We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A Sparkling Gem in Southern Illinois” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of The Davie School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
The Davie School Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Anna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Murfreesboro, TN
Level Contributor
54 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“A Sparkling Gem in Southern Illinois”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2010

I almost hate to tell anyone about this place, as I feel it's my personal getaway. This was our 5th year to visit Gary and Andrea for a girl's weekend of wine tasting, and attending the Rend Lake Art and Wine Festival. A great place for relaxing with friends, eating some awesome food, and enjoying Gary's stories. Beds are comfy, rooms are huge and clean, and the place oozes atmosphere. Oh, and Gary and Andrea will arrange for massages, manicures, and pedicures in your room-heavenly.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank RovingRobin54
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

239 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    224
    13
    2
    0
    0
See reviews for
30
108
4
9
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (48)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 29, 2010

The rooms are very clean and comfortable. Gary, the owner, always makes our stays there so relaxing and is always willing to let us show new friends who have never been all the rooms when they are not occupied. Breakfast is served whenever you like and always delicious! A truly relaxing experience!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank caki92
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
edinburg, il
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 21, 2010

This was my second visit, first time was a girl's trip. Gary was very accomadating the fist time, served a wonderful breakfast each morning. He made sure he understood our likes and dislikes for breakfast. This time, my husband, I and two other couples stayed for 2 nights. Both mornings he delivered us a wonderful breakfast in the area outside of our rooms so that we could eat to together.
The rooms were so comfortable that I felt like I was at home. Before we left, we girls were planning our next girl trip to stay at the Davie School Inn.
The local wineries were great too!

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank relaxin10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Springfield, Illinois
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 25, 2010

The staff at the Davie School Inn was amazing! Our breakfast personally delivered to our room, and it was delicious. The rooms are very interesting and neat. :)

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank curlygirl8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
central Illinois
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

Everything was excellent! We needed to check in late, and they were very accommodating. The rooms were perfect for our needs (girls night out.) The breakfast was fantastic. What a beautiful, unique place to stay! Do not hesitate to stay here!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank WofSeven
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Charleston
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2010

We stayed at the Davie School Inn for a girls' night out. Our room was perfect for the occasion - and the location is great with it being near the wine trail. We appreciated the history behind the school and the fact that the owners "saved" this school and turned it into something great. The owner was very accommodating and friendly - we even got a tour of the entire building and every room. The renovations are remarkable - a beautiful place. The breakfast was delicious - served right in our room! We will definitely go back again for a girls' weekend...and in the future, I would like to go with my spouse/family. A great overall experience.

Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
Thank Jacacl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2010

I work in a school and the stay was fascinating, especially reading the guest book to see the peoples comment that went to school there and stayed overnight. What a creative idea to save an old building. The rooms were spacious and very comfortable. The food was wonderful and served to your room at the time you wish with what you ordered. this was my first time staying in a b&b and i thoroughly enjoyed it. some of the other amenities you get at the davie inn that you don't get in other b&b's each room has it's own thermostat to control heat and air, and there is a cable tv in every room, behind the school is a public pool that you can use for $3. your host is friendly and willing to help in every way yet give you your privacy, which was a concern of mine having never stayed in a b&b. also much quieter than a hotel.

  • Stayed July 2010
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank mrsw4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna
24.7 mi away
BEST WESTERN PLUS Marion Hotel
19.4 mi away
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
BEST WESTERN Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
4.5 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
21.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
4.0 of 5 bubbles 364 reviews
24.5 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
21.0 mi away
Pear Tree Inn Cape Girardeau Near the Medical Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Davie School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Davie School Inn

Property: The Davie School Inn
Address: 300 Freeman St, Anna, IL 62906-1508
Location: United States > Illinois > Anna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anna
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Inn with large Classroom Suites Located along the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing