We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice enough experience, but considerably overpriced.” 3 of 5 bubbles
Review of DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights
Ranked #1 of 10 Hotels in Arlington Heights
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Midwest
Level Contributor
140 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 119 helpful votes
“Nice enough experience, but considerably overpriced.”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 14, 2010

We are Hilton HHonors VIPs who stayed here prior to a flight out of ORD. Slept well, but the restaurant fare (dinner and b'fast) were considerably high for what was provided, even by Hilton standards. As mentioned in other reviews, the property is slightly aged and in need of some cosmetic touch ups here and there. Front desk service was excellent; restaurant service was average to slightly below. We are very loyal to Hilton, but would not return here -- value for $ spent is not sufficient.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank stranieri_divertenti
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

550 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    226
    191
    83
    31
    19
See reviews for
116
82
35
268
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (31)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
SLC
Level Contributor
137 reviews
47 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2010

Chose this hotel based on reviews but was disappointed. It is an older hotel trying to be nice but not quite cutting it. If you don't stay in a lot of hotels you might be more impressed but the property is just okay. Has had some updates but not enough to get it over the hump. A lot of dark paint and wallpaper to hide things. My room had that musty smell that I hate.
I didn't have much interaction with that staff. Just in and out. Wouldn't stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank s20mark
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Appleton, Wisconsin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

My husband and I stayed at the Double Tree with our daughter who is 13. The service was superior when arrived at the hotel we were allowed to check in at 11:00 even though their check-in time was 12:00. We received hot cookies which were really a treat after a 3 hour drive from Wisconsin. We went to our room which was extremely clean and had very modern furniture. The hotel was quite during the night and the pool was great and not busy at all the next morning. We were very happy with the shuttle service the hotel provided . All we needed to do was tell the front desk what time we wanted a shuttle and they were able to give us a ride. We also found out the hotel offered shuttle times throughout the day to a close by huge mall which was a great find for us and an additional exploration for us in addition to being shuttled to the train station so we could go into Chicago and also shuttled to Arlington race track. The entire staff was outstanding and provided anything we needed while our stay. I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone wishing to stay in this area.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gerrits_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamilton, Canada
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2010

top to bottom, right on. House staff clearly trained/

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank homer054
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Albany, Indiana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 24, 2010

My husband and I stayed here while we were in town visiting relatives. From the moment we walked through the doors we felt welcomed as family. You can really tell that they take service to a higher level and truly care about winning your business! Check in was a breeze and warm chocolate chip cookes on arrival? WOW! These cookies are to die for! I was/am on a diet and was not going to eat mine but my husband gobbled his up in seconds flat and he is not a sweet type person..This convinced me that this has got to be some cookie! YUM! The room was nicely appointed with the most comfortable bed I have ever slept on in a hotel. The room was spotless with nothing out of place. The towels were so soft and almost the size of a bath sheet. Nice and big! The next morning we had a wonderful breakfast in the hotel dining room. The waiter asked if we wanted the buffett and we asked to see a menu first. We were so glad we did! They had a breakfast that included eggs, sausage, pancakes,and hashbrowns for $6.99. We felt this to be a good value and the food was good. If we hadn't of asked for a menu and taken the suggested buffett we would have paid $15.00 a piece! Too much for a buffett breakfast and too much temptation to overeat! The coffee service in the room is the best! Wolfgang Pucks coffee and it was wonderful! We spent 2 days at this hotel and would have spent another day had we not made a mistake in booking the rooms. We spent the next night at another local hotel (Hyatt Schamburg) and we weren't as pleased. I will definately book this hotel again!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank DebbieGee36
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2009

Was staying in the suburbs for a work conference and stayed here for a week and couldnt be happier. Beds were great bedding solid and the service was top notch. Restaurant was a little pricey but good and what you come to expect from hotels. Live here in Chicago so probably wont stay here often, but definitely need to recommend.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank PD773
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston
Level Contributor
25 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 89 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2009

On our yearly trip to the Chicagoland burbs last weekend, we stayed at the Doubletree Arlington Heights for the second time. While we often shop around for the best deal--there are less expensive hotels in AH and neighboring cities--we often find the others lacking in some respect.

After a particularly rotten room in the city on our first night in the area, the room at the Doubletree Arlington Heights was a refreshing change. The lush bedding, nice chair, good-sized TV, and desk (with free internet access) made our stay enjoyable.

We paid $89/night, which I felt was worth it.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank otterco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington Heights
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Heights
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Hei...
#2 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 383 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#6 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#3 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW - Arlington Heights
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW -...
#7 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.5 of 5 bubbles 65 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Arlington Heights
4.0 of 5 bubbles 72 reviews
3.3 mi away
Hyatt House Chicago/Schaumburg
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights

Property: DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights
Address: 75 W Algonquin Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60005-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Arlington Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington Heights
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington Heights
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago – Arlington Heights is located in the heart of northwest Chicago's greater Woodfield area, an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. Our full-service hotel is a short driving distance from the attractions and businesses in downtown Chicago. We’re located off I-90 (Northwest Tollway) between O’Hare International Airport and Schaumburg, Illinois, with easy access to businesses, shopping, dining and entertainment.Begin your visit with our warm chocolate chip cookie. Continue to your guest room or suite, where you’ll find comfortable bedding, a work desk, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet access. After a long day, burn some calories in our complimentary fitness center, or melt away stress in the indoor pool. Bring your four-legged friend with you. We’re pet friendly.Savor hearty American cuisine in a rustic and relaxed atmosphere at the Birch River Grill. Pick up a meal or snack to go at Cravings. The 24-hour marketplace offers breakfast sandwiches, yogurt, sweets and late night snacks.Plan your business, wedding or special event utilizing 8,600 sq. ft. of flexible indoor and outdoor space to accommodate events of many sizes. In addition to our 24-hour business center, A/V equipment rental, secretarial services and an experienced event planning team ensure a successful event.With hospitality as warm as the freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at welcome, the staff welcomes you to an exciting stay in Arlington Heights, Illinois.Highlights Complimentary shuttle service (subject to availability) to and from O’Hare International Airport and within five miles of the hotel Conveniently located at the intersection of I-90 and Arlington Heights Road, a short drive northwest of O'Hare Airport Complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room Selection of smoking and non-smoking rooms, suites and accessible rooms 8,600 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space to accommodate events of all sizes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Travelocity and Hotels.com so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights Hotel Arlington Heights
Doubletree Arlington Heights
Doubletree Chicago Arlington Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing