We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice for an airport hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights
Ranked #2 of 10 Hotels in Arlington Heights
Certificate of Excellence
GreenLeadersBronze level
Reviewed July 20, 2006

I stayed at this hotel when American Airlines skrewed up and caused me to be stuck in Chicago overnight. I was pleasantly surprised. The rooms are nice, newly remodeled, and clean. The bed was comfortable, too. And there was free internet. My only complaint is that the parking lot lights were just outside my window and they were BRIGHT. The blackout curtains didn't close all the way, so a lot of light got in. Also, this place is in the middle of nowhere, so you'd better have a rental car.

  • Stayed: June 2006
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
4  Thank renotrvlr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (622)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

592 - 598 of 622 reviews

Reviewed June 12, 2006

We recently spent two nights at the Doubletree while we were in the Chicago area for a family event. We liked the hotel very much and felt it was an excellent value. In particular, the hotel was spotlessly clean, with a lovely lobby, a well-stocked sundries/snack shop, and an efficient business center. The beds were unusually comfortable for a hotel chain, and we especially appreciated the high-end bedding and pillows. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Even though we were there on a weekend, the housekeeping crew was out early in the morning cleaning up after the wedding party which was there the night before. There were a few minor glitches: 1) The fitness center has equipment that needs to be updated; the bikes had seats which could not be adjusted, and the stepper was way out of calibration; 2) The hotel had told us by phone that we could have a rollaway bed in our room for our son, but when we got there they said the city of Arlington Heights would not allow it in a king bed room. We ended up switching to a room with two double beds, but we were not thrilled with that arrangement. Other than that, no complaints. The hotel is in an excellent location -- adjacent to several freeways and major streets, yet set far enough back that you don't get any street noise. We would definitely stay here again.

2  Thank tennismom710
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2006

We were here for 2 nights for a local event, didn't choose the hotel, and had low expectations, which were greatly exceeded. The hotel was newly renovated, and the public spaces (esp. pool and exercise room) were very nice. Our room was clean and comfortable. Internet access is wired, friends in another room couldn't get theirs to work, ours was fine. We didn't try the food, there are some decent restaurants nearby (though not walkable).

  • Stayed: January 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
2  Thank innominate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2006

This was a pleasant, clean business class hotel in suburban Chicago. The rooms were quiet, the shower never lost water pressure, and the business center provided free computers and printer. Maybe there have been a lot of upgrades since the negative reviews, but I'd not hesitate to stay there again.

  • Stayed: February 2006, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank zendurango
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Manitowoc, WI
26
Reviewed November 7, 2005

I stayed at the Doubletree for one night due to having a seminar to attend. I have stayed at several hotels so I was very surprised by previous comments I read. I did a double take to make sure I was looking at the right hotel's comments. It seems like they have done a lot of work remodeling! Everything was very new, clean and the staff was very nice at the front desk. I didn't try the restaurant so I have no comment on that. My room was a nice size and the bed was extremely comfortable! The bathroom was nice and the shower worked great. If I had to pick anything that was not up to par was a couple cable channels had a delay, not a big deal. The hotel is very near the interstate with a lot of nice restaurants and a large mall near by. I paid $129 a night when I called the hotel. I would not hesitate to stay here again. You even get a yummy, warm chocolate chip cookie with your room key!

  • Stayed: November 2005, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
4139
Reviewed March 2, 2005

We got a great rate on Priceline, but "paid" for it in the long run. There was NO Hot water when we woke up and were ready to take a shower. The restaurant was freezing, so our breakfast buffet eggs quickly became cold as well. When we asked about reimbursement or a free night in the future because of the lack of hot water, we were met with disbelief that we could possibly ask for such a thing. We were offered NOTHING, except a trite "Sorry".

With all the other hotels close by, I see no reason to give this one any business, until they "warm up".

  • Stayed: January 2005
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
A TripAdvisor Member
Chicago
14
Reviewed December 16, 2004

The rooms were run down, and scheduled for renovation, but the unacceptable amenity was the restaurant----over-priced, slow service, and bad food. The first night the soup never came until after the entree. One breakast was grease-drenched eggs. The promised breakfast buffet was seldom-seen. The crab cakes, at $8.95, tasted like over-saled cornmeal without any wiff of seafood.

Word must have gotten out, because there were hardly any guests.

Do yourself a favor, stay away unless there are vast improvements. There are six better hotels within a four block radius.

  • Stayed: December 2004, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank A TripAdvisor Member
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arlington Heights
0.2 mi away
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Heights
Wingate by Wyndham Arlington Hei...
#1 of 10 in Arlington Heights
468 reviews
0.2 mi away
Comfort Inn
Comfort Inn
#8 of 10 in Arlington Heights
96 reviews
0.1 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/South
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#6 of 10 in Arlington Heights
216 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW - Arlington Heights
Holiday Inn Express Chicago NW -...
#4 of 10 in Arlington Heights
80 reviews
6.9 mi away
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heights/North
Courtyard Chicago Arlington Heig...
#7 of 10 in Arlington Heights
138 reviews
3.9 mi away
Hampton Inn & Suites Chicago/Mt. Prospect
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights

Address: 75 W Algonquin Rd, Arlington Heights, IL 60005-4413
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Arlington Heights
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Arlington Heights
#2 Business Hotel in Arlington Heights
Price Range: $104 - $180 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights 3*
Number of rooms: 241
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
DoubleTree by Hilton Hotel Chicago – Arlington Heights is located in the heart of northwest Chicago's greater Woodfield area, an ideal location for business and leisure travelers. Our full-service hotel is a short driving distance from the attractions and businesses in downtown Chicago. We’re located off I-90 (Northwest Tollway) between O’Hare International Airport and Schaumburg, Illinois, with easy access to businesses, shopping, dining and entertainment.Begin your visit with our warm chocolate chip cookie. Continue to your guest room or suite, where you’ll find comfortable bedding, a work desk, an ergonomic chair and complimentary high-speed internet access. After a long day, burn some calories in our complimentary fitness center, or melt away stress in the indoor pool. Bring your four-legged friend with you. We’re pet friendly.Savor hearty American cuisine in a rustic and relaxed atmosphere at the Birch River Grill. Pick up a snack to go at Cravings. Plan your business, wedding or special event utilizing 8,600 sq. ft. of flexible indoor and outdoor space to accommodate events of many sizes. In addition to our 24-hour business center, A/V equipment rental, secretarial services and an experienced event planning team ensure a successful event.With hospitality as warm as the freshly baked chocolate chip cookie at welcome, the staff welcomes you to an exciting stay in Arlington Heights, Illinois.Highlights Complimentary shuttle service (subject to availability) to and from O’Hare International Airport and within five miles of the hotel Conveniently located at the intersection of I-90 and Arlington Heights Road, a short drive northwest of O'Hare Airport Complimentary high-speed internet access in every guest room Selection of smoking and non-smoking rooms, suites and accessible rooms 8,600 sq. ft. of flexible meeting space to accommodate events of all sizes ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels Direct, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your DoubleTree by Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Chicago - Arlington Heights Hotel Arlington Heights
Doubletree Arlington Heights
Doubletree Chicago Arlington Heights

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing