We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“BED BUGS!!!!”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Quality Inn & Suites
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Altoona
Reviewed June 13, 2010

Never Stay here! We found a bedbug in our bed...they refused to give a refund and after calling the state health inspectors THEY ARE STILL OPEN!!!!

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank lindy17031
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (57)
There are newer reviews for Quality Inn & Suites
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

54 - 57 of 57 reviews

Reviewed March 27, 2010

What a horrible place. It had an awful odor in the halls and entry that permeated into the room. The room, while large and orderly, was also bad news. The light in the shower/toilet area was so dim we used it as a nite lite. The water temp was scalding. I've never been in a hotel/motel that the water was so hot. The carpet and furniture were stained. The bedding was old and tattered, mattresses were soft. We were told that the continental breakfast was served from 6:30 to 9:30 AM. At 6:45 there was nothing there except the cold coffee from the day before. There was no desk clerk and the lights were off. No wonder there was only one other car in the parking lot. Others must have known what we paid to find out.

  • Stayed: March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank tmg1950
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 23, 2010

We called and tried to make reservations and the guy said there was no need for that they would have plenty of rooms! It was snowing and we was at iowa state wrestling tournaments We was going back to tournaments next day he said he only had 2 rooms left because of snow and tournaments. He was very rude and when i called him to come look at the dead roaches and flies in the room he said there was nothing he could about it the room had not been used or cleaned in a month. I told him i wanted money back and he said i would have to wait tell in the mourning. I was really nervous about getting roaches in my belongings and taking them home! I rented two rooms at 80 dollars apeice he gave me ten dollars and was very rude when i told him there was dirty soap left in the shower and dirty flours it had acoffee maker but no coffee. Went down to get coffee and juice toast or bagels at 8:30 in a.m there was none. We have stayed in a alot of hotels but couln not beleive this place could even be opened. This was the manger that checked us in the nigt before and that morning he was still there doing rooms/laundry/front desk did not see any housekeepers whats so ever!!!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank fullnelz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2010

Just calling to find out their price was a traumatic experience for my wife. She ended up in tears from talking to the owner of the hotel! She had been calling around the country all week to plan a trip for us, and when she called this place, the owner was rude to her, called her names, and hung up on her. Our plans were not set in stone, so we were trying to plan according to which place would get us the best price on which day. Well, there must be something going on the weekend we were planning on because they are sold out on that Friday. The owner first hung up on her after saying "We are sold out that day." When she called back, he told her that he said they're sold out and hung up again, before she could even finish her sentence of asking if they have anything on Thursday. She decided to try calling the next day, maybe she would get someone else that was nicer and would actually listen to her. No such luck. She called three days in a row and got the same guy. Every time she called, he recognized her voice and did the same thing to her. Finally, today, she instead asked to speak with the manager, and insisted she would only speak to him. That's when she found out the man she had been talking to was the owner of the place. When she asked him why he kept hanging up on a potential customer, he told her that they are in a very bad ice storm and the phone probably just cut out. My wife is not stupid. She knows what it sounds like for a phone to be slammed down and hung up. She told him that she knew the phone had been hung up and just wanted to know what the rate was for an alternate date and she didn't understand why he would be so rude. A simple apology might have gotten us to still go there, but he just wanted to argue and call her names. She ended up crying by the end of it. He told her he didn't care about losing her business. He said "There are other fish in the sea!" Don't get hooked by him! We certainly won't!

  • Stayed: February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jely137
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
0.6 mi away
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
1.1 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Altoona
1.5 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Super 8 Altoona
Super 8 Altoona
#7 of 10 in Altoona
119 reviews
1.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
15.4 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#6 of 10 in Altoona
274 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Quality Inn & Suites? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Quality Inn & Suites

Address: 2701 Adventureland Dr, Altoona, IA 50009-9539 (Formerly Regency Inn & Suites )
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #9 of 10 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $77 - $120 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Quality Inn & Suites 2.5*
Number of rooms: 47
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Quality Inn & Suites reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Quality Inn & Suites Altoona, Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing