We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Nearby Hotels
Reviews (462)
Filter reviews
462 results
Traveler rating
429
27
0
5
1
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
429
27
0
5
1
Show reviews that mention
All reviewschocolate barbreakfast in bedmy husband and igourmet breakfastwhirlpool tubget awaywedding anniversarystep back in timea wonderful staylavender bath saltsb bsgreat hostsantique furnishingsbutler's pantryself servemain floorstayed one night
Filter
Updating list...
37 - 42 of 462 reviews
Reviewed November 15, 2017

If you want something different for a wedding, this is your place. We had our daughter's wedding here and we had several guest comment that they had never been to a wedding like this before. We had 60 guests which felt just right in the indoor space. The package includes the wedding cake, which was provided by Duke's bakery, and was delicious. Jim arranged for a string quartet to provide music, and they did a fantastic job. We had them for part of the evening then the rest of the time were able to use my daughter's ipad plugged into their sound system. All the dishes and glassware and flatware are real, which just made it so nice. Jim and Sandy and their staff are very attentive to every detail. We stayed in the rooms upstairs and it was so helpful to be there for everything. We had the ceremony and reception all in one spot. I can't wait to go back.

Room Tip: All the rooms are beautiful and full of antiques. It just depends on how big of a bed you want!
  • Stayed: November 2017, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Beth W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 16, 2017

Thank you so much for the 5 star review. It was such a pleasure to work with you over the past 12 months.

Your daughter was an especially beautiful bride. We consider it an honor to have been a part of the couple's wedding day.

Please come back and see us again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2017

As our first stay in a bed and breakfast, we had a really great experience. We stayed in the Verandah room and found it to be very clean and comfortable. This is coming from a germaphobe! The owners were friendly and obviously gave a lot of thought into make guests feel at home. They provided an assortment of teas and a single cup coffee maker along with a nice assortment of chocolates in the dining room to help yourself to. Talking to Jim was like talking to an old friend. The mansion was steeped in history and beautifully restored. Relaxing and reading in the library was neat. Like stepping back in time. My husband and I would both strongly recommend staying there.

Stayed: November 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank tylandmal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded November 13, 2017

Thank you for your 5 star review. We hope that your 1st bed and breakfast experience will always be remembered as your best.

Thank you too for your compliment about the cleanliness of the property. It's always nice when the fruitage of one's labor is noticed and appreciated.

Looking forward to your next stay . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 21, 2017 via mobile

My Husband and I stayed here a couple nights in October. This place was more than I had expected. The area was great. Alton is a neat little town. Couldn’t say enough nice things about the owners of Beall Mansion. Very clean, and very nice place to stay. Highly recommend! A must see.

Stayed: October 2017, traveled as a couple
Thank Carol H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 23, 2017

On behalf of The Meeting of the Great Rivers All Around Alton area and the entire staff of The BEALL MANSION we thank you for staying and for your 5 star rating. Looking forward to seeing you again . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 27, 2017

What an amazing experience! I cannot say enough great things about the Beall Mansion. My new wife and I, after looking up many places to spend our honeymoon, discovered the Beall Mansion and decided to give it a go. You only get one honeymoon, and one shot at making it incredible, but this was exactly how we felt after our stay. The owners were lovely, the food was awesome, but the atmosphere and room were nothing short of elegant. If you appreciate art preservation, history, and attention to detail, this is the place for you. There is certainly a lot to appreciate here, and we cant thank them enough for making our honeymoon an amazing experience. Besides, a whirlpool in your own room with handmade lavender bath salts and a 24/7 chocolate buffet, how can you not love that! Highly recommended. We loved it so much we had to stay an extra day!

Room Tip: The Veranda Suite is the only room with your own personal balcony.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Douglas B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded October 4, 2017

Your said it all when you stated: You only get one honeymoon, and one shot at making it incredible.

Thank you for your 5 star review and thank you for allowing us to be a part of such a special time in your lives. Looking forward to your next stay . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2017

First of all I would like to acknowledge the most attentive hospitality of Mansion owners, Jim and Sandy. They (and their marvelous gourmet chef Melissa) went out of their way to make our stay enjoyable and memorable, highlighted by the most creative, delicious and bountiful breakfast. The Beall Mansion staff provided a warm welcome complete with complimentary champagne; and we could not get over all the plates full of an amazing variety of fine chocolates available in the downstairs dining room 24/7.

My wife and I really appreciated the Mansion’s elegance, history, and overall ambiance. All of the original furniture, art work, and beautiful woodwork in this home are in exquisite condition. Almost every piece is original and has a story that goes along with the item. Entering the Beall Mansion was like walking through a portal into the early 1900’s. On our private tour, Jim our host, provided all the details of the Mansion, Mr. Beall and his family. We stayed in the former Master Bedroom, once belonging to Edmond Beall himself, who was a significant part of Alton’s commercial and political history. This spacious room of his was very comfortable and filled with incredible antiques, as well as being equipped with all the latest modern conveniences-- “big screen” cable TV, luxurious feather-top king-size bed, whirlpool bath w/shower for two, and fine soaps.

If you are looking for a one of a kind unique and pampered experience, I would highly recommend the Beall Mansion!

Room Tip: We choose the Master's bedroom, Edmond Beall, amazing.
  • Stayed: September 2017, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelon47
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BeallMansion, Owner at Beall Mansion An Elegant Bed & Breakfast Inn, responded to this reviewResponded September 24, 2017

Thank you for the 5 star review. When guests enjoy it makes the long hours and hard work of operating the property all worth while.

Looking forward to your next stay with us . . .

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews