We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ok but.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Hilliard, Ohio
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
“Ok but.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 27, 2009

The hotel staff were very friendly. Room was clean but has a musty smell. Surprising quite Sat. night stay.

  • Stayed April 2008, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Bioman007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

72 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    18
    16
    17
    8
    13
See reviews for
22
11
5
19
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
state college, pa
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 13, 2008

I've stayed here many times, going back to 2005; the most recent (and last) time was in July 2007. When I first started going, the place was like new...rooms were very clean and quiet and everything worked great. The basic but good continental breakfast, the cleanliness and location for the races made this place a very good value. After the first year, the price for race weekends went up $25/day, and this trend continued. Meanwhile, quality worsened. Each time the place seemed more run down than the last, and the once decent breakfast became a joke. Little things like too few towels for the number of people became the norm (happened at least two different times). All in all, this hotel is much more expensive than just a few years ago and the value for the dollar has plummeted.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — quality/price ratio
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank psupiller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Avon hotels

Germantown, Tennessee
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 18, 2008

I stayed here for 4 nights over Labor Day weekend for the US Nationals. Extremely nice for a Super 8 property, so a few weeks after my stay I booked it for 2008. Its close to Raceway Park and there are plenty of restaurants and retail stores in the area. I wish all Super 8's were this nice, if they were I'd book nowhere else

  • Liked — Clean and convinent
  • Disliked — nothing
  • Stayed August 2007, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kerry38138
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 14, 2007

As stated in another review....no frills but OK. Marginal breakfast offerings. The bathroom fixtures need detailed cleaning but the room seemed clean enough overall. I slept good. Biggest problem was being charged more than the price that was quoted when I reserved the room. $74 one person, N/S king on a Wednesday night.

  • Liked — Big enough room
  • Disliked — bathroom sink fixtures not very clean
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank wunder1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Level Contributor
107 reviews
63 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 28, 2007

Booked a stay at this hotel thru the Super 8 website for 2 nights over the Brickyard 400 weekend. This hotel is about 7 miles from the Indianapolis Motor Speedway and is only a couple miles south of Indianapolis Raceway Park. Its not too hard at all to get to IRP if you're good with directions. As for the hotel, yes, it was overpriced for this weekend, but almost all hotels in Indy this weekend are. Our room was pretty good size with a King bed and recliner. There is a breakfast area in the lobby with minimal breakfast choices. There is also an indoor pool, but no hot tub, no fitness room and no lobby internet. My wife was miffed that the pool didn't open until 10 am, so you can't take a morning swim if you plan on checking out that same day as check out time is the typical 11 am. This hotel is on a bit of a "strip" where there is abundant restaurants within 2 miles or so. We paid roughly $140/ night for this weekend, but I'm guessing this is a $60-$70/ night type of hotel normally. All in all, not too terribly bad.

  • Liked — dining within area
  • Disliked — price
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank Walby
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 26, 2005

This is a relatively new, and pleasantly [albeit not extravagantly or lavishly] appointed hotel. I would say it is an excellent $60 a night hotel, but alas it went for $85 a night when I stayed there last weekend. The room was clean and the A/C excellent. The area for breakfast is small with only 3 tables and the fare was likewise a little thin. Staff was helpful and courteous. Xeroxed me a map to help me find the track. I did not use the pool so I cannot comment on that. The room was quiet, but you could occasionally hear the pounding of feet on the stairwells near my room although this was not a big deal. Lots and lots of good restaurants nearby from fast food to an Irish pub. Just a short drive of maybe 5-7 miles to the Indy Raceway Park complex [Not the indianapolis Motor Speedway which is a little further away]. I have no complaints about the hotel except that on these mid-level chains I wish someone would explain to them that towels should be more than paper thin, and plush would be a plus that a traveler would remember. A recliner or overstuffed chair and ottoman in the room would be nice too. I would stay here again, but maybe push them for a better/lower rate.

  • Stayed July 2005
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2004

I went here for a pool party it was not like I expected it to be I thought the service was horrible.The pool was digusting do not go to this hotel if you want to have fun,because it's not fun at all

Helpful?
7 Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
super8avon, General Manager at Comfort Inn, responded to this review, January 20, 2010
Our pool has been re-decked and had a new liner applied. I am glad to say that the Local Health Department as well as an outside water testing laboratory has had no reason to shut down the pool long term in my tenure. Our guest service scores and helpfulness of front desk scores are currently well above brand average. Not every hotel stay goes according to plan, but if it is listing local attractions and coupons on our Facebook page, or making sure you get to a world class event on time, we are about fun and hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Avon
0.9 mi away
Fairfield Inn & Suites Indianapolis Avon
6.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites Indianapolis W - Airport Area
6.1 mi away
Wingate By Wyndham Indianapolis Airport-Rockville Rd.
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
6.1 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Plainfield/ Indianapolis Arpt Area
6.9 mi away
Comfort Suites
Comfort Suites
#2 of 4 in Brownsburg
4.5 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
5.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN Airport Suites
BEST WESTERN Airport Suites
#91 of 178 in Indianapolis
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 8229 US. Hwy. 36 East, Avon, IN 46123 (Formerly Super 8 Indianapolis Raceway Park Avon)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Indiana > Avon
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Avon
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 57
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Comfort Inn Avon is ideally located off of I-465 and Rockville Road/US 36 in Avon, minutes from Lucas Oil Raceway Park and the Indianapolis Motor Speedway. Conveniently located near the Indianapolis International Airport, Indianapolis Zoo, Lucas Oil Stadium, Banker's Life Fieldhouse, White River State Park, Circle Centre Mall, Indianapolis Childrens Museum, Indiana Convention Center, and all that downtown Indianapolis has to offer. Close to Hendricks County Fairgrounds and within walking distance of shopping and restaurants. We pride ourselves on superior Guest Service and offer clean rooms at an affordable price. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Choice Hotels, Orbitz and Priceline so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Super 8 Avon
Super Eight Avon
Avon Super Eight
Avon Super 8

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing