We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“It Doesn't Get Any Better!”

Mr. Allison's Restaurant
Cuisines: American, Diner
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Dining on a budget, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Brunch, Lunch, Seating, Takeout, Waitstaff
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
36 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“It Doesn't Get Any Better!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 20, 2014

This is one of the best restaurants in the Chicago area. The food, portions, and quality is right up there! Plus the servers are spot on. Great variety and prices that can't be beat. Everyone is friendly and they always try to please.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank THELUCKYONE033
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    27
    18
    4
    2
    0
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chicago,Illinois
Level Contributor
41 reviews
33 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Just a Diner”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 30, 2013

Large portions, but a burned omelette flipped over so I would not see the burn,
not a good way to do business. It would hve been better to tell me it would be delayed a bit and make a new one.

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Kodachromeshooter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Level Contributor
343 reviews
236 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Wow What a Breakfast”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 6, 2013 via mobile

If you love ham this is the place to go. When you order ham and eggs or a ham and cheese omelet you won't be disappointed. The best breakfast ham anywhere. The portions are huge and it is enough to make two meals. Great casual place to go to. Don't expect white table cloth meal, expect good food and plenty of it. On the weekends expect to wait. Service is always good.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank CubFan1948
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“I have, literally, driven past this place for 25 years. Am I glad I finally stopped!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

Oh boy! If there ever was a case for "don't judge a book by its cover" this is it! There is nothing special about the restaurant. In fact, not much has changed since it was first opened. And that is a good thing. If you like ham this is ham heaven! I love ham. I bake lots hams every year. But this ham is special. It's fluffy. And delicious! I didn't imagine that I would like my ham fluffy but I do! Believe it or not there is an extensive list of ham dishes. Try the omelet. It is one of the more unique omelets around. It is crepe-like....also something I didn't know I would like but I do!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank MamaE3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
81 reviews
56 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“If you like HAM, you must go here.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 10, 2013

While visiting the area, we were looking for a good place to go for breakfast. After checking Tripadvisor and Yelp, we decided on Mr. Allison's. OMG You will NOT leave here hungry.

They have a pretty typical menu, but the portions are HUGE. I had three eggs over medium (nope, I didn't see an option for the usual two eggs), home fries, and ham (probably the best breakfast ham I've ever had).

What can I say about eggs....and I am not a huge fan of home fries, but if you are a ham lover, you should check this place out. We were on our way to the airport so we had to leave our leftovers behind, but most people were leaving with to go bags.

Service was VERY friendly. Prices were decent.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank CAG5563
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mr. Allison's Restaurant also viewed

 
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Mount Prospect, IL
 

Been to Mr. Allison's Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing