We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“NOT Customer Friendly”

Campshore Campground
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Aurora
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Campshore Campground
Reviewed September 6, 2012

"Positively No Refunds" reads their receipt, and they mean it. A quiet night's sleep is not to be had here.

Even if, at midnight, one of the homesteaders in the campground is still playing Johnny Cash loud enough to raise the dead, and a phone call to the campground management only results in the music being lowered to slightly deafening, don't expect a reasonable and fair resolution to a missed night's sleep.

Management watched us pack and leave, but still did nothing to quiet the music, nor to address our repeated request for a refund.

  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank James S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (13)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

9 - 13 of 13 reviews

Reviewed June 24, 2012

Such a nice area, spoilt by cruelty, I would not stay again, as money spent here is promoting behaviour that is totaly unacceptable in this day and age. Not a place for children or decent people to be around, very sad as the area has now been ruined, I can never feel the same again about this part of the country.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
11  Thank Jacqueline T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 17, 2012

My review of this site is ok for scenery yet not ok as a tourist attraction for children. The anual Snapper Fest event is being held there again. This August. To be fair I will not be taking my children back to this camp. I was thinking of it again but just saw more reviews. I have also been in contact with with the camp owner and he has said that the event will be going ahead again this August. The camp is ok apart from this. Animal cruelty I will not allow my children to see anymore.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
12  Thank Josaphine V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2012

This place is amazing and fun for the whole family. No rednecks anywhere, no trash anywhere. The person below is another misinformed PETA person with more deep rooted problems than not liking this place. I would camp here and recommend it to anyone, its is flat out beautiful here, very clean, the staff is courteous and responsive. I cant wait to get back and enjoy the fun in the sun at Campshore Campgrounds....The annual SnapperFest Event is coming up soon and is sure to be a big hit for everyone, cant wait to take the family to see this event, BTW these turtles are not hurt in ANY way, they are marked and released, many have been caught years later proving that these turtles are not tortured to death. The event is NOT cruel to animals, but a person COULD easily lose a finger as snapping turtles jaws are anazingly powerful. I am here to tell you, do NOT believe everything PETA has to say, they are very good at twisting the truth to fit their agenda. PETA hacked Campshore's website last year which makes me think that PETA stands for People Encouraging Terrorist Actions,

Room Tip: The river view lots are spectacular
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank Tony D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 21, 2011

Campshore is one of the best campgrounds to stay at. The people are very friendly. It feels like your in the comfort of your own home. Snapperfest Is one event you DO NOT want to miss. It's crazy, down home, redneck fun which you can't get anywhere else.

Room Tip: Respect the authority. Don't bad mouth..or stir any problems.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Zayne S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Campshore Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Campshore Campground

Address: 8548 State Road 56, Aurora, IN 47001-9663
Location: United States > Indiana > Aurora
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Specialty Lodging in Aurora
Number of rooms: 10

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing