We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (466)
Filter reviews
466 results
Traveler rating
433
27
0
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
433
27
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviews chocolate bar breakfast in bed my husband and i gourmet breakfast whirlpool tub get away wedding anniversary step back in time a wonderful stay lavender bath salts b bs great hosts antique furnishings butler's pantry self serve main floor stayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
38 - 43 of 466 reviews
Reviewed December 10, 2017

We enjoyed 4 lovely nights in the J B Zob Jr Suite over Thanksgiving. The king sized bed provided the best nights of sleep we've had in a while. We loved our afternoon naps in the soft, crisp sheets and pillow top mattress.Our hosts, Jim and Sandy, are personable and approachable. It is very obvious that they are dedicated to providing each guest the best experience possible. From the tiniest authentic detail around the mansion to the variety of delicious chocolates and beverages, the experience is a wonderful trip back in time without sacrificing modern luxuries like WiFi, television with hundreds of channels (if you are so inclined), and a whirlpool tub! Sandy's homemade bath salts smell wonderful and do not dry out the skin. We chose the popular "pampered" visit and are glad we did. Special chocolate turn-down service, replenished ice and filtered water, and comfy robes for lounging are just a few of the luxuries. It's worth mentioning that the self serve "continental" breakfast in the butler's pantry is More than substantial! It's also a great area to mingle with other guests and make new friends (as we were lucky to do with a couple from Chicago). As St Louisans, it is so great to know that the Beall Mansion is close by when we just need to get away from the city. The quiet peacefulness in gorgeous surroundings really does help melt away the stresses that accumulate. Add to that the historically relevant and perfectly charming atmosphere of Alton, IL and the surrounding areas and you have found a hidden gem of a getaway! We loved our stay so much, we are planning to spread out visits so we can say we've stayed in every guest room! If you are looking for romance, reconnecting with your significant other, having an event, or just need to take a break.... Beall Mansion is the place to go! Make sure to look at the scrapbooks that record the amazing transformation of the mansion! Jim and Sandy didn't skip a thing!

  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank DaTeach28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 11, 2017

Thank you so very, very much for your beautiful review.

Looking forward to seeing you again.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2017

The Beall Mansion was the perfect choice for a romantic getaway weekend. The Mary Harris room was elegant and charming, the bed wildly comfortable, and the spa tub very relaxing. Service was warm and welcoming with quiet attention to every detail.
We make a point to stay in B & B's whenever possible, and this establishment is truly one of the best we've experienced to date. We highly recommend the Beall and Alton as a destination.

Room Tip: All rooms have ample bathrooms, 4 with spa tubs; 2 have fireplaces.
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank musicm8s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you so very much for your 5 star review and, on behalf of innkeepers everywhere, thank you very much for making it a point to stay in bed and breakfasts whenever possible.

It is guests like you that make the b&b industry possible and innkeeping a satisfying career.

Please come back and visit again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2017 via mobile

We absolutely adore the Beall Mansion. It's a one of a kind destination. They are attentive, kind, personable and adorable. Jim and Sandy make you feel completely at home and yet like a king and queen. I highly recommend the breakfast in bed. It's like taking a step back in time. Until we meet again..

Stayed: December 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank cindym0ren0
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded December 6, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review. In a cookie cutter world it's nice when the lodging accommodations are a destination rather than just a place to sleep.

We are glad that you took advantage of the gourmet breakfast in bed option. It is a decadent delight that everyone should experience.

Looking forward to your next stay . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2017

If you want something different for a wedding, this is your place. We had our daughter's wedding here and we had several guest comment that they had never been to a wedding like this before. We had 60 guests which felt just right in the indoor space. The package includes the wedding cake, which was provided by Duke's bakery, and was delicious. Jim arranged for a string quartet to provide music, and they did a fantastic job. We had them for part of the evening then the rest of the time were able to use my daughter's ipad plugged into their sound system. All the dishes and glassware and flatware are real, which just made it so nice. Jim and Sandy and their staff are very attentive to every detail. We stayed in the rooms upstairs and it was so helpful to be there for everything. We had the ceremony and reception all in one spot. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and full of antiques. It just depends on how big of a bed you want!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you so much for the 5 star review. It was such a pleasure to work with you over the past 12 months.

Your daughter was an especially beautiful bride. We consider it an honor to have been a part of the couple's wedding day.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

As our first stay in a bed and breakfast, we had a really great experience. We stayed in the Verandah room and found it to be very clean and comfortable. This is coming from a germaphobe! The owners were friendly and obviously gave a lot of thought into make guests feel at home. They provided an assortment of teas and a single cup coffee maker along with a nice assortment of chocolates in the dining room to help yourself to. Talking to Jim was like talking to an old friend. The mansion was steeped in history and beautifully restored. Relaxing and reading in the library was neat. Like stepping back in time. My husband and I would both strongly recommend staying there.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank tylandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review. We hope that your 1st bed and breakfast experience will always be remembered as your best.

Thank you too for your compliment about the cleanliness of the property. It's always nice when the fruitage of one's labor is noticed and appreciated.

Looking forward to your next stay . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews