Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 168
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Come see why Prairie Meadows Casino Racetrack Hotel is Iowa's favorite place to play and stay. With more than 85,000 square feet of casino action, Prairie Meadows has every game you will want to play this side of Vegas. If you are looking for a relaxing night, kick your feet up in The Prairie Meadows Hotel. We offer contemporary rooms, impeccable service, and generous hotel amenities that include a saltwater pool, business center and airport shuttle. With a hotel so comfortable you will want to stay awhile. Looking for a new restaurant to try? Our delicious dining options are more than enough to satisfy any craving you have, from breakfast hot off the griddle to simple comfort food or even a chef-prepared entree. Check out our free entertainment in the smoke-free Finish Line Show Lounge. Our 168 room hotel has standard King rooms, Double Queen rooms, and many options of King Suites that are sure to make your stay luxurious. Book now to plan your getaway and experience a hotel unlike any other. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Prairie Meadows Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Prairie Meadows Hotel Altoona, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing