We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Out with the family” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Jameson's Char House

Jameson's Char House
Certificate of Excellence
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Special occasions, Kids, Business meetings, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Lunch, Full Bar, Parking Available, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Des Plaines, Illinois
Level Contributor
66 reviews
40 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
“Out with the family”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

We went out for dinner without making previouse plans. I had steak but everyone else had hamburgers. The portions were large everyone took home half of their hamburger. It has very family friendly dinning room and a comfortable bar with ESPN on the TVs. I would go back especially since everyone was happy with their meal.

  • Visited July 2014
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank larrycollins3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

232 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    117
    65
    21
    14
    15
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“fantastic!! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 8, 2014 via mobile

food was amazing, definitely get a lot of food for your money. waiter Michael was great! everything from our drinks, appetizer, soups, salads, steak, and chicken parm was outstanding!! this place is a must visit!!

Helpful?
Thank Danielle F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
13 reviews
11 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Consistent. Best Steak value around.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 28, 2014

Been eating great steaks here for twenty plus years.
You'd have to spend a heckuva lot more to get more.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank KevinMcAllen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
104 reviews
60 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 70 helpful votes
“A Very Different Visit”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 19, 2014

A polar opposite of our last great visit, last night's meal was pretty bad. Our server spoke with such a heavy accent and spoke so quickly that I could not understand her. The soup was chicken rice and was similar to what you would get at a greek diner - not homemade like the last time we had soup there. The meal I ordered, chicken piccata, consisted of a battered and fried chicken breast, covered in a gravy that may have had a hint of lemon in it. It tasted and looked suspiciously like chicken gravy with cinnamon in it. The salad was fresh and the blue cheese dressing was good like last time and the bread was hot. The butter was not real butter and was not fresh. I was very disappointed in this meal and server because we expected the same high quality as our last visit.

  • Visited May 2014
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Food
Helpful?
Thank rward2121
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hicksville, New York
Level Contributor
17 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“very good meal.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 13, 2014 via mobile

Visited for a weeknight dinner while in town. The restaurant had a decent crowd for the night and I shortly found out why. Service was prompt and attentive and the food was worth the price which is very reasonable. I would come back again.

Helpful?
Thank Tim C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Jameson's Char House also viewed

 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Jameson's Char House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing