We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for kids, tent prices too high, too many high speed golf carts”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amboy
Chicago, Illinois
Level 4 Contributor
29 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Great for kids, tent prices too high, too many high speed golf carts”
Reviewed September 1, 2009

We actually loved the place, except for the raging golf carts. They were driven too fast by campers and workers both. Our vehicles were covered in dust. The pools were very clean, with no chlorine smell. They have a small spa. Nice arcade. I never saw one cigarette butt on the ground, and the bathrooms were kept clean. We were there on a cooler weekend, it might be different when it's more crowded. It was too cold to use the beach, the pool was heated. The price is outrageous for a tent site, but I guess that's what they have to charge to provide all the activities.

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lindab911
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

273 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    78
    65
    56
    39
    35
See reviews for
223
9
3
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
mid-illinois
1 review
Reviewed May 24, 2009

We have camped here for a couple of summers, and noticed that the camp staff act as police officers. They are constantly looking for something to "arrest" comfiscate your stay,. They act as though you are "breaking rules" not being responsible so that they can take your golf cart, or even evict you from their park. If you are paying 100.00 plus to stay for a weekend, this is not good ethics. Although, This year (2009) is supposed to be different because they have hired in new management (putting old management in submission to new rules) and security I have heard that it is again a friendly place to camp . We expect to have a good summer experience now. THANK GOD !!!

  • Stayed August 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kaawwjd
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crystal Lake, IL
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed May 4, 2009

Slow, not so friendly customer service. We had to leave several credit card deposits (one for campsite, one for cabin, one for golf cart). The golf cart contract is like buying a house. After our golf cart was confiscated (child was caught steering while sitting up front with dad) they collected a $200 deposit on the cart (in addition to the nonrefuldable cart fee). No damage was on the cart and driving was not wreckless. The Yogi employee was just sitting along the path waiting for rule breakers (like a traffic cop)...we just knew this was their way of making more money.

When we first checked in, they acted as if they were doing us a favor by taking care of us. The management is very inflexible (this is a campgrounds for goodness sake) and I never want to go there again. Our YMCA program uses this site for it's Indian Guides and Princess program, so we are stuck with it.

They don't seem to appreciate the business the customer is bringing, so beware.

  • Stayed June 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank CrystalLakeFam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galva, IL
1 review
Reviewed July 16, 2008

The staff was very slow at check in...we waited a half hour. We got there at check in time...and then when we got to our site, the previous folks were still loading their stuff and it looked like it would take a substantial amount of time. I called the office and asked if we could have the spot next to it (vacant) and they said I would have to return to the office. I walked a considerable distance to do this...I switched spots after waiting again and told them about the long walk and they offered no transportation. This was a great place in the 70's...it does not have the same customer service (part of the family) appeal.

  • Liked — The activities for the kids.
  • Disliked — The poor customer service.
  • Stayed July 2007, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vickeroonie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Amboy
21.8 mi away
Paddle Wheel Inn
Paddle Wheel Inn
#1 of 1 in Oregon
112 reviews
12.8 mi away
Comfort Inn Dixon
Comfort Inn Dixon
#1 of 3 in Dixon
139 reviews
22.1 mi away
Country Inn & Suites By Carlson, Rock Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
19.0 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Rochelle
22.0 mi away
Days Inn - Rock Falls
Days Inn - Rock Falls
#4 of 6 in Rock Falls
278 reviews
22.3 mi away
Holiday Inn Express & Suites Rock Falls
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park

Property: O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park
Address: 970 Green Wing Rd, Amboy, IL 61310-9446
Location: United States > Illinois > Amboy
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Amboy
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park 2*
Number of rooms: 636
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your O'Connell's Yogi Bear Park reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
o`Connell`s Jellystone Park Hotel Amboy

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing