We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn
Nearby Hotels
$100
$89
ComfortInn
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Best Western Plus Parkway Hotel(Alton)(Great Value!)
$99
BestWestern.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$116
Hampton.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$64
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$114
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$59
$49
EconoLodge
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Budget Inn(Florissant)
$50
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Pontoon Beach(Pontoon Beach)
$70
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Motel 6 Florissant(Florissant)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Reviews (450)
Filter reviews
451 results
Traveler rating
418
27
0
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
418
27
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate barmy husband and igourmet breakfastwedding anniversarywhirlpool tubget awayattention to detailstep back in timelavender bath saltsa wonderful stayb bsbutler's pantrygreat hostshost and hostessharris roomcomplimentary brandyromantic getaway
Filter
Updating list...
5 - 10 of 451 reviews
Reviewed 1 week ago via mobile

A beautiful elegant home in a small historic town. We plan on returning as soon as possible. So much civil war history. Alton ghost tours are a must along with the old civil war prison. St. Louis is just 30 mins away!

Stayed: June 2018, traveled with family
Thank Edward B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 1 week ago

Thank you so much for your 5 star review.

If you are a history lover you will love Alton. Although only a town of 27,000 Alton boasts 3 separate historic districts listed on the National Register of Historic Places. The BEALL MANSION is in the Middletown Historic District. With its proximity to St. Louis big city fun and activities are also close by.

It was such a pleasure having you. Looking forward to your next stay.


Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 2 weeks ago

My wife and I booked a 3-night stay at this truly elegant and delightful historic mansion that has been beautifully restored and furnished to its original condition. Our expectations were exceeded! We found the property and surrounding grounds and gardens to be in very well maintained condition and would not hesitate to recommend this to even the most particular traveler with a keen eye for both history and comfort artfully combined into a singular accommodation. The buffet of assorted chocolates is not to be missed. Thank you Jim and Sandy for such a memorable experience. We hope to return again sometime soon!

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Service
Thank ColoradoTraveler1959
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 2 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for staying 3 nights. With so much to see and do All Around Alton and the entire River Bend Area - and so much to enjoy at The BEALL MANSION - shorter stays just aren't enough.


Looking forward to your return . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago via mobile

Booking this hotel was very pleasant. I called and Jim, the owner, answered the phone. He was able to answer all of my questions and was very helpful in choosing the right package for my needs. When we arrived, Jim answered the door and gave us a small tour of the main floor complete with a 24 hour chocolate bar and a coffee/tea bar. This beautiful home has been lovingly cared for and filled with wonderful antiques. Every time we saw Jim, Sandy, or their staff, we were always asked if we needed anything or what could they do for us. One morning we had a delicious gourmet breakfast, and the other mornings we had a continental breakfast to eat at our leisure. Every night without fail, we had chocolates on our bed waiting for us. The hospitality and attention to every detail made us fall in love with this bed and breakfast, and I would highly recommend it to anyone who wants a quiet, relaxing getaway and appreciates great old houses.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank Reneeb1214
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for giving us the opportunity to serve you. We truly appreciate our wonderful guests like you that make it all possible.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Our stay was characterized by hospitality and elegance. Love the chocolate bar. This is the first time in weeks I’ve slept the entire night without tossing and turning. Great mattress. In room whirlpool sensational.

Stayed: May 2018, traveled as a couple
Thank L H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you very much for your 5 star review. We are so glad you enjoyed everything. Please come back soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed 3 weeks ago

Jim and Sandy had one room left when we needed it in a pinch to travel to the area and see after my grandmother. It was just the same as if we had planned it for months. Beautiful, peaceful and relaxing during our stressful time. Thank you Jim and Sandy for all the love you show.

  • Stayed: May 2018, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Thank Donna G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded 3 weeks ago

Thank you for your 5 star review.

We are so glad we were able to accommodate. Sandy, staff, and I hope things go well for your grandmother.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews