We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Passed with an A!”
Review of Davie School Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Anna
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Davie School Inn
Ranked #1 of 3 Anna B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 18, 2013

My husband and I recently stayed at the Davie School Inn for our one year anniversary. We were looking for something outside the box and this place was perfect. We were greeted right away by the owner Gary. He was a very pleasant and funny guy. He asked what we were planning on doing for the weekend and suggested some good places to go. He took our breakfast order for each day and we must say it was very delicious. He also gave us his personal phone number in case we needed him while we were out of the Inn. We stayed in the Blue room and it was very clean and spacious. The antique furniture and decorations were fun to look at and gave us insight into the historical elements of the school. We had such a great time and will definitely come back. Thanks for the good times Gary!

Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Katie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (262)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

156 - 162 of 262 reviews

Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

We were very fortunate the Davie School Inn had a last minute cancellation. Will stay here again
Get off of the interstate and drive into Anna to stay here. Gary and Andrea are professional and know who their customers
Gary suggested to walk, yes walk a few blocks to the Brick House Grill which was upscale dining
We stayed on the top floor in a gigantic room beautifully decorated in period shabby chic. The bathroom has a separate jacuzzi tub from the shower and water closet. This is convenient to the wineries
Congratulations to Gary and Andrea you are the valedictorians of this area. Don't miss Gary's made to order breakfast

  • Stayed: August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank binlady
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at the Davie School Inn and loved it! The owners are very friendly, welcoming and helpful. We were here on a Sunday and only stayed one night but it could not have been better. The rooms are huge, tastefully decorated with great touches such as blackboards and school house furnishings still intact along with some previous history of the room when it was a school house. Our breakfast was great because it was just what we ordered. They go out of their way to make it a wonderful experience. We will definitely stay here again if we are in the area.

Room Tip: We liked the blue room, large king bed and very comfortable.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Geranium07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 15, 2013

My husband and I stayed here this past weekend for a quick get-away. We met Gary right away and he was very friendly and made us feel welcomed. We stayed in the purple room and enjoyed having a jacuzzi tub and all the comforts of home. Gary made us breakfast each morning and it was delicious!

We did have to get used to the room having a regular door handle lock, with no inside latch or extra lock. This is probably just us being from the city, nothing happened to make us feel unsafe, just thought this was an important point to share.

Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank STLTravelGirl78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 6, 2013

my wife and i stayed at davie school inn in anna il and we stayed in the purple suite or wine suite the experience was better then we had hoped for gary the inn keeper made us feel like we were the only people there and the place was booked all my requests were not only met they beyond what i had hoped.I will be coming back again and again cannot wait.

Room Tip: you cannot go wrong with any choice
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank blackifezi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BetterWay2Stay, Owner at Davie School Inn, responded to this reviewResponded July 8, 2013

Thank you so much for staying with us! We are so happy you had a great time!
Come see us again,
Gary and Andrea

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 27, 2013

Awesome place in southern Illinois! The decor in every room is just exquisite and wonderfully done! Rooms are large and so much better and restful than what you get at a hotel. Breakfast is hearty and superb! The couple who owns the place are great hosts. You are conviently located to many attractions in southern Illinois. Frankly, we are just looking for an excuse to go back!

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Samaisto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 18, 2013

Come for the spacious, comfortable, clean, welcoming rooms. Stay for the best breakfasts, the wineries, Shawnee National Forest, several state parks, Giant City Lodge, hiking, biking, geocaching, antique shopping, and fine dining! Gary and Andrea are the perfect hosts. You'll love it!

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank lawillis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Anna
19.5 mi away
Best Western Saluki Inn
Best Western Saluki Inn
#1 of 9 in Carbondale
434 reviews
20.4 mi away
Holiday Inn Carbondale Conference Center
20.2 mi away
Hampton Inn Carbondale
Hampton Inn Carbondale
#2 of 9 in Carbondale
416 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
24.7 mi away
Best Western Plus Marion Hotel
19.5 mi away
Quality Inn
Quality Inn
#5 of 9 in Carbondale
18 reviews
24.6 mi away
Quality Inn & Suites Marion
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Davie School Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Davie School Inn

Address: 300 Freeman St, Anna, IL 62906-1508
Location: United States > Illinois > Anna
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 3 B&Bs / Inns in Anna
Price Range: $100 - $300 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unique Inn with large Luxury Suites Located along the Shawnee Hills Wine Trail. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing