We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 30, 2014

We got a decent rate booking ahead, and stayed for 3 days giving us an additional discount. Right on the backside of Adventureland, Close to many types of restaurants. A 10 minute drive to downtown Des Moines. Staff was helpful. Used the guest laundry. Pool was nothing great, but worked for the kids. Breakfast was pretty good for a hotel breakfast. Only real problem we had was with Wi-Fi, which was spotty and very slow.

Room Tip: We had a nice Double Queen deluxe room, which had a little more space than the regular rooms do. We...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank David V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Hi Dave/MissyVE,
I am so pleased to hear that your enjoyed your stay with us. Thank you for the wonderful comments on our hotel. We all love reading them. I do apologize for the issues with the WI FI. I hope you were able to use it or my staff was able to assist you with anything you needed. We look forward to seeing you and your family next time you are here in Altoona.
Thank you and have a wonderful day!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (374)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

273 - 279 of 374 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2014

On a cross country road trip this summer. I recently stayed at the Best Western Plus in Altoona, Iowa for two nights. The room was over priced for what they gave me but the real problem at this property were the employees. I had a real issue with the housekeeping maid who thought it was her job to get you up and out as soon as possible.She would start banging on the door at 10am. She never heard of a late check out and was real nasty about it. It's not her place to question it or challenge me on it. I questioned the front desk clerk as to why it was such a problem for them and they acted as if they never heard of such an unreasonable request.

The room was dirty with all furniture surfaces having a coat of dust. The large headboard bolted to the wall had enough dust on it to trigger an asthma attack. The real problem I have here is that I didn't get the quality of a stay at a better Best Western property made worse by the hostile and unprofessional attitude of the employees. They are clearly very poorly trained and have a really bad attitude. It seemed that they couldn't care less about their customers.

Best Western clearly fails to deliver on their promise of quality if you stay at one of their upgraded properties at this motel. This is a motel that should be avoided unless of course you're a masachist and enjoy being insulted and offended by unprofessional clowns trying to figure out how to run a motel. The employees here haven't the slightest idea what customer service or satisfaction is.

There is no shortage of motels to choose from in this area. Take your business to a hotel or motel that will appreciate your business and treat you like a welcome guest instead of an unwelcome intruder on their property.

Room Tip: Go to a different motel.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vagabond777
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Hello Vagabond777,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review. Please accept my apologies for the issues you had with your room and the employees during your stay. We do strive for excellent customer service here and I am sorry we didn't offer that to you. Please allow me to make this right. Call me directly anytime at the hotel. 515-967-2400.
Thank you again and have a wonderful day!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2014

Stated this location for two nights well in the Des Moines area on business. The hotel is located across the street from Adventureland amusement park, and is not far off I – 80. Hotel staff was very friendly, and although the hotel is older, they have done remodeling. They have a small indoor pool and the morning breakfast had a nice presentation. Hotel is also less than a mile away from the Prairie Meadows Casino and Horse Track.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank TIM B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Tim B,
Thank you for taking the time to let us know you enjoyed your stay with us. We are very pleased when we hear from our guests when they had a great experience. I am looking forward to seeing you next time you are in the area. Have a wonderful day!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 28, 2014

Everything at the hotel was fine except if you wanted the breakfast ,you needed to be down there quite early. They didn't refill the sausage gravy for the biscuits. The lady that was doing the breakfast acted like she didn't want to be there too much.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
1  Thank jdredskin43
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Jdredskin 43,

Thank you for your response here on Trip Advisor. I appreciate all my guests comments and concerns. I do want to apologize for the issues you encountered during breakfast. We want all our guests to be completely satisfied when leaving this hotel. I am sorry we didnt do that for you and your family. Please give me a call directly so I can do my best to make this right and we can earn your business again. Thank you and have a wonderful day!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2014

The room was clean and the staff was very friendly. My kids enjoyed their breakfast at the hotel and had fun at the pool as well. The location is perfect for our trip to Adventureland Park. I would definitely stay here again the next time we visit Des Moines.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank Kelley N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 25, 2014

Kelley N,
Thank you so much for taking the time to write a review on The Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn. I am pleased to hear you and your family had a wonderful experience here and the kids were able to enjoy the pool and breakfast as well. We look forward to seeing you next time you are in the area.
Have a wonderful day!!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2014 via mobile

Check in was a breeze...very helpful and pleasant staff. Rooms were clean and very quiet. Comfortable night's rest. Would stay again if we were passing through this way. Breakfast was good and well stocked.

Stayed: July 2014, traveled with friends
Thank sandyhoff91
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Sandyhoff91- Thank you for the awesome review on our hotel here at the Best Western PLUS. Excellent customer service is what we strive for here and I am so happy we were able to do that for you. The breakfast room gets pretty busy here and I know it can be quite crowded with limited space, but we always try to make sure everyone leaves full and happy. I look forward to taking care of you and yours when you are traveling to the area.
Have a great day!!!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2014

This is the first time that my husband and I have stayed in this or any other Best Western. We would stay again. The front desk service was prompt and courteous. Very small lobby. Room was clean and there were plenty of pillows. Carpets need to be cleaned.

  • Stayed: July 2014, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western
Thank schupjo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at Best Western Plus Altoona Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 22, 2014

Thank you so much for taking time out to write your review Schupjo!!!
I can't tell you enough how much I love hearing all the wonderful comments on my front desk staff. And am so pleased you will stay here again with us next time you are in the area. Have a wonderful day!!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Altoona hotels
2 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.6 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Des Moines Altoona
0.7 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#2 of 11 in Altoona
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
1 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 11 in Altoona
5 reviews
0.3 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#7 of 11 in Altoona
276 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Plus Altoona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Plus Altoona Inn

Address: 300 34th Ave NW, Altoona, IA 50009-2639 (Formerly BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 11 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range: $82 - $117 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Best Western Plus Altoona Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Best Western, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Plus Altoona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Altoona Hotel Altoona
Heartland Hotel Altoona
Best Western Plus Altoona Inn Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing