We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful accomodate, lovely owner”

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Arthur
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast
Ranked #2 of 3 Arthur B&B and Inns
Reviewed October 11, 2013

As part of our journey across route 66 we wanted to spend a day in an Amish community so diverted off route for a stop over at Marsha's Vineyard B&B.

The accommodation is separate to the main house and is very tastefully decorated to a high standard and is extremely comfortable.

Marsha is the perfect host, she is friendly, helpful and made us feel very welcome, giving us great suggestions for dining, shopping and sightseeing in Arthur.

The continental breakfast was perfect as it gave us the flexibility to eat when we were ready rather than been tied to breakfast schedule. Marsha provided a variety of Amish cakes, loaves, fruit, yogurts, cereals, fruit juice, tea and coffee.

As there we no guests following us, Marsha said there was no urgency for us to check out, which was very kind of her.

Highlight of our visit was going to the Amish auction which Marsha recommended, not to be missed!!!

If ever I'm fortunate enough to be passing though Arthur again, I would love to re-visit.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank wallibobs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (16)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

5 - 11 of 16 reviews

Reviewed June 22, 2013

The place was quiet, clean, beautiful yard and close to downtown. The guest house is a separate structure from the owners home. There is an upstairs area for one family and a second area downstairs for a second family. The kitchen area is a shared space. The neighborhood is quiet and fairly new. We were the only family staying here during our time, which was nice.

Room Tip: Beds on the first floor were very firm. Beds upstairs were softer
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 18, 2012

We can recommend Marsha's without reservation. We were lucky enough to book the morning of the night we wanted to stay - what a find! From taking the booking to the time with left Marsha's care for us was excellent. Her interest in gardening and arts made us feel we were staying with a friend. The real unexpected treat was for Jeff and his barber quartet to arrive and give us a private performance.

Located in a quiet street, we had a very restful night before continuing on our way.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank ITCHINGTON
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2012

My wife and I stayed at Marsha's Vineyard at the end of April 2012 in the lovely Amish town of Arthur, Illnois. We received a very warm welcome from Jeff and Marsha who are probably the most warm and generous couple we have ever met. They greeted us like long-lost friends and we were touched by the warmth of their welcome. They gave great recommendations about things to do and places to go. The bedroom we stayed in was large and spotlessly clean. It is very stylishly decorated - and is separate from the main house, giving space and privacy. It was a lovely cosy room, with sofa and soft seating - with an adjoining kitchen and ensuite. I cannot recommend Marsha's Vineyard highly enough. Our visit to Arthur Illinois was one of the major highlights of our trip across Route 66 and much of this is due to Marsha and Jeff. Thank you so much!

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank DavidMcGuire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We especially liked that we had the place to ourselves and that the garden room was on the 1st floor. We had plenty of room to sort out our suitcases as we had been on the road for two weeks. Many B&B's that we stayed at were upstairs, so we would leave our large cases in the trunk and take what we needed each night. Because we were leaving for the airport the next morning the place made it easier for us to pack. Besides that, the bed was comfortable and the rooms clean. Marsha was very friendly and accommodating. The continental breakfast was good and a variety to choose from. Cold and instant hot cereals, assorted fruit, yogurt, orange juice, milk, coffee, tea, and two kinds of fresh baked pastries made by the.Amish. Don't know if we will ever again visit Southern Illinois. If we do, we'll stay at Marsha's Vineyard B &B..

  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank Daisy62
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 23, 2008

I just returned from my 5th visit to Marsha's and as always, had the BEST time. Marsha and her husband, Jeff always go out of their way to make us feel at home. The kitchen is always well stocked, and our room is clean and re-stocked when we return. The patio outside the Garden Room provides the perfect way to end a day of sight seeing around Arthur. We wouldn't stay anywhere else when we come to Arthur, as we have found the best kept secret in town!!

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank fitnessfreak68
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2008

This year marks my sixth weekend stay at the vineyard since 2004. It is truly my friends and my "home away from home"! We have enjoyed every minute of our visit with Marsha and her husband Jeff. We especially love the home baked goods that Marsha provides us from the amish bakeries. This along with the opportunity to see all that Arthur and the surrounding area has to offer, makes Marsha Vineyard the perfect get away from the hustle of our "normal" lives.
We are already booked for the next year and look forward to our visits.

Ann from St. Louis

  • Stayed: June 2008, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank stitchgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Marsha's Vineyard Bed and Breakfast

Address: 212 Chaise Ln, Arthur, IL 61911-1667
Location: United States > Illinois > Arthur
Amenities:
Kitchenette Restaurant Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Arthur
Price Range: $93 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 2

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing