We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Carlos & Carlos

Carlos & Carlos
Certificate of Excellence
Cuisines: Italian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Bar scene, Business meetings, Families with children, Special occasions, Romantic, Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Dinner, Full Bar, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Waitstaff, Wheelchair Accessible
Wheaton, Illinois
Level Contributor
29 reviews
10 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

A wonderful dinner! Greeted with warm bread, herbed butter and a tasty pesto of sorts. Delicious spinach salad and wedge salads. I had veal scallopini and it was tender and delicious. Friends had veal Carlos and loved it. Service was a bit uneven, but we would definitely go back for the wonderful food!

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Ironpen47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

78 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    46
    23
    6
    2
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
chicago
Level Contributor
29 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“outstanding food and service”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 18, 2014

We live in Evanston so this restaurant is about 45 minutes away but we were taking a ride and felt like Italian so we decided to give this place a try. The waiter was very personable and attentive and so were the bus boys.First class. The food was delish. They bring out a garlic spread and a butter spread with the bread-we ate the whole basketful and they brought more. We ordered the caprese salad which they split for us, it has avocado and not tons of cheese which I loved-the dressing was phenominal. Then I ordered the penne amatriciano (?) without meat, the sauce was gorgeous.My hubby ordered chicken vesuvio which he said was the best ever(we eat out A LOT).He asked the waiter how the meatballs were and he brought him a huge one. My new fave Italian.We will be back.

  • Visited February 2014
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank annlan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level Contributor
90 reviews
32 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
“Great fresh flavors”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 16, 2014 via mobile

This is one of our local favorites. The menu looks like your typical Italian at first sight, but it's much better than that. They make their own pasta on the premises, and every dish has fantastic fresh flavors. If you're there on a Saturday evening have the calamari special (not the one on the regular menu). It's lightly battered and fried, with peppers, tomatoes and Parmesan cheese; it's fantastic, but one serving is enough for two! The veal dishes are all really good, and their seafood dishes are out of this world.

Visited February 2014
Helpful?
Thank Angus W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
244 reviews
130 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 74 helpful votes
“Definately worth the visit”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2013

Went there for our anniversary and loved it. Although you cannot get a provate table at all, this inconvenience is replaced by a great menue, fanstastic staff at reasonable prices. The protions are big and the dishes are prepared well. We could not speak too highly of the deserts but this complaint is overshaddowed by everything else on the menue.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Jimc82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
El Paso, Illinois
Level Contributor
271 reviews
187 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 223 helpful votes
“Service, Food, and Ambiance- Fantastico!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 21, 2013

Five ladies who all have strong opinions and are use to getting their way were out for dinner together. I had the dubious task of selecting the restaurant in a town far from my own home. A picky eating family member recommended Carlos and Carlos due to their home made pasta for which I am known to have a weakness.

We arrived within moments of one another and were seated by the owner, a lovely man who made each of us feel not only welcome but quite special. Waters were poured and drink orders taken with attention given to each of us as we pondered between Pinot Griot, Chardonnays, Chiantis and Sauvignon Blanc. No one was rushed. All questions were answered and our evening was off to a delightful start as music played in the background at a level that was perfect for holding table conversations .

We did not expect to have the attention of the owner for the evening, but he was in fact back to tell us about the specials and to assist us as we made our dinner choices and assist us he did. Each one of us mentions two options that we are contemplating. Each time he makes a recommendation. The bottom line is that five relatively fussy females loved their meals. Pasta, risotto, fish, and gnocchi were all thoroughly enjoyed as was the music, the attention to detail, and the sense that everything was done to ensure we were happy with our meals and our service.

I would definitely recommend Carlos & Carlos. I would strongly suggest reservations and that you make this an evening to enjoy not a rushed meal. Good food takes time to prepare.

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Cabdg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Carlos & Carlos also viewed

Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Carlos & Carlos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing