We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best Mexican Restaurant in Northwest Suburbs”
Review of Mago Grill

Mago Grill
Reserve with OpenTable
Mago Grill is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $30 - $30
Cuisines: Mexican
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations
Dining style: Casual Dining
Cross street: Vail Ave. and Campbell St.
Transit: Just 1 1/2 blocks South of the Metra Northwest Line, Arlington Heights station.
Arlington Heights, Illinois
Level 5 Contributor
89 reviews
54 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Best Mexican Restaurant in Northwest Suburbs”
Reviewed February 22, 2013

There are lots of choices for Mexican restaurants in the area, but this is the best. I've enjoyed their food for years (they had been at a location a block away and moved). Great moles, guac served tableside, etc. Last time I was there I had a cheese steak rollup thing, and it was very good. Service is extremely friendly too, even at peak times. I highly recommend making a reservation (opentable). Easy parking too, lots of free parking around the AH streets or in the garage around the corner.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
3 Thank fuzzykiwi48
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

183 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    93
    55
    22
    11
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level 6 Contributor
214 reviews
145 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 124 helpful votes
“What is all the hype about?”
Reviewed January 27, 2013

Ok, so I am hoping that on a weeknight, this place is much more than I experienced it to be today. I went for Sunday lunch after hearing great reviews from friends. The chips and salsa they bring to the table is awesome. But that was truly the highlight of my lunch. Tilapia fish tacos were unusually fishy and the slaw they put on top does not work well with the fish. Shrimp tacos were good, taco salad was good but by the time it made it to the table, the bottom of the shell was completely soggy. Enchiladas salsa verde was the only dish that went over at our table without complaints. Our waitor was slow to take our order but quick to refill drinks, chips, and salsa. Needless to say, I won't say this place is bad and I expect they are much better on a weeknight, but for what I experienced, it was a solid average. Nothing for me to really come back for, especially with Salsa 17 right down the street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank NewbieK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Level 3 Contributor
21 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
“Guacamole ole”
Reviewed January 20, 2013

Walked in on a Saturday night at 6:30 and waited 30 minutes for a table which was great because this place was full. The chips and the salsa trio were very good. We ordered the guacamole made table side, perfectly made. I had the chile rellano marisco, very good. My wife had the flat iron steak with the mole sauce which was good. She took half of it home and said it was even better as a leftover. The service is the best part, these people are very efficient. They fly all over the place. Our server Eduardo was very cool and had great suggestions. This place is small, tight and loud, but I can't wait for them to open the one in south barrington, which is closer to my home.

  • Visited January 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Dom L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Rolling Meadows, Illinois, United States
1 review
“Great service, Excellent food!!!”
Reviewed December 19, 2012

Went with my friend tonight. Never been here before, but Jaime our server was extremely knowledgeable and gave great advice for food and drinks.. I would definitely come back to Mago for the great service and excellent food!!

  • Visited December 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Keith H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
15 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Delicious food!”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

My husband and I ate here on a Tuesday night. The restaurant was surprisingly full for 8:30pm on a weeknight. We had the assorted empanadas that were good and then we split the skirt steak with mole. We couldn't decide which mole to choose so our server brought us a sample of all five kinds and we were able to choose. They were all very good. I really enjoyed the whole meal.

  • Visited November 2012
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank AnSyBu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Mago Grill also viewed

Arlington Heights, IL
Arlington Heights, IL
 
Arlington Heights, IL
 

Been to Mago Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing