We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Wildfish

Wildfish
Reserve with OpenTable
Wildfish is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Price range: $31 - $40
Cuisines: Japanese, Sushi, Asian, Seafood
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: Northwest Hwy
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
120 reviews
70 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Pricey but good”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 22, 2014

Wildfire is a good but pricey Japanese restaurant in downtown Arlington Heights. My wife and I went for an early weekday dinner. They have quite a selection of rolls but we opted for the Chilean sea bass dinner. The portion was more than adequate for dinner. The bass was melt in your mouth good and the sauce was excellent. The miso soup and salad that came were not distinctive but the entree more than made up for it. The ambiance is on the hip side. The staff was very professional and made you feel appreciated for dining there. We would certainly go back.

  • Visited May 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank KelloggTraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

61 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    29
    17
    10
    3
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
155 reviews
111 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
“Wednesday night buffet is huge disappointment”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 30, 2014

Wednesday night all you can eat buffet is a huge disappointment. Have been at Wildfish many times before and it was pretty good. This was our first experience (and last) with the buffet. For $35/person you get trays of premade sushi in front of the sushi bar which is equivalent to any $7.99 chinese buffet. There are some items on a special menu that you can order and there the white tuna and yellowtail tuna were very good. We did see people just ordering trays of the special sushi from the menu. When making reservations we had requested a booth and were told as long as we had reservations we would have a booth. On arrival were told that the booths were being held for parties of four (not two) so they then seated the two of us at a table for four. Figure that one out. All in all certainly not worth the money.

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Charleegee
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
101 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
“Super Sushi in a strip mall”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2014

It is a more elegant strip mall, but Wildfish stands head and shoulders above sushi restaurants in the City of Chicago and its environs [in this case, Arlington heights]. The tataki appetizer is delightful, and sushi selections with super white tuna excel. Their specials are our first order of attention, andf they never fail to delight and introduce to new tastes.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ronald J B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lake Zurich, Illinois
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“this place is on FIRE”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 5, 2014

went on a tuesday night, and for a tuesday night... seem pretty hopping! Only problem was we felt a little squished next to a table, but the party next to us soon left. Get a booth if you can. We tried 4 rolls and tried the dragon fire appetizer. Very good, definitely want to come back again!

  • Visited April 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank tersa890
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Long Beach, California
Level Contributor
256 reviews
221 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 54 helpful votes
“Fresh and very tasty!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2014 via mobile

I was presented with a feast for the eyes. Beautiful display of the sashimi and sushi combo. Yellow tail, salmon and tuna. The salad was fresh and the miso soup was tasty and had tofu and dumpling. Overall this was an excellent meal. Quiet and peaceful atmosphere.

Helpful?
Thank Sailing_Sweetie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Wildfish also viewed

 
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Wildfish? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing