We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good eats, loud, neighorhood class”

Ritos Mexican Restaraunt
Ranked #111 of 300 Restaurants in Aurora
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Dining on a budget
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
37 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Good eats, loud, neighorhood class”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 1, 2013

Agree with weird vibe...took a bit to get orders in, but service was better after that. And food came fast. Had Ritos Combo dinner. Chili releno was good rest average to good. The refried beans actually made the visit worth it. NOMM! Drink specials rock too. Very decent 27 ounce sangria. I'll return when time is crunched since it is closeby for me.

  • Visited May 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank kilouie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

31 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    7
    13
    5
    2
    4
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Bet Mexican in town”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

Rito and his staff are always friendly. Food is authentic and fantastic margarita's.. Go on Thursday when they are on special

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank lmoss65
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
32 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Authentic Mexican Food!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 21, 2013 via mobile

We have been to Rito's quite a few times and have never been disappointed. Their steak is amazing tender and very tasty. There pollo en salsa guajillo is amazing it comes with potatoes and a very generous amount. My kids have had the tacos and stated they are yummy. Overall great value for your buck.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Proudmomde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Awesome Mexican food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2012

Although the service can be sketchy at times the food is excellent and worth the wait. The fresh made guacamole is simple and divine. The wait staff are all friendly and try their best.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Brian W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dwight, Illinois, United States
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Great mexican food and Great Margaritas!!!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 10, 2012

I have to say that i was very suprised by how good this place was. Its curbside appeal seemed like some little stripmall looking place with maybe 10 tables in it. BUt once i entered i was very suprised how much room was on the inside. With that said I gave this resturant a 4 outta 5 for overall rating and the reason is simply because the waiters took awhile to come back to our table of 8 and so basically we waited longer then average for service but they made up for that with their kindness and delicious food! Below is how i ranked each area of the resturant. Again everyones experience is different and im just stating my opinion of the resturant.

Atmosphere- Not too much on the inside really shows its a mexican resturant except for the music and the staff. Smells delicious the minute you walk in. THe lighting is on the dimmer side which makes it relaxing for sure.

Staff- Very very friendly staff. Always smiling and being very polite to the customers.

Service- Kind of slow at times. We waited for awhile to order our dinners but at least the salsa and chips held us over. As well as the margaritas.

Food- The food was amazing. The minute i took a bite i totally forgot how long i waited to order. Very very delicious. The taste was amazing and if you like some spicy food they had some sauce to help. Best mexican food ive had in ages so i must say it made up for any wait we had. If you have a serious appetite then the chimy will definlty put you up to the test. I had the chimy with beans and rice, and with an enchilada. The chimy put me down. lol.

Drinks- Margaritas were fantastic!!!!!!!!!!!! And very well priced too! I have no complaints at all in this category. 1 regular size and i could feel the buzz kicking in. I stopped after that one! LOL.

Overall i definlty enjoyed the resturant and i will definilty recommend this place to any of my friends or family. Looks arent everything so don't let the curbside appearance push you away because the minute you walk in, they prove they are there for a reason.

  • Visited September 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Daniel E
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Ritos Mexican Restaraunt also viewed

 

Been to Ritos Mexican Restaraunt? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing