We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Best Western Plus Anderson
Nearby Hotels
$68
$58
QualityInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$47
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Comfort Inn(Anderson)
$59
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$82
HIExpress.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$99
Fairfield Inn
View Deal
$58
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$41
$35
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$53
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$129
Hampton.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (374)
Filter reviews
374 results
Traveler rating
175
97
51
22
29
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
175
97
51
22
29
Show reviews that mention
All reviewscracker barrelwould stay here againexcellent stayhot breakfastpool and hot tubroom was cleanexcellent breakfastwafflesgreat place to staypleasant stayfront desk staffin townbusiness tripvery nice hotelking bedbiscuitseasy access
Filter
Updating list...
338 - 343 of 374 reviews
Reviewed September 7, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a week on business. On first impression, the hotel is nicely decorated in a modern style with new furniture, and the front desk staff is friendly. The breakfast food was warm and adequate, with a selection of scrambled eggs, pastries, fruit and oatmeal. However, the hotel room could have been cleaner. The carpet in my room was not vacuumed before I arrived. There were large crumbs, a clothing tag, and what looked like toenail clippings scattered about between the two Queen beds. The furniture was dusty and there were large stains on the beds' dust ruffles and decorative pillows. It was late at night and I was tired, so I did not complain to the front desk about the cleanliness. Although I liked the fashionable decor and the friendly front desk staff, I will probably not stay at this hotel again because the lack of cleanliness concerned me.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank MinnesotanTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Anderson, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

Thank you for your response! I always say to my guests that you all are truly the eyes and ears of our hotel. I have used this feedback to furthur train my housekeeping staff on guest expectations, as well as our company's expectations of cleanliness. I do apologize for the lack of attention to detail during your visit, and will strive to ensure no other guests experience such issues. All I can ask is for a second chance to win you over as our valued guest. Please give us the chance to redeem ourselves next time you are in the Anderson, IN area.

Sincerely,

Michael Hubbard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 20, 2012

This is a weird hotel to review.
Where to start??!!

The Staff:
This place is very casual. No one wears uniforms and you never really know who works there and who is just hanging out talking to their friend that works there!
It's totally unprofessional and a little strange, but I will say that the people we talked to were all very friendly and talkative.

The Room:
Bed was clean but the room overall needed a good cleaning!! Windows were dirty, carpet was dirty, huge spider webs behind the curtains and near the a/c.
Tons of dust on top of the headboard and I don't think the vacuumed the floor for a while!
The bathroom was OK... didn't give me that 'just cleaned' feeling tho.
We only had 2 towels in our room when we checked in?! Had to call to get the rest of the towels that were missing!
The room was very quiet the whole 5 days we were there.

Service:
One day we put the "Please Clean" sign on the door and threw all our dirty towels in a pile. We were gone all day and didn't get back until 1am. When we got back the pile was still there and our room hadn't been touched.
Had to call the front desk to get towels. Someone brought us new towels but he was talking on his cell phone the whole time. ... Like I said, the staff is very 'casual'. Just don't expect professional service and then you wont have a problem!

The Breakfast:
Was a nice touch but it wasn't that good. We tried it one morning since it was included, but didn't go back after the first day. Biscuits were pretty good. The make your own waffles look way better than they taste!
The guy stocking and cooking the food wasn't in uniform either. It just didn't seem very clean or well done.

Location:
The location is great. Not much in Anderson (but a lot more than in the even smaller nearby city we were visiting) ........... Cracker Barrel is across the parking lot. Steak N Shake, White Castle and Waffle House are just across the street and Target, Walmart and Hobby Lobby are very close by as well as many other restaurants!

All in all this place is OK for the price. It was pretty cheap booking online $81 weekends and $63 weekdays. Pretty cheap.
Just don't expect too much! They really need to work on their housekeeping in the rooms and the entire property............ everything is a little dirty and grimy!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank westcoastim
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Anderson, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

I am pleased to say that these comments greatly helped this hotel move forward from a very casual time period to a much more professional property! As with any feedback, I always use the guest's comments to properly train the staff members in each department. With this particular review, we clearly saw that we had quite a bit of retraining to do. We met with each department and discussed the value of attending to our guest's needs as they arise, as well as maintaining a professional demeanor while on property. I believe it is essential that cleanliness comes first above everything in our industry, so we completed an all-staff training session on continued cleaning throughout the hotel. We also worked with housekeeping on daily additional cleaning items to ensure that all of the "little things", or easily "forgotten" areas in a guest room are just as important to us as the beds and bathrooms that are most used. Please contact me directly if you find yourself in the Anderson, IN area for another visit as I would love to invite you to try us out again!

Sincerely,

Michael Hubbard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 30, 2012

The facility it's self appeared to be nice, the staff is "a whole nother story"!!
To start I had 3 elderly family members kicked out of the hotel because when they checked in thursday evening, the room wasn't clean, beds unmade & dirty towels on the floor. They went down the street to the Holiday Inn, I wish I had!!!!
I got there Friday, 2 nights I was there, only one person wore some type of uniform. The rest wore t-shirts and faded jeans or what ever they found on the closet floor, no name tags or anything to establish that they worked there, they all looked like teens! They did not give a greeting upon arrival but instead said "hold on"!! I got to hear the morning desk clerk yelling at her family over the phone (while standing at the front desk). They were witnessed by several people publicly showing affection to one another.
A teenager with 2 toned hair, a pink t-shirt and jeans (no name tag) just walked into my room (no knock), then asked if I wanted my room cleaned. I asked her why they didn't wear uniforms, she said "sometimes we do but we mostly wear what we want". After she finished "CLEANING THE ROOM", I didn't have enough towels (1 bath towel & 2 floor mats), 2 wash clothes! The bath tub was not clean, floor not vaccumed or swept, cups and coffee not replinished, ect....
Now for the "HOT BREAKFAST", powdered eggs, dried biscuts & sausage gravy, canned fruit, pre-frozen dounuts & muffins!! Oh, one morning they had apples!! Waffle iron broke the whole time.
NOT WHAT WAS ADVERTISED IN THEIR OWN HOTEL GUIDE BOOK ON THE DESK IN THE ROOM.
Best Western need to check them, they have given the chain a black eye with this expirence!!!!

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MsB063
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestand, Manager at Best Western Plus Anderson, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We are very sorry your visit was less than pleasant . Unfortunately the only time a guest here is asked to leave it's due to either abuse of employees or non payment . We do try our very best to accommodate everyone and make everyone feel as if they are at home with us . Most of our guests include business trips, family vacations or just for a restful night after a long drive . So any guests outbursts and unsavory language will not be tolerated as our goal here is to make everyone's stay here a pleasant one . Our policy is to correct any problems quickly as possible but anything takes cooperation from both parties. We do humbly respect everyones opinion so thank you and have a wonderful day .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

We stayed at this property over the weekend. Pluses: the room was very large and comfortable. The laundry room, ice machine, free Internet and microwave really came in handy. Negatives: The room ended up being super noisy. We were on the second floor in the room nearest to the drive up lobby. One of the employees had a motor scooter that was REALLY loud during the night (they parked it right under our window). Some guests arrived in the middle of the night with a very boisterous family that woke us up. (You haven't lived until you see some 10 year old boys doing pull ups on the luggage trolly and yelling at midnight ). Finally, the breakfast was very limited and did not include bacon or sausage. However, for $80ish a night, it is probably worth the value.

  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank LKHS08
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bestwestand, Manager at Best Western Plus Anderson, responded to this reviewResponded August 10, 2012

We humbly apologize for the noise if we have groups staying with us we give them a curfew . We do appreciate your business and hope that a return visit with us you will find more pleasant thank you and have a great day!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 27, 2012

We spent around a week at Best western. It was a good place. Enjoyed the breakfast. The room was clean and there wasn't any noise from the kids around. A couple of things they need to work on to make it excellent. We were in room 238. it had a bit of a smell. We kept the door open for a couple of hours and it was gone but it seems the AC brings that smell. The desk is right by the AC so you cant sit on it and work with the AC blasting on your head. It took them a couple of days to catch on that there is 4 of us in the room so we need 4 towels of each size. Although we told them a couple of times. The toilette doesn't flush properly. So most of the issues I guess were in particular to this room so avoid it. And we didn't ask for another room so we accepted to live with it.

Room Tip: Avoid room 238 unless they fix the toilete and the AC smell
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chadi M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michael H, General Manager at Best Western Plus Anderson, responded to this reviewResponded October 3, 2012

I wanted to personally thank you for the feedback you gave my property! Although I do apologize for the odor in room 238 during your stay, it sounds like the week long stay left you with several positive thoughts about our property. I can ensure you that 238 is in ultimate shape now and odor free! As well as the other 66 of 67 rooms here at the Best Western Plus in Anderson, IN. Thank you for bringing these important details to our attention, and we hope to see you again on your next trip to the area!

Sincerely,

Michael Hubbard

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews