We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Disappointing” 2 of 5 bubbles
Review of Comfort Inn

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Comfort Inn
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Arcola
Chicago Suburbs
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Disappointing”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 5, 2011

We have stayed at this comfort inn before. Actually 4 times. And each year it goes down and down. This year--mix up with rooms--we get a smoking room. YUCK. Who has smoking rooms anymore?? Only three tables in the breakfast room. We stayed two nights--and no hot water at 6am either morning. Stone cold. It is the only hotel chain in town--so when there is a festival or antique show--they have you over a barrel. Next year--we stay in Tuscola a few miles away.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sellinglikecrazy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    12
    18
    17
    6
    7
See reviews for
14
23
3
8
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (11)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Quebec City, Canada
Level Contributor
279 reviews
83 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 261 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 13, 2010

We stayed there for one night about one week ago as we were chasing thunderstorms. The hotel costed 70 dollars plus tax which is rather cheap for a Comfort Inn as far as I know. The room was large, almost perfectly clean (I'm very particular about this) and our non-smoking room was really non-smoking. The window curtain was really dirty but we pointed this out to the receptionist who apologized and 15 minutes later, we had a new curtain. Some people in the other reviews say that the staff were not American and did'nt know anything about the area and I really don't agree with that. We asked directions to the Amish interpretive center and Amish-type restaurants as well as downtown businesses and we had no problems. I think the receptionists were indeed of Indian origin but it doesn't affect their competence. Those people have probably been living in Arcola a long time because they really know the area and can answer your questions. We had plenty of place for breakfast. That's true there are only three tables but it is the same thing at many hotels and motels.
However, I was not impressed by the business center which only consisted of a computer. No printer. We can find better in certain Days Inn. And the swimming pool is very small.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sarah L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tokyo
Level Contributor
61 reviews
32 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 66 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 31, 2009

I booked this hotel a couple of months ago and the day before we arrived I noticed some new reviews and almost cancelled. But it would have required a lot of work to re-route our trip. And since this was towards the end of our 2 month road trip I figured it couldn't be worse than some of the other places we had stayed.

I was surprised when we pulled up because it looks newer than I expected. It certainly didn't look run down or shabby. The lobby looks like it has been recently redecorated. I noticed that there were three tables in the breakfast area, confirming what the other reviewers said. We don't usually eat the free breakfast in motels but if we did we would have to take it back to our room. They had the usual selection. The pool out front was also super small but we did see a family playing in it. The internet worked well.

Our room was actually quite nice. It was average size but nicely decorated for a Comfort Inn, and at $59.00 plus $7.00 for our dog it was the cheapest motel we have stayed in in the last 2 months. The room was clean, the linens weren't torn or the wrong size. Maybe they have recently upgraded the rooms but we had no issues. My husband wanted to eat at an Amish restaurant which is why we made a stop here. I wouldn't hesitate to stay again if we found ourselves in the area.

  • Stayed July 2009, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Dragonmom I
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lakeland, FL
Level Contributor
273 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2009

We made reservations in February for a June stay in a non-smoking room. When I arrived, I was told there were no non-smoking rooms available. I was given a smoking room. When I went up to the room, there was a group of guys on the balcony (2 doors down), all with bottles and with a very large boom box and some guitars. "It's going to be a real long night," I thought. Then I went into the room, which reeked of smoke, of course, and had plenty of cigarette burns on the upholstery-- only to find out that every time I flushed the toilet, it threatened to overflow. (I was given $10 off the rate as "compensation" for the smoking room)

The next morning, we were allowed to move to a non-smoking room for the duration of our stay. That room was much nicer-- no problems. The wireless worked well. The breakfast area is way too small for this crowded hotel (we've stayed twice and both times it has been filled to capacity). The swimming pool is the size of a postage stamp.

  • Stayed June 2009, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank floridalibn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Atlanta
Level Contributor
25 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2009

Recently stayed at this hotel while visiting the area on business. The hotel is an older and smaller Comfort Inn and obviously is "off the radar screen" of Choice Hotels. I wrote a note of these issues and handed to young man working desk at check out. He looked at it, and just said "huh?". This "uncaring" attitude must reflect the management's attitude towards guests. If you must stay in this area, I would recommend the Hampton Inn or Holiday Inn Express about 13 miles South on I-57 at Mattoon exit.

I should have realized the stay I was about to have as I entered the lobby. The "business center' is a small cart with a P.C. on it. My room had a broken security latch which I did not notice until I was preparing to go to sleep. The towels were thread bare and were long beyond their usable life. The acrylic knob in tub had obvious mold inside the knob. The tub bottom was stained. While I'm sitting on the toilet a rather large spider comes towards me across the floor. And the sheets on the bed must be the wrong size as the top sheet was 2 feet from head of bed.

All in all, a most disappointing stay!

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank gypsyboy1951
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
washington, DC
Level Contributor
31 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 4, 2009

I really like the location of this Comfort Inn. Just down the road from Charleston/Mattoon and aways south of Tuscola and urban Champaign, this hotel offers you a chance to locate out in the country some, right I-57 and near the usual Amish attractions.

The hotel itself is also near a few restaurants, and a manual car wash is near by. If you like them, a Dollar Store and Amish furniture outlet are within walking distance.

Inside, the hotel is clean, the rooms your basic Comfort Inn fare. One unique feature that I enjoyed were the recliners in most rooms. Real ones. The beds were also very comfortable.

However, I was also a bit put off by the staff/owners. Many hotels in this rural central area are owner by foreign interests. In an area well known for its open, kind and outgoing natives, the owners of the Comfort Inn here are certainly a throw back. Especially if your staying over a few days and could use some local info. Your better off asking folks on the street. BUt, if you just need a room for the night, and don't need to talk to the mgt much, it's a fine place to stay.

  • Stayed February 2009, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sardu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwesterner
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 22, 2007

We stayed at the Comfort Inn because it had gotten good writeups in a travel guide. Those positive reviews must be pretty dated, or the place has slipped downhill fast.

First off, we got a non-smoking room sandwiched between two smoking rooms, all of which obviously shared the same vents, because it stunk of smoke. We might have overlooked that, but the staff was barely civil (no "welcome," "thank you," or any attempt at friendliness), and the free continental breakfast was sad (not enough coffee for the crowd, very limited selection, not enough seating).

If I'm back in the area, I would try some place else. Staying at a hotel shouldn't make the paying guest like an unwanted intruder!

  • Stayed October 2007
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Liberty123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Arcola
0.6 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Green Mill Village Hotel & Suites
7.6 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Tuscola
13.5 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Mattoon
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
7.8 mi away
Baymont Inn & Suites Tuscola
17.8 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Conference Center
13.6 mi away
Comfort Suites Mattoon
Comfort Suites Mattoon
#6 of 9 in Mattoon
4.5 of 5 bubbles 80 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Comfort Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Comfort Inn

Property: Comfort Inn
Address: 610 E. Springfield Rd., Arcola, IL 61910
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Illinois > Arcola
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 Hotels in Arcola
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Comfort Inn 2.5*
Number of rooms: 41
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Newest in town. Family-friendly, located just off of I-57. Amenities include an outdoor pool and internet service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity and Choice Hotels so you can book your Comfort Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Comfort Hotel Arcola
Comfort Inn Arcola
Arcola Comfort Inn

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing