We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
GreenLeadersBronze level
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Good place to stay”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2013

No hotel name on the building, entrance, parking lot. It was the only building around so we guessed it. I guess there is one for freeway. Very convenient location. Service is very good. Cookies and popcorns are good service.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank 062445
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We appreciate you taking the time to post a review on your stay with us. Please except my apologies regarding the confusion with only the one sign. We are happy to were able to enjoy the popcorn and cookies we offer in the evenings from 5 to 7pm. We look forward to seeing you in the future.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

323 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    164
    76
    54
    14
    15
See reviews for
114
57
13
107
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Norwegian first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 9, 2013 via mobile

My family and I were on our way home from SD to NJ. Enjoyed staying here. Room was very comfortable and free morning breakfast was excellent. Would love to stay at this place again. I would advise my friends to also stay here when traveling in this area. Service is excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank mrnavy2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
We are so happy to hear you enjoyed your stay with us. The staff here strive to give excellent customer service. I am pleased to hear that they could do this for you. We hope your long journey home was a safe one and hope to see you again when you are driving through.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 6, 2013

Fair but overpriced. Breakfast area very small but rooms were quiet. Might stay again. area seems to have overpriced accomodations. Friendly staff. Not bad but I would shop around. Parking free and adequate.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post a review on your stay with us at our hotel. We appreciate hearing from all of our guests. I apologize for the small breakfast room but hope you were able to find the breakfast items delicious. I would like to to turn your "might stay again", into a "I would definitely stay here again"!! Please contact me directly at the hotel to make this happen. I look forward to hearing from you.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Iowa
Level Contributor
24 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Our stay was pretty good. The beds were comfy, great location right across the street from Adventureland Park. (Some folks walked across.) The breakfast was average, once again small breakfast area, but it was ok. I guess my biggest complaint is that the bathroom was crazy small! When you have family trying to hang towels, adding toiletries, laundry, curling iron, flat iron, etc, it is very small! Also the bathroom door didn't lock. The pool area is also crazy small and wow does it echo in there! The tile floor gets very slippery right near the entrance, witnessed a fall or two. They need a better way to make people aware or try to remedy this, instead of a giant orange cone.
Other than that, staff was nice and helpful. We would stay here again. If you want pizza, order from the Casey's just down the road!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DMichelle312
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to post your review about our hotel. We appreciate all of your feedback. I am pleased you enjoyed your stay here with the exception of the small bathroom. We do offer a Deluxe room which does have a bigger bathroom and more space in the room. We look forward to your return in the future!!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
United States
1 review
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 3, 2013

Floor was so dirty that our socks and/or feet were black after taking our shoes off for just a few minutes. The pool tasted gross, as if they hadn't used chemicals in it for months. Service staff was excellent.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Nathan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 17, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to express your thoughts and concerns regarding your recent stay with us. Here at Best Western we rely on you, the guest, to let us know how we are doing and how we can better meet your needs. I have taken note and want to thank you again for all your comments. Please except my aplogies regarding your guest room. I would like to earn your business and trust back with us. Please contact me directly at the hotel to come up with a resolution. I look forward to hearing from you!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sioux City, Iowa, USA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 2, 2013

Very nice hotel, quiet, clean. No complaints at all! Definitely would recommend this hotel to anyone. It is a little pricier than some but the location and the quality make it worthwhile. Breakfast was good but extremely busy due to the fact that the hotel was quite full but the line moved quickly. We ended up taking our food to the room to eat but that was ok.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank MAUREEN G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for your wonderful comments regarding your stay with us. We appreciate all of our guests feedback that is given to us. I do apologize for the small breakfast room, but hopefully you were able to enjoy some of the terrific food that was available for you. We look forward to seeing you in the future!
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richton
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 30, 2013

This is a very quiet and peaceful motel, service is good and plenty of restaurants in short drive. I recommend Jethro's BBQ about 1 mile away from motel. Also, shopping center just blocks away. Front desk staff is very helpful in directing you to what you need

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Best Western

Helpful?
Thank Eddie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BWManagers, General Manager at BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn, responded to this review, October 18, 2013
Thank you for taking the time to give us such a great review. Jethro's BBQ is one of my favorite places to send people. And the shopping centers are always a nice touch too! I am happy to hear it was a nice and peacful stay for you and look forward to seeing you when you are in the area again.
Robyn Smith- General Manager Best Western PLUS Altoona Inn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Altoona
0.8 mi away
Prairie Meadows Hotel
Prairie Meadows Hotel
#1 of 9 in Altoona
4.5 of 5 bubbles 214 reviews
1.0 mi away
Comfort Inn Altoona
Comfort Inn Altoona
#6 of 9 in Altoona
3.0 of 5 bubbles 103 reviews
2.2 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.1 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Altoona - Des Moines
0.5 mi away
Adventureland Inn
Adventureland Inn
#5 of 9 in Altoona
3.5 of 5 bubbles 260 reviews
3.8 mi away
Sleep Inn & Suites
Sleep Inn & Suites
#1 of 1 in Pleasant Hill
4.0 of 5 bubbles 74 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn

Property: BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn
Address: 300 34th Ave NW, Altoona, IA 50009 (Formerly Heartland Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Iowa > Altoona
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 9 Hotels in Altoona
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 85
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Best Western, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, getaroom.com and HotelQuickly so you can book your BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Altoona Hotel Altoona
Heartland Hotel Altoona
BEST WESTERN PLUS Altoona Inn Iowa

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing