We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (17)
Filter reviews
17 results
Traveler rating
10
5
1
1
0
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
10
5
1
1
0
See what travelers are saying:
Filter
Updating list...
6 - 11 of 17 reviews
Reviewed June 22, 2013

The place was quiet, clean, beautiful yard and close to downtown. The guest house is a separate structure from the owners home. There is an upstairs area for one family and a second area downstairs for a second family. The kitchen area is a shared space. The neighborhood is quiet and fairly new. We were the only family staying here during our time, which was nice.

Room tip: Beds on the first floor were very firm. Beds upstairs were softer
Date of stay: June 2013
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We can recommend Marsha's without reservation. We were lucky enough to book the morning of the night we wanted to stay - what a find! From taking the booking to the time with left Marsha's care for us was excellent. Her interest in gardening and arts made us feel we were staying with a friend. The real unexpected treat was for Jeff and his barber quartet to arrive and give us a private performance.

Located in a quiet street, we had a very restful night before continuing on our way.

Date of stay: May 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ITCHINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Marsha's Vineyard at the end of April 2012 in the lovely Amish town of Arthur, Illnois. We received a very warm welcome from Jeff and Marsha who are probably the most warm and generous couple we have ever met. They greeted us like long-lost friends and we were touched by the warmth of their welcome. They gave great recommendations about things to do and places to go. The bedroom we stayed in was large and spotlessly clean. It is very stylishly decorated - and is separate from the main house, giving space and privacy. It was a lovely cosy room, with sofa and soft seating - with an adjoining kitchen and ensuite. I cannot recommend Marsha's Vineyard highly enough. Our visit to Arthur Illinois was one of the major highlights of our trip across Route 66 and much of this is due to Marsha and Jeff. Thank you so much!

Date of stay: April 2012
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We especially liked that we had the place to ourselves and that the garden room was on the 1st floor. We had plenty of room to sort out our suitcases as we had been on the road for two weeks. Many B&B's that we stayed at were upstairs, so we would leave our large cases in the trunk and take what we needed each night. Because we were leaving for the airport the next morning the place made it easier for us to pack. Besides that, the bed was comfortable and the rooms clean. Marsha was very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was good and a variety to choose from. Cold and instant hot cereals, assorted fruit, yogurt, orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, and two kinds of fresh baked pastries made by the.Amish. Don't know if we will ever again visit Southern Illinois. If we do, we'll stay at Marsha's Vineyard B &B..

Date of stay: October 2011
  • Trip type: Traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I just returned from my 5th visit to Marsha's and as always, had the BEST time. Marsha and her husband, Jeff always go out of their way to make us feel at home. The kitchen is always well stocked, and our room is clean and re-stocked when we return. The patio outside the Garden Room provides the perfect way to end a day of sight seeing around Arthur. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we come to Arthur, as we have found the best kept secret in town!!

Date of stay: June 2008
  • Trip type: Traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fitnessfreak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews