We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good quality, good value” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Cheddar's

Cheddar's
Ranked #16 of 97 Restaurants in Avon
Cuisines: American, Bar, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Families with children
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Highchairs Available, Parking Available, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
West Lafayette
Level Contributor
392 reviews
228 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Good quality, good value”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2013

We've eaten here twice, each time with our elderly mothers and early for lunch. The restaurant is attractive and well-maintained. The stone and copper used outside, the stone and tasteful interior design (large fish tank and ceiling fans are attention-getters) set Cheddar's apart from similar casual restaurants. The staff seem well-trained, helpful, and efficient. We were seated in quieter corner booths each time to accommodate our mothers' hearing problems. The chicken pot pie was a hit with our group, with a large salad and crescent roll, ample and tasty pot pie. I've had the grilled salmon and the catfish sandwich. They're all good quality and a good value.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Mack3065
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

112 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    30
    41
    18
    15
    8
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Plainfield, Indiana
Level Contributor
279 reviews
185 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 72 helpful votes
“Great value.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013 via mobile

Great restaurant, excellent food, reasonable prices and HUGE portions. Most evenings will have a wait but they turn over quickly. Can't miss.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Charley C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Avon, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
31 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

We love this restaurant!! The first time we ate at a Cheddars was in Tamarac, Florida with our son and daughter-in-law. The menu was great and the food was awesome! Now every time we visit them we have to go back to Cheddars.
We were so happy when they finally opened a Cheddars in Avon. The service is great, and the food is fabulous. The parking lot usually looks full, but we have never had a long wait to be seated.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
Thank Sue N Matt A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Level Contributor
28 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“3 and sliding”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 17, 2013

When this place opened I was excited. Cheddars had a place here years ago but had burned own and they didn't rebuild. After just opening the food and service was excellent. All the talent that you would expect In a staff of a restaurant that had just open. But on my last two trips the food has been sub par and the service even worse than the food. Management better find a way to fix it before its too late.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank DPennington
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
“Worst service ever!”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

Was seated very quickly but had to wait for over 10 minutes before we was greeted by our server and the place was not busy. There was food all over the floor, some food was served cold and steaksauce was not served even after it was offered to us. Salad was suppose to come with roll and that never came either. For having so many servers walking around with nothing to do, our service should have been superior! In the future, we will spend our money elsewhere.

  • Visited March 2013
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank Erin M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cheddar's also viewed

 

Been to Cheddar's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing