We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I gave it a few tries”

La Tasca Restaurant
Reserve with OpenTable
La Tasca Restaurant is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $21 - $30
Cuisines: Spanish
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Late Night, Reservations
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I gave it a few tries”
Reviewed October 4, 2013

This seems to be a favorite tapas place around here but I honestly don't get it. The service is great and the restaurant is beautiful. The paella was average and stingy on the meat/seafood. It's expensive too. Maybe that sums it up: the dishes don't live up to the price tag. Enjoyed the other tapas place in town much, much more.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank MamaE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

173 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    73
    55
    26
    10
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Delray Beach
Level Contributor
220 reviews
173 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 63 helpful votes
“Great food, service not so great.”
Reviewed September 27, 2013

I like the food, very tasty and good size servings even though it is tapas. Our server was terrible. She talked very fast, acted arrogant like she was too good for us. Some of the other servers that brought our food seemed very nice. But our server ruined the evening. Too bad-the food was very good.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Karen C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Prospect, Illinois
Level Contributor
298 reviews
263 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
“Much better the second time”
Reviewed September 23, 2013

I remember coming here about 5 years ago and our meal then was marred by a raucous group of women. This time, we arrived around 5:00 PM on a Saturday night and were seated in a back room, that was empty at first but filled up as the evening progressed. The service was excellent and the food was very good - as with all tapas places, we liked some dishes better than others. We skipped the paella (about $30 for 2) since you can get 3 different tapas for that price. We were not economizing but it is fairly easy to run up a $100 bill for two (we had 2 drinks, 2 soups, 4 tapas, 2 desserts and 2 cappuccinos).

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Dedgehog
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
everywhere
Level Contributor
87 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Great Experience”
Reviewed June 22, 2013

Now this was my second time visiting this restaurant...The first time was a business dinner in Oxford, UK...this time was with friends....and the experience was really different..both times were great...but there was live music, the table was only a 4-top so it was easy to see all the dishes...there was olives and cheeses and seafoods and roasted veg.... All very generous portions and the wait staff was very nice and attentive.
The pitcher of sangria was really delicious as well.

I did notice another table getting the paella and that's definitely on my list for my third visit....

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank Shreemaan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
51 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Outstanding!”
Reviewed June 13, 2013

We stopped in here on a Monday around 5pm so it was slower than what I've seen on the weekends but there were other diners there. This was our first time trying tapas and our waiter took the time to explain the meals and the ordering. We took our time and enjoyed every selection. Our favorite was the scallop dish. I still think about it and can't wait to go back for more! We loved the portions and enjoyed trying lots of small things rather than one overwhelming dish. The atmosphere was enjoyable. The prices were reasonable. Not sure I could get used to wine in little "jelly" glasses but I suppose that's authentic. We will definitely return. It was great. I recommend it highly!

  • Visited June 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank basia523
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed La Tasca Restaurant also viewed

Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to La Tasca Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing