We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very dissappointed”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Comfort Inn Altoona
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Iowa
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Very dissappointed”
Reviewed March 27, 2008

Got a theme room as a result of poor quality the last time. Stayed in Mountain retreat the last time, dirty, dirty, dirty. so this time we got the suite called the Meadows, beautiful room and could be a great room if it were clean.... the room hadn't been vacuumed, dusty everywhere, don't look behind the bed! Bathroom waste basket hadn't even been emptied, (I took it down to the very NICE young man behind the desk and gave it to him, it was his first day here after being away for awhile, he was trying to check people in, washing and drying towels, baking cookies, and in general doing HIS best!)
The sheets had been changed, (we checked), the whirlpool needed to be cleaned but after we did that and we turned the jets on, the tub filled with scum.....needless to say we are done, done and done with the Settle Inn, there are many other hotels in the area that are clean and cheaper. I would NOT recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Disliked — Dirty!
  • Stayed March 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank takotah_8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

105 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    28
    16
    16
    21
See reviews for
29
32
3
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (19)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Iowa
Level Contributor
47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2008

We stayed in an extended stay room at this motel while visiting family in Des Moines. The weather was frightful with strong winds blowing the snow, creating white-out conditions. Our room was quiet and warm and included a recliner and couch. We did not try the pool. The breakfast was good. Prairie Meadows casino is across the street.

  • Liked — Location
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kokicmp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed January 1, 2008

We had a very nice stay at the Settle Inn. My husband and I stayed there for New Year's Eve. The staff was very courteous and helpful. The room was very clean and comfortable. We enjoyed the pool and spa very much. We will return again and hopefully stay in one of the theme rooms. Thank you Settle Inn for a great night.

  • Liked — The warm friendly atmosphere.
  • Disliked — Nothing
  • Stayed December 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank bluehulio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IOwa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 15, 2007

Just needed a place to sleep/crash and was dissapointed. It was convenient & cheap but not clean or sanitary! ($70 - Expedia) Stained lamp shades, dirty, dusty carpet, decaying bathtub/shower, dirty wallpaper, just gross!!! Couldn't sleep because the parking lot lights were so bright it seemed as if the sun was rising all night. My kids wouldn't believe it was time for bed. NOTa very good night of rest, should have slept in the van. The cable reception was horrible on the 20" magnavox, very dated. The place just needs to be cleaned! Stayed at Adventureland Inn the next night, still dated but very clean!!

  • Liked — proximity to Adventureland/Prairie Medows $70 rm
  • Disliked — DIRTY!
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank homemama1402
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Altoona hotels

Kalona
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 13, 2007

The staff really went above and beyond to make our stay wonderful. The beds are great. The hotel is quiet. The whirlpool is hot and relaxing. The breakfast is yummy. This is an economical place for a family to stay and enjoy.

Stayed February 2007
Helpful?
1 Thank iowakathy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SLC, UT
Level Contributor
50 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 82 helpful votes
Reviewed January 12, 2006

Stayed here January 2006. We had a regular double room where we stayed with 2 adults and 2 children.

The hotel is designed to resemble a castle and has a knight outside and a few medieval relic items in the lobby. We were disappointed that the regular rooms didn't have any castle-flair. Even the art work was a the same old generic hotel art seen everywhere. The room was appointed with the typical soap and shampoo and was very clean. Atypically, each room has a card with a nice Christian prayer written on it. Our room was near the elevator, and we could hear people talking as they walked by. Fortunately, the hotel was mostly empty and this was not much of a nuisance.

The hotel is near a casino and some sort of resort and I expect it gets pretty busy in the summer.

The room was clean and staff were acceptable, but we were not overly impressed with this hotel. It's just a regular hotel with a Knight in the front. The theme rooms looked just plain silly in the photos they had at the front desk. I just didn't get the feel that hotel management were asking staff to "raise the bar", and so I give this hotel the average/neutral rating.

  • Stayed January 2006
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ynnej
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Corning, New York
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed January 5, 2006

I attempted to stay at the Altoona, Iowa, Settle Inn in December 2005. First I called the number from the company website and was put on hold for 5 minutes. When someone answered she couldn't even give me directions to the place! We finally found it. When I told the person at the front desk that I had a dog, she told me there would be a $15 fee, and we'd have to be in a smoking room. This information was not on the hotel website. When I decided not to stay there because of the large fee and smoking room the woman at the front desk became very rude to me. There is a Motel 6 a block away that allows you to have dogs for free in a non-smoking room. So those of you with pets, avoid the Settle Inn!

  • Stayed December 2005
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank apzimm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
1.0 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
0.3 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 9 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 217 reviews
1.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#5 of 9 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
15.3 mi away
Wildwood Lodge
Wildwood Lodge
#3 of 8 in Clive
4.0 of 5 bubbles 263 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn Altoona? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn Altoona

Property: Comfort Inn Altoona
Address: 2101 Adventureland Dr, Altoona, IA 50009-9471 (Formerly Altoona Settle Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn Altoona 2.5*
Number of rooms: 67
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newly renovated Hotel. We have 67 non-smoking rooms. Indoor heated pool, free wi-fi. Breakfast which includes scrambled eggs, sausage, waffles, fruit, yogury, toast , bagels, and more. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Choice Hotels, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Comfort Inn Altoona reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Altoona Settle Hotel Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing