We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“One of the best dining experiences you will ever have” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Chef Amaury's - CLOSED

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Chef Amaury's
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Waitstaff
Restaurant details
Dining options: Dinner, Highchairs Available, Reservations, Waitstaff
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“One of the best dining experiences you will ever have”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 1, 2013

My wife and I have been going here for several years now. Chef Amaury has one of the best places I have ever dined at. The food is great. he selects local ingredients and the fish and meat that he brings in tops almost every place I have been to. The 5 course tasting menu is the way to go when you dine there. Also, we have had many great wines as the chef's wine list is great.

This is a must visit to when your looking for a great place to eat.

  • Visited November 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Aaron F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

25 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    16
    5
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Aurora, Illinois
Level Contributor
25 reviews
16 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Don't miss this one!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

Hubby and I have been going here for several years. Have never met anyone more passionate about food than Amaury! He frequently explains the menu to your table personally. Ingredients are local and the highest quality. We get the 5 course tasting menu and are always delighted. Never miss the molten chocolate cake for dessert, though all the selections are great. I don't usually eat seafood but enjoy it when it's prepared by Chef Amaury!

  • Visited August 2012
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank gk b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
IL
Level Contributor
138 reviews
81 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
“Tasteful Gourmet...”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 8, 2012 via mobile

The food was prepared by the chef who visits each table. He cares about his customers and prepares food in a sustainable manner. The menu changes with the availability of ingredients. Worth a visit.

    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
1 Thank GoinPlaces63
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aurora, IL
Level Contributor
14 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Great Food, Service and Atmosphere”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2012

We went to Chef Amaury's and were walk ins. Warm welcome, great wine and beer list. I started with a salad that I cant quite recall what it was but it was fabulous. I never had anything quite like it- only complaint is that I wanted more. I followed this with the Hanger steak. Not my favorite cut but it was prepared flawlessly. My wife opted for a carrot ginger soup, and a Pork tenderloin. She enjoyed it immensly. Although the menu was limited it was all wonderful. Chef Amaury's is "as advertised" and definitely worth going. Aurora needs more places like this!

Visited August 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank Jesse V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
USA
Level Contributor
29 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
“A real GOURMET restaurant in Aurora!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 14, 2011

My wife and I have been joined by friends now for over a half-dozen wonderful dinners at this outstanding and dependable restaurant. Not only is there a good variety of appetizers and entrees but each is skillfully, inventively prepared and presented. The four-to-six of us dinning together normally order a variety of items and exchange tasting portions. Yesterday evening the four of us, at a table outside in the back, shared a good bottle of wine (New Zealand Sauvignon Blanc) and ordered steak, pasta, pork chop and salmon, each served with a wonderful complementary side. After tasting we remarked that, even though a wide range of tastes, we each enjoyed everything we tried. This restaurant is highly recommended - you won't be disappointed!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
3 Thank jomoUsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing