We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Local Watering Hole with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of mad anthony's

mad anthony's
Ranked #3 of 48 Restaurants in Auburn
Cuisines: American, Bar, International, Pub
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Large groups, Bar scene, Families with children, Kids
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Full Bar, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Bay City, Michigan
Level Contributor
42 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“A Local Watering Hole with Great Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 2, 2014

Planned a return visit after reading a review that complained about my favorite Cuban sandwich....afraid the recipe had changed. Very Happy that it's as good as ever! The fresh made pub chips are great to order to share as you get a generous portion that lasts till your meal arrives. The beer is well worth a visit alone with locally brewed beer! Great food made with high quality ingredients. It's located in an old interesting building, look up to see the restored ceiling. Some seasonal events with music that form a line out front to get in but normally not as busy so you can get a table fast. The menu is always interesting with so many items you can get nowhere else in town or even in that part of Indiana.

A more recent addition is locally farmed fish from over by South Bend. I had read about the fish farm so wanted to try the fish. Really enjoyed it even for someone who grew up on the Saginaw Bay eating fish caught myself several times a week.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Julie E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

127 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    53
    47
    17
    9
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Louisville, Kentucky
Level Contributor
62 reviews
41 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Good food bad music”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2014 via mobile

We found this place while we were looking for a nice dinner. The grooper sandwich was great and everyone seemed to be having a good time. Someone though loud music was a good idea and it spoiled the evening. I did not see anyone who seemed to be enjoying it. Good food but not worth the music

Helpful?
Thank Leonard D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
NE Indiana
Level Contributor
37 reviews
35 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Year End - "Intermezzo"”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Invite my 77yo. B-I-L to a early evening dinner at this well respected watering hole. Without consult we both placed our order for breaded tenderloin sandwich; he with a cup of chicken soup and me with German potato salad. We decided to wash it down with a pint of their version of a "classic Irish Stout" - which it was. Amanda couldn't have been more gracious as we're both "hard of hearing" and she was very helpful in a some what noisy enviornment. Food was outstanding and that's a lot to say as the "breaded tenderloin" is a State staple.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Vetvet
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Wayne, Indiana, United States
Level Contributor
16 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“An old favorite”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

If Henry's is busy and you are downtown, this is the place. Great beer, munchies food and music. The place is old but the atmosphere is worth a try.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Richard W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auburn, Indiana, USA
1 review
“Nice for dinner.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013 credit card Amex Card Member Review

As a local, i normally meet here with friends roughly twice a month. The service is usually good, and the food is usually very good. There are local beers on tap. The prices are a little steep compared to some of the competition. There is a lot of variety on the menu.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Shaun P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to mad anthony's? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing